We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lobster Roll & Chowder!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Summer Shanty

Summer Shanty
140 Main St, Route 28, West Dennis, MA 02670
1-508- 394-0400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in West Dennis
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fish & Chips, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Casual waterfront dining servicing local seafood, black angus burgers, clam chowder and other light fare. Full liquor license with GREAT frozen drinks. Winner 2009 & 2013 "Best Waterfront Dining" by New England Cable Network. Winner "Certificate of Excellence" by Trip Advisor. Cape Cod's best sunsets EVERY day!
Moncton, NB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Roll & Chowder!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went to many nice restaurants during our stay at Cape Cod, but the B&B we were staying at recommended the Summer Shanty as a quick casual dinner. It was the best lobster roll and chowder we encountered in our entire stay! It is not fancy, but it has awesome food and quick service. We ate on the deck, but there are also chairs on the grass near the marina. Great views, awesome food, no complaints! (Not a place I'd recommend for a romantic dinner, etc.)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan K, Owner at Summer Shanty, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Summer Shanty and your kind words. Hope to see you in the 2013 season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice views, great lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Right on the little harbor on Swan River. Provide a very nice lunch, good Lobster roll. Very outdoors, very nice spot. Bring sunglasses.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fried Scallops!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great and quick service. Delicious and succulent fried scallops! It was to die for, ate there twice during our short stay in Cape Cod.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan K, Owner at Summer Shanty, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for visiting The Summer Shanty and your positive comments. I'll thrilled to read you enjoyed your visit. Please visit us in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great views, a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I shared a plate of fried whole belly clams and fried scallops and piña coladas. It was huge and delicious, especially the scallops. The view of the docks and boats was lovely, though we were there just before sunset, a little too early. The only problem for me was that it was a bit pricey compared to other fried seafood "shacks" in the area. Everything is served on paper plates and with plastic, which is fine, but I just didn't think it should be quite so expensive. I guess you pay for the view.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkeefe, Owner at Summer Shanty, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Good Morning. I happy to hear you enjoyed our good food & great views. Due to the potential of breakage in the boating and marina atmosphere the use of glass and china is not utilized. Additionally, our close proximity to the water does not allow for expansion of the Shanty's waste disposal system, limiting us to single service cups, cutlery and plateware. Thank you for visiting the Summer Shanty and please visit next time you are on the Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weymouth,ma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice place and good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Basic cape Cod fried food but was very ggod. Had the fried clams which where abundant and cooked very well. Not a very large menu but something for everyone.
Sat on the deck over looking Bass River. Great Cape Cod feel for the entire family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summer Shanty also viewed

West Dennis, Cape Cod
West Dennis, Cape Cod
 
West Dennis, Cape Cod
West Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Summer Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summer Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.