We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for lunch....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerardo's Italian Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gerardo's Italian Bakery
307 W Boylston St, West Boylston, MA 01583-2339
508-835-2200
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great stop for lunch....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great place for lunch with very fresh subs and soups, also grab a pastry while there alway's worth!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is cake heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This bakery take your breath away! So many cakes and a courtesy cup of coffee or tea as well.very authentic decor and this new premises I great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stop in often to pick up treats to bring when gathering with my girlfriends. We are never disappointed. I've also purchased their birthday cakes and been very happy. I don't however recommend the coffee. The espresso is overpriced and the regular coffee is bitter and tastes old.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Large selection of pristine pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place really has eye catching bling, but the pastries could benefit from real whipped cream vs. the "italian creme" , whatever that is. It tastes like Crisco and sugar .The cashier was evasive when I asked her if they use real cream in their cream puffs. She didn't even know. A dessert goes down a notch when real cream is not used and staff is not knowledgeable about ingredients. . I bought a large slice of the famous strawberry riccota cake and found it to be overly sweet and taste like it was from a mix. The pastries are so perfect that it is hard to tell what is fresh and what is day old. The fresh bread is delicious and was sliced into perfectly thin pieces that toasted easily. They offer free coffee and this would be a nice spot to meet a friend for a coffee and some pastry.It's a great place for a "meet and greet". I would come back again and zero in on specific pastries, like the tiramisu bars and other items that appeared fresher and more homemade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little dissapointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Gerardo's Saturday before Christmas to pick-up some of the "Italian" Christmas Cookies - everyone seems to rave about. Gerardo's had them all pre-packaged in beautifully decorated trays - in various sizes ready for purchase. However, we were dissapointed as all of the cookies, although looking slightly different (Chocolate, green, white) all tasted exactly the same! There were no anise cookies, they were rather dry and there was nothing special about any of them.

However, I will say that the bakery is very attractive and all of the pastries in the case looked delicious...so I will go back and purchase something like that in the future.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerardo's Italian Bakery also viewed

West Boylston, MA
West Boylston, MA
 

Been to Gerardo's Italian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerardo's Italian Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.