We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but the onion rings are fabulous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kream 'n Kone

Kream 'n Kone
961 Main Street, West Dennis, MA 02670-2867
(508) 394-0808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in West Dennis
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Kream 'N Kone is a family owned and operated clam shack serving the finest fried seafood and more in West Dennis, MA. Stop by and try "the best fried seafood anywhere!" As our loyal local following can attest, our staple menu is the best around. We serve only fresh seafood at reasonable prices. Try our popular fried haddock or flounder plate, fried whole clams, clam strips, shrimp, and more! We also offer a variety of sandwiches, broiled and grilled plates, and delicious sides. In addition to our amazing seafood, we are known for having 27 soft serve flavors for you and your family to try! Since 1990, we have been recognized in many surveys as the best clam shack on Cape Cod and have accumulated a variety of other awards. Our great food at reasonable prices is easily accessible directly from the beach and our spacious location is perfect for groups of any size. Our restaurant offers a pleasant atmosphere overlooking the Swan River and is spacious and inviting for your party.
Wake Forest, Nc
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Pleasant but the onion rings are fabulous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Kream N Kone is a spot where you order from a counter but instead of having a gritty area to eat or outdoor tables they have a large, sunny and very pleasant dining area that makes it a nice experience. The onion rings were the best part of the meal--just a whisper of breading and very thin and crisp. The fried shrimp were fine; the lobster bisque was a bit sharp in sherry and a bit lacking in lobster. Overall, this is a good family spot.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    75
    28
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Some family members simply HAD to go here. I was looking forward to whole belly clams, but NOT when I saw the $19.75 price. (Got them later in the week at another place for much less.) The clam roll was almost as much which was surprising. Place is roomy with plenty of tables. After placing your order at the counter you are given a number - meals are brought to your table when ready. Two people got the scallop dinner which was plentiful because it included many French fries and onion rings. Two got salads, one a Caesar ($5.99) and I settled for a garden salad with feta cheese ($7.25). Both were fair size and there was a lot of feta cheese. Grandkids had hamburgs. Styrofoam plates, plastic utensils, paper cups with unlimited refills at the machine. Place was clean, fast, very busy, noisy, some prices reasonable but some too pricy. It was ok but I'm not anxious to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“aways crowded but never a wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Talk about a great system for ordering your food Cream and Cone has it hands down. The food is great with some of the best fried clams and clam chowder on the cape. Family friendly and a great location makes it a must stop when your on Cape Cod. The owners are usually there and the staff is young and friendly. Did I mention the prices are also very affordable. Try it and you will always return for more. Ron T.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“How badly do you want the tarter sauce???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Your typical clam shack with the following differences: the food was served hot and FAST :-) the restaurant has a pretty view IF you sit in the upper deck seating inside. Yes, you get your own condiments but the tarter sauce is guarded and behind the counter. The woman guarding the sauce (and also in charge of vacuuming around your table while you eat) was too busy talking to a friend to bother helping me. Thankfully, one of the other waitstaff saw what was happening and came to my rescue. The woman who was chatting, robotically filled one small cup (as in the kind you get at McDonalds for ketchup) and shoved it in my direction. And then I had the nerve to ask for another one! She was surprised that I dared to ask and begrudgingly gave me another, but only because her superior was watching. Kind of like sport fishing for tarter sauce here at the Kreme 'n Kone! By the way the sauce itself was mostly mayo, nothing ooutstanding about it. People must abuse the tarter sauce policy here. That's all I can say. Average.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“typical seasonal seafood and ice cream”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The locals only go here off season. EXPENSIVE for foam plates and plastic forks. Serve yourself soda. Fried Whole Clam plate, with fries and a spoonful of slaw is $19.75 this year. I had a cup of chowda and the broiled haddock plate which came with rice and that spoonful of slaw, it too was $19.50 with a small drink and taxes. It seafood for G's sake. I have had fresher seafood at the competition. SFS's another seasonal paper and plastic seafood stop. I imagine this place is noisey when the kids come in on vacation, as all surfaces are hard. There were about a dozen people in the dining areas the day I was there and I could hear them all, clear as a bell. Tourists will love it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kream 'n Kone also viewed

West Dennis, Cape Cod
West Dennis, Cape Cod
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Kream 'n Kone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kream 'n Kone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.