We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST OF W. SPRINGFIELD!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in West Springfield
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST OF W. SPRINGFIELD!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Let's start with the staff, the heart of a hotel....they were all GREAT! Friendly, professional, and they understand Customer Service! Kudos to them.

Quiet and well appointed suite. If you travel with someone who snores you certainly appreciate your own room! This hotel is a smaller, quieter spot, but unbeatable proximity to The Eastern States Expo Center.

We have already booked for next year... Thank you one and all at The Canlewood Suites!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    29
    12
    10
    11
See reviews for
35
18
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland Center, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed here on Saturday (11/5) after driving 2 ½ hours in an unexpected fall snow storm. The staff was warm & welcoming upon my arrival and shared that should the power go out, they had a generator. The power did indeed go out and the generator wasn’t functioning by the time I awoke at 5am. I checked out (verbally) and after 45 minutes of digging my car out of the heavy wet snow, I was on my way with no driving difficulties. The room was equipped with a mini kitchen and would have been a nice addition for a longer stay. The staff upon checking in and in checking out was sincerely friendly and helpful, despite the weather conditions – which certainly was out of their control. This wasn’t my favorite experience, but the staff made all the difference in their positive outlook.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I went to this candlewood suite early october 2011 with my husband and two children and had a wonderful timethe always smiling staff were friendly and very cooperative and i must commend them for dealing with my children because they are a handful they had so much fun in the pool while my husband was able to continue his daily workout in the Gym provided there, the front desk personel was very warm and inviting and very helpful she had information forthcoming the instant we ran to her as we were in Mass for the first time, the hotel was clean and had a fresh welcoming smell the rooms were well kept very neat place i would recommend anyone to visit the this hotel GREAT RELAXING GETAWAY!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel due to a family emergency in October 2011. The front desk staff was excellent. They were very helpful in getting us into a room during a very stressful family emergency situation. The quality of the rooms is excellent. Very modern with great connectivity, appliances, layout and very clean. The beds are comfortable, clean with great pillows for a good night sleep. This is an all suites property so the rooms have great kitchenettes if you want to stay in your room to eat. The hotel staff was all very helpful. This is an excellent location and if you forget something there is a convenient store inside the lobby to help with most essential needs. The front desk team was very helpful, friendly and welcoming. I would definately stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I made a reservation a month in advance for a smoking room for 2 nights. 3 days before my coming, I recieved a confirmation e-mail. It was a business trip and I was very pressed on time as I had a very important phone appointment. I arrived about 15 minutes before that and a desk attendant informed me that they have no available smoking rooms He could not tell me why I was not notified and he could only offer me what was available at that time. When I asked for a manager, he refused to call her, saying that she is not going to tell me anything different. But as I insisted, he did call her and because she was in the room right next to the front desk, she already has heard our conversation. She could not either give me any answers to my questions, but she suggested, I could walk outside.to smoke. Considering, I'm 65, disabled and use a walker, I found that suggestion outrageous. She did give me the room on the 1st floor (non-smoking floor) with an understanding that I can smoke.
Needless to say, I was late for my phone appointment, was very upset and uncomfortable through the whole stay (lucky enough I arrived at 4:11 pm on 8/31/2011 and left at 4:45 am on 9/2/11 for my flight) because I really do respect the people's choice of choosing a non-smoking section. I wish I had the time to change the hotel. On 9/1/11, I actually, left the room around 8:30am and came back at 9pm. I would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone else. Do not know the name, but the night desk attendant at my leaving was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Room 124 had a pungent smell that was hard to get by. Moved to room 141. smelled like cherries until the deodorizer wore off. Then it just smelled. The carpet felt grimy on my feet. The worst part was the pool. My boys jumped in and within minutes they came out crying because their eyes were burning. We had to flush them for 15 minutes. The front desk staff was the only bright spot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I had stayed there before and now going there with my wife and teenage stepson to visit my parents, this hotel was the logical choice. It is very conveniently located with plentiful off street parking. The suite was as described and very clean with plentiful towels and supplies.
The staff at the front desk was super friendly and nice. The only problem with the entire stay was that there was a problem with the pool which didn't get fixed until the end of our visit. They did give me a bit of a discount for the lack of the pool. Considering that we were using this as a base of operations instead of the destination, that was a minor inconvenience. The next time I come to the area, I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Call and describe your requirements to ensure you choose the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites

Address: 572 Riverdale St, West Springfield, MA 01089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > West Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in West Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Hotel-West Springfield is conveniently located in Western Massachusetts at the crossroads I-91 and I-90 (Mass Pike). We are an all suite, extended stay hotel. Whether you are relocating or undergoing a construction project, and are looking for temporary lodging, we are the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate housing apartment. We offer a completely equipped full kitchen with microwave, stove top, dishwasher, disposal and a full size refrigerator with ice maker. Room amenities include coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hairdryer, clock radio, CD/DVD player and a 32 inch flat screen TV with 5 movie channels including HBO and Showtime, over-sized executive desk with free high-speed wire and wireless Internet access and two separate phone lines with voicemail. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD hotel library. Work off some stress in our complimentary nautilus center, then take a dip in our indoor pool or Jacuzzi. Enjoy the outdoors in our Gazebo with gas grill. To curb those late night cravings, visit the Candlewood Cupboard where you can purchase food and sundry items at value prices. Take advantage of our on site complimentary laundry facility. We are a pet friendly hotel. Whether your trip is for business or pleasure, our hotel can offer you the best value in the West Springfield/Springfield area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Hotel West Springfield
Candlewood Suites West Springfield
Candlewood West Springfield
West Springfield Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.