We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & clean at a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tern Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Harwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tern Inn
Save Saved
You added The Tern Inn to your Saves list
91 Chase St., West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Perfect time on Cape Cod
Ranked #3 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable & clean at a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Great location... quiet street away from the buzz, but right in the midst of Harwich off route 28. It's a family oriented place and as the weekend rolled around, so did the mini vans and kids. They have a nice, clean pool where you can sit and relax and they're grounds are lovely and very well manicured. If you stay in one of the Cottages, you have your own grill, which is nice. We stayed in the B&B part and the rooms were sparse but very clean and comfortable. Our towels were changed every day and we got more soap & shampoo. Our beds were made too. Our rate came with breakfast and there was always one hot dish available along with assorted cereal and breads and fruit. The owners are quiet but very accommodating. One minor nit which I'm not sure they have control over: the neighbor owns a massive wood chipper and every afternoon around 4pm he fired it up and chipped what sounded like an entire forest. He also owns a very large chain saw too!

I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ternjoan, Owner at The Tern Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your visit, and we do hope you return. We just want to clarify, the chain saw and wood chipper are TEMPORARY. Severe storm damage has caused a lot of tree work in the neighboring yard. The work will be done by 6/27. We have asked that they not work after 5 and they do try to comply. It has been very noisy for 5 days, however it will end. The owner with the tree work is actually a concert violinist, and he is upset by the noise as well!! It will be over soon!!
Thanks again for your kind words. Joan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    9
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
18
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fabulous Inn, perfect location, great food and excellent hosts Joan and David. What more can I say.The Tern Inn ticks all the boxes. All you could ask for in a beautiful area of Cape Cod. Will definitely be back. Have recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

What makes the Tern Inn so special is its charm, location and thoughtful hosts. A gentle 10 min walk from a pleasant family beach, the tern inn enjoys quiet surroundings and a park and pool for kids. We loved the hosts Joan and David who were wonderfully helpful yet discreet, giving insider tips yet not overbearing: we had plenty of room for family time and privacy. West harwich is a gem of a place, there was even a music evening celebrating summer at the end of our stay. A perfect end to a lovely vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We were in Harwich Port for a wedding last June and chose The Tern Inn based on my fellow Tripadvisor reviewers. We had two great rooms connected. I was not disappointed at all.

We have told Joanne that we were going to were arriving mid afternoon and when she did not see us arrive, she called us to see if we were allright. It happened that we were returning from a convention in Minneapolis thru Chicago and all flights were cancelled from Chicago to Boston since the day before and no way to get to Boston from any other airport that day.

We informed Joanne that were going to arrive past midnight. She gave us the instructions to find the key for our room. To our surprise, when we arrived at 1:00AM her husband came out to help us park (it was very full) and give us the key. He told us not to worry about registration or payment, that we could take of it in the morning after resting and breakfast. What a nice welcome!

We stayed two nights, very nice area, very safe. The breakfast was very good, directions everywhere, anything you needed it you got it. Rooms were pleasant, good AC and comfortable beds.

All in all, we highly recommend The Tern Inn and their owners. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL GAL in NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Due to late booking they did not have a room for the 3 contiguous nights that we needed. We stayed in room 4 the first night and then moved to room 8. I wasn't looking forward to having to move, but they made it easy. Dave and Joan were wonderful hosts in so many ways---we truly felt like guests.

Room Tip: Room 8 was roomier than 4, Bottom floors are likely to hear guests above them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We just spent two nights in Room 8 at The Tern Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had two queen beds in a fairly large room with lots of windows and could not have been more comfortable. Not gorgeous but nice. Rather spartan bathroom soap and shampoo but we managed. The grounds of the inn are pretty - adirondack chairs for the guests and a swimming pool. We did not eat the provided breakfast but spent a little time having coffee later in the morning in the dining room and enjoyed speaking with the owners who were most accommodating. In truth the reason we chose this property was because there wasn't a three night minimum but it was well located and we would recommend it for a nice little visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Recently returned from a 5 day stay in cape cod and enjoyed our time at The Tern inn and Cottages. Our room was very clean and spacious with lots of natural light. We slept in room #8 which has its own entrance and close parking. Its located on a quiet residential st. which is nice to go back to after a long day at the beach or driving about town. Its a small establishment which means fewer guests and less noise. We have a 14 and 16 yr who truely loved it as well. I researched many other hotels,motels, etc. in the cape and for what the tern inn had to offer $180 was a great price! From location to the free breakfast you cant get a better deal and a pool to top it off. Dave and Joan were also very helpful with beaches and restaurants to explore. Both my kids said they looked forward to going back to the inn when our day was over...they felt safe and homey. We just crawled right into bed after a swim in the pool or hot shower. They even have a Dominos pizza close by that delivers. I cant say enough about The Tern Inn...we just had a great overall experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tern Inn

Address: 91 Chase St., West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect spot for your visit to Cape Cod - we are the Cape you remember. Central location, great rooms, great breakfast, and 3 blocks to the beach, all at a great rate you will love. Our daily guest rooms offer clean, comfortable accommodations in a quaint traditional setting. Our rooms are not large, but accommodate a king or queen bed, private bath, color TV, room refrigerator, and enough space for you and yours to be comfortable for your visit to Cape Cod. Room rates include our daily breakfast buffet, which is traditional cold breakfast faire including cereal choices, breads, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, oatmeal, coffee cake and a different hot item each day. Coffee,tea and juice will round out your breakfast and start your day off right! Pool, playground, basketball court, and picnic area offer lots of fun on our 2 private acres. Our family cottages offer a great value for your week long stay in season. Fully equipped with complete kitchen, AC, color TV, and a variety of bedroom arrangements, our 6 units can accommodate your family for a special vacation. Visit the Tern Inn and visit the Cape you might remember. Good service, great location and a special setting that will make great memories for you and yours. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tern Hotel West Harwich
The Tern Inn West Harwich, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.