We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salem Cross Inn

Salem Cross Inn
Route 9, West Brookfield, MA 01585
508-867-8337
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistent favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Best filet & baked stuff shrimp. Great squash muffins. Bartenders are excellent Cocktail creators! Millie is one of our favorite waitresses. Luncheon specials are $8-$12 during the week.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    47
    27
    12
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Words can't describe how wonderful the Fireplace Feast is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We attended the Fireplace Feast on November 18, 2012. The weather was just right and the venue was perfect for a birthday celebration. We celebrated three birthdays at once that day and were not disappointed. Since there was no snow, we had a wagon ride, while short, it was fun. Watching the Prime Rib cook on the open fire was amazing. The chowder cooking demonstration was a lot of fun to participate in. The fire is so hot! I am a picky eater and picky about service and there was nothing that went wrong during the dinner service. All food allergies were accomodated and the server remembered how we wanted our beef cooked. Thanks for the recommendation from the women who checked us in. The beef, spinach pie, squash and potatoes were awesome, and so were the bread baskets with rolls, sticky rolls and pumpkin muffins. Seconds were not a problem and brougth quickly to the table. The grand finale is the apple pie with fresh whipped cream. I left in a food coma........Can't wait to go back again and again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Fireplace Feast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is such a lovely event! Bring your family, because it is so fun that you will wish you had others to share it with. We experienced hot mulled cider and wine, a beautiful cheese spread, making our own Apple Pie (got a great recipe), stirring our own chowder of the sea, choosing our own cut of meat, getting heaping portions of everything, and taking a horse drawn sled ride through their vineyards. This was a truly inspired experience!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“all hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I visited the salem cross inn last week to celebrate an anniversary. There were 9 people in our party, I had made a reservation for 5 people initially but called back the night before to change it to a party of 9. When we arrived at the inn I gave my name and was met with indifference about the number in our party, I was asked if I had called to change the number of guests in a rude fashion by the hostess/maybe owner? Id also like to mention that this charming lady was sporting a pair of sneakers, class act. So after finally being seated at a much too small round table for that big of a party, I had to ask for a bigger table so they pulled 2 together, I really couldnt believe the way she acted, like she was being put out to accommodate us, Id also like to mention that the restaurant was virtually empty.I had viewed the list of complete sunday dinner specials on line the night before, but when we arrived they were not available, when I asked about that I was told that the website was not updated, period, hows that for an answer? Now to the food, how can I say this,not good, and the service was completely lacking in a lot of ways, it is evident that they are running on a long gone reputation, we will not be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Try to take time while you are here to just walk around the whole restaurant. This place is actually kind of like a museum that also happens to be a restaurant. The building, grounds and antique decor are all genuine from the late 1700's to early 1800's - a great place to stop for dinner after your trip to Sturbridge Village. Food is also very good, sometimes excellent, sometimes just ok but usually very good. We like to eat downstairs in the Oxhead tavern where you get the same food as upstairs but slightly smaller portions at much less cost.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salem Cross Inn also viewed

 

Been to Salem Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salem Cross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.