We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Total Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Commodore Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Commodore Inn Resort to your Saves list
Commodore Inn Resort
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   30 Earle Road, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 West Harwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CENTRAL MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Location for Total Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have stayed at the Commodore Inn twice a year or more for over 5 years, sometimes alone but more often with adult members of my extended family. During the summer, its location a few steps from the beach, lovely heated pool and breakfast room make it a place where you can park the car and not have to drive all week! Fine restaurant meals and take-out lunches are walking distance (or a very short drive) away in Harwichport. During the fall, the fireplaced rooms with whirlpool are a cozy and warm retreat so even cool weather or rain can't dempen the experience. The rooms are immaculate and cheerful (mattresses and bed linens are wonderful!), the hosts friendly and attentive yet respectful of your privacy. The one-story set-up and ability to have adjoining rooms is a big plus for people traveling with elderly or others who need to be in close proximity.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    15
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Commodore in August, 2010. It was expensive and I was hoping for more. It is quiet and close to a beach. It is worn and outdated. The bed was uncomfortable and made noises when you turned over or sat on it. The back of the dresser was broken. The cushions on the chairs, both outside and in, were dirty and needed to be replaced. There were stains on the carpet. Breakfast was fine, buffet style. The Cape is expensive in general but I certainly was disappointed with our stay at the Commodore. It really needs to be renovated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed 4 nites at this attractive inn. It's kinda like an old motel, about 20 rooms surrounding a pool and a short walk to a small, well maintained beach. Very family oriented and there were many families with young kids. They serve a very good and large breakfast which we ate out side by the pool, so save room for that. Located in Harwich so it's pretty central to many other quaint towns and restaurants. We would recommend it highly and the staff & owners were acommodating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiggermyron
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

This motel-style Cape Cod "resort" gets 5 stars. Not for the rooms themselves, which are simple, clean with comfortable beds and basic amenities (fridge,micro,etc.) and could use some minor freshening up. This resort receives 5 stars for the wonderful atmosphere the hosts create and the little extras provided! The complimentary breakfast (served daily, tax and gratuity not included) was plentiful, delicious and with variety. Make sure to order Fiona's scones from your server...well worth the minor additional charge. Delicious!!! In July, the gorgeous hydrangea bushes were in full bloom throughout the property and the large courtyard with tables, chairs and umbrellas made for a perfect setting for outdoor breakfast or relaxing. The shuffleboard court, pool with toys and complimentary DVD's were fun. They also had a small bar which served margaritas and coffee. Beach chairs,umbrellas and beach carts are provided for the very short walk to Earle Road Beach (although we and others did bring some of our own things). In season, the beach attendant was extremely friendly and ithe town has a complimentary sand wheelchair for disabled visitors and does have lifeguards. The warm shallow waters of Nantucket Sound were beautiful for swimming and the beach has some great seashells. We had a car and found it a perfect location for touring other parts of the Cape. We travelled with seniors and children and everyone had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

We just returned from staying at this lovely inn. First, the place was spotless/immaculately clean (even behind furniture, which I happened to notice when I dropped something). We stayed in a room that had 2 queen beds, a refrigerator, microwave and it was lovely. The rooms open up to the heated outdoor pool.

Flora and her family (the owners) are just lovely. They took the time to talk w/ everyone in our tour group. One of the days, I came down w/ a bug of some sort and couldn't go on the tours planned for the last day. Flora checked on me and even fixed me tea, muffins and a wonderful little lunch. She delivered it to my room and was always available if I needed anything at all.
The food was delicious to say the least and the scones are to die for. If you visit, you can order scones to take home with you. I would highly suggest doing that. My kids devoured them within a few hours of being home and I'm sad that I didn't buy more.
We were there to celebrate my mom's 75th bday and her being free of ovarian cancer for 15 years and I spoke with Fiona (one of the other owners and Flora's daughter) about having a birthday cake made for my mom. She made the most delicious, beautiful sandcastle cake and we had a wonderful celebration.
I can not say enough about these folks. THEY helped make this one of the most enjoyable, relaxing vacations I have had. And the inn is within walking distance to the beach (the water was very calm). When you step from their driveway onto the road to go to the beach, you can see the water so it is very close.

When we left, we all cried because we were leaving dear friends that were very special to us. We will definitely return to this inn because of the wonderful people that run it and it's beauty and the central location to everything.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We just spent one night at the Commodore Inn and wish it had been more.
The family that runs it is so personable. After checking out they allowed us to stay for the day and use their facilities. The rooms are clean with a good size frig. The breakfast was good but our only disappointment was that it did not offer their signature scones. However, we were able to order some to take home with us. Yummy!!

The lovely beach is just a short walk down the road. We truly hated to leave but will return again next year!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

What makes this inn exceptional, is the wonderful family that runs it! The rooms are very nice and having the heated pool is an added attraction. Breakfast with scones made by Fiona is a real treat.
We had a clambake for 35 family members at the Commodore Inn. What fun! The food was fabulous, the service was impeccable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Commodore Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Inn Resort

Address: 30 Earle Road, West Harwich, Harwich, MA 02671
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > West Harwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodore Inn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Commodore Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore Hotel West Harwich
Commodore Inn Resort West Harwich, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Commodore Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.