We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is cake heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerardo's Italian Bakery

Gerardo's Italian Bakery
307 W Boylston St, West Boylston, MA 01583-2339
5088353434
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch
Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is cake heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This bakery take your breath away! So many cakes and a courtesy cup of coffee or tea as well.very authentic decor and this new premises I great.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Treats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stop in often to pick up treats to bring when gathering with my girlfriends. We are never disappointed. I've also purchased their birthday cakes and been very happy. I don't however recommend the coffee. The espresso is overpriced and the regular coffee is bitter and tastes old.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Large selection of pristine pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place really has eye catching bling, but the pastries could benefit from real whipped cream vs. the "italian creme" , whatever that is. It tastes like Crisco and sugar .The cashier was evasive when I asked her if they use real cream in their cream puffs. She didn't even know. A dessert goes down a notch when real cream is not used and staff is not knowledgeable about ingredients. . I bought a large slice of the famous strawberry riccota cake and found it to be overly sweet and taste like it was from a mix. The pastries are so perfect that it is hard to tell what is fresh and what is day old. The fresh bread is delicious and was sliced into perfectly thin pieces that toasted easily. They offer free coffee and this would be a nice spot to meet a friend for a coffee and some pastry.It's a great place for a "meet and greet". I would come back again and zero in on specific pastries, like the tiramisu bars and other items that appeared fresher and more homemade.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little dissapointed...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We went to Gerardo's Saturday before Christmas to pick-up some of the "Italian" Christmas Cookies - everyone seems to rave about. Gerardo's had them all pre-packaged in beautifully decorated trays - in various sizes ready for purchase. However, we were dissapointed as all of the cookies, although looking slightly different (Chocolate, green, white) all tasted exactly the same! There were no anise cookies, they were rather dry and there was nothing special about any of them.

However, I will say that the bakery is very attractive and all of the pastries in the case looked delicious...so I will go back and purchase something like that in the future.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Holy Cannoli!! Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We first visited Gerardo's (in their old location) for our wedding cake several years ago (it was excellent!)...and today, whenever we're in town, we stop in for a few treats.

As always, Gerardo's does not disappoint! Bakery items are fresh and delish! The different Italian Anise cookies are so tasty and their cannolis are soooo wonderful! Prices are excellent and the interior of this bakery is just so lovely!

If you're ever in the area...Gerardo's is a must!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gerardo's Italian Bakery also viewed

 
West Boylston, MA
West Boylston, MA
 

Been to Gerardo's Italian Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerardo's Italian Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.