We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, typical, very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marathon Restaurant

Marathon Restaurant
231 Rte 28, West Dennis, MA 02670
(508) 394-3379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in West Dennis
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Small, typical, very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Each year we start our week getting some Cape Cod type seafood. We've tried Kream & Kone, The Original Seafood Restaurant, and this year we went here. As far as the food, it was very good, but nothing that made it any better than the rest. We find all three of these restaurants to be very similar. The place is small inside, and they have some tables outside which are nice. The service here is very good. They are all very friendly and accommodating. The cost was in line with all similar places. It is also counter service, and then they bring your meal to you.
All in all, the place is good and we'd send other people there if they are looking for a casual Cape Cod type meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great fried seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was an old Howard Johnsons - so it isn't huge. These people know how to make great fried seafood and onioo rings and they are not stingy with the amounts. You get a HUGE portion. We like to get it 'to go' after 5 pm (when there is no charge to get on the beach) and take it to gorgeous West Dennis beach to eat it in the car and watch the ocean.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You're family here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stumbled on this place as we were riding our bike to West Dennis Beach. We tied our bikes up outside and came inside for some pre-beach lunch. You order at the counter and bring your food to a table. There was a big menu with lots of options, especially lots of fish (esp. fried fish) options. I had a tunafish sandwich and it was very yummy. The owners are these freaking adorable Greek couple that will talk your ear off if you engage them in conversation. While we were there, their whole family (kids, grandkids, etc) came in, and the next thing you know we were just another part of the family. Freaking adorable people, nice little place. We'd definitely come back here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The fries were tasteless; The coleslaw was also bland; The lobster in the lobster roll was mashed beyond recognition; The fried clams had a strong fishy taste. Very disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a mom and pop establishment and everyone was very friendly. I had my two children with me and my mom. My kids ordered hotdogs and chicken tenders and ate every bit of it. My mom ordered the fried scallop platter and I ordered the seafood platter. The seafood platter comes with shrimp,scallops,clams and haddock. Because I dont care for shrimp I asked if they would substitute the shrimp for more scallops or clams which they happily agreed to. The food was excellent, and there was so much on the plates we had to bring the rest home. I have been to a lot of seafood establishments comparable in price on the Cape and this place by far gives you more bang for your buck. We will go several more times before we leave the Cape this year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marathon Restaurant also viewed

West Dennis, Cape Cod
West Dennis, Cape Cod
 
West Dennis, Cape Cod
West Dennis, Cape Cod
 

Been to Marathon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marathon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.