We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Harwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tern Inn to your Saves list
The Tern Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   91 Chase St., West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Value in Harwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have stayed at the Tern Inn for the last couple years and had great experiences every time. The rooms are nice, always clean and the staff could not be friendlier. The breakfast in the mornings has a good selection and saves us from having to go find something, as well as saving us some money. We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We enjoyed a really relaxing week's holiday at the Tern Inn. We rented the Dollhouse cottage, which was a charming traditional wooden building with comfy sitting room/ kitchen, bedroom with a double and single bed, bathroom, and patio with dining space and barbeque. The space wasn't huge, but it was very cosy, and refreshingly decorated in blues and whites with a seaside theme, patchwork quilts, etc. Parking conveniently by the cottage. Just a stone's throw away, a perfect little pool for our 8-year-old daughter - we all swam and played in it every day. And a play area well equiped with games, and there is lots of other stuff available, eg local guide books, beach chairs to borrow. David and Joan were helpful and friendly hosts, always willing to stop and chat, and answer our questions. The Inn is a short walk to the local beach, although we preferred the pool on our doorstep. Some shops within walking distance, and food, laundry and restaurants a short drive. We were even entertained by raccoons walking around while we eat our breakfast. Warm weather/ only one thunder storm. A perfect week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

The Tern Inn -- I'm afraid to review it so well that I'll never get a room there again -- or they will raise their prices. However, I have to be honest. Clean, clean, clean. The grounds are beautiful, with fresh cut grass, beautiful flowerings, and chairs set out to enjoy. A nice little play area with slide/swing, badmitten, volleyball, basketball, and an outdoor pooll which was sparkly clean, just like the grounds and the rooms. Simple decor, but very comfortable. A nice display at breakfast. Two blocks from a nice beach -- but nearby to shops and many other beaches. My daughter and I went "clamming", shopping, dining (Captain Parker's Pub in Yarmouth - worth the trip). Ice cream down the street. Separate entrances, so it's like your own "motel room" on the ground floor. Privacy and peace and quiet. Adirondack chairs, private cottages, guest rooms, and friendly but "behind the scenes" hosts. I'd like to go back this year with my extended family for a "reunion." Thank you for your hard work at making your "Inn" so wonderful. The bunnies in the garden were an added "extra." You may have not wanted them, but we enjoyed watching them.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The location was great - peaceful and quiet. The hosts are very nice and it's their primary goal to satisfy all your needs you may have. We stayed in one of the cottages (they are decorated with attention to details - our was "maritime-blue"). We loved our stay very much and would recommend the accomodation to everyone we know.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

The Tern Inn is on a lovely, quiet street not far from a small public beach. There were beautiful trees surrounding the property, and our cottage (the Honeymoon) was spacious and comfortable. It was an excellent value, and the management was superb--attentive without being obtrusive. I would certainly return here.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

The Tern Inn is a centrally located Bed and Breakfast on the Cape in West Harwich Mass.
We found it very easy and convenient to get anywhere on the cape from this location. We were 3 blocks from a public beach and we were treated like family. The owners are there and they take excellent care of the visitors that are staying. Very Clean and nice and quiet.
I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast and will return myself in the future.
Thank You.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

My wife and I decided our best way to experience Cape Cod would be to headquarter in a central location and make day trips to every part of the Cape and the islands. That led us to The Tern Inn, thanks to Tripadvisor.com reviews. It seemed as if it would be ideal, and it truly was.

The inn is located in a nice, quiet residential area and is not far from the beach. The grounds are lovely, and for your home away from home, you may choose one of the adorable cottages if you would like more space, or one of the large, comfortable rooms in the inn. Either would be a good choice.

We felt sincerely welcome and "at home" from the very first moment we walked into The Tern Inn until the morning we left. Joan and Dave are outstanding hosts in every way, and Joan even helped us plan our daily itinerary so well we didn't feel we wasted any time whatsoever as we experienced Cape Cod.

Breakfast is presented beautifully every morning and the food is consistently delicious. The dining area is large and is very attractive, comfortable, and tastefully furnished.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Tern Inn and if we ever have the pleasure of returning to Cape Cod, we will be sure to enjoy another stay with Joan and Dave.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Address: 91 Chase St., West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tern Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect spot for your visit to Cape Cod - we are the Cape you remember. Central location, great rooms, great breakfast, and 3 blocks to the beach, all at a great rate you will love. Our daily guest rooms offer clean, comfortable accommodations in a quaint traditional setting. Our rooms are not large, but accommodate a king or queen bed, private bath, color TV, room refrigerator, and enough space for you and yours to be comfortable for your visit to Cape Cod. Room rates include our daily breakfast buffet, which is traditional cold breakfast faire including cereal choices, breads, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, oatmeal, coffee cake and a different hot item each day. Coffee,tea and juice will round out your breakfast and start your day off right! Pool, playground, basketball court, and picnic area offer lots of fun on our 2 private acres. Our family cottages offer a great value for your week long stay in season. Fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements, our 6 units can accommodate your family for a special vacation. Visit the Tern Inn and visit the Cape you might remember. Good service, great location and a special setting that will make great memories for you and yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Tern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.