We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper. Thin. Walls!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellesley College Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellesley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wellesley College Club
Save
You added The Wellesley College Club to your Saves list
727 Washington Street, Wellesley, MA 02481   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Wellesley B&B and Inns
Standish, Maine
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Paper. Thin. Walls!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

For what you pay to stay here, it is not worth it. First of all, the walls are super, super thin. The people next to us woke up at 4am and you could hear their conversations super clear. I thought hearing their conversations was bad enough at that hour, then they proceed to turn their tv on, very loudly. So inconsiderate. Rooms are extremely small, and like I mentioned, pretty expensive for what you get. The convenience is being right on campus, but not sure if it is worth it getting no sleep!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at The Wellesley College Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, as your comments and others' helped us in the upgrade of our property in the last year and a half! With new management and renovations, we hope that you could come back to see our improvements.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome to back to our wonderful Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was fortunate to not be paying the bill. However, I did stay here a few nights this past spring semester. The rooms were tired with old dorm room furniture. Thoughout the building, including in the rooms, there were old black and white photos of the Wellesley of the past. It was stale and depressing. I would not choose this place by choice. The campus was beautiful!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at The Wellesley College Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, as your comments and others' helped us in the upgrade of our property in the last year and a half! With new management and renovations, we hope that you could come back to see our improvements - we, too, were happy to see the old guestroom and function space furniture go.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome to back to our wonderful Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This little inn at the college overlooks a grand front yard to a beautiful lake with clusters of floating plants, bordered by lawns and lilacs. The rooms are very adequate with bathtubs (!) in each room, more utilitarian than luxurious, so you recall you are at a college in sort of fancy dorm rooms. Breakfast is sumptuous with bagels, brown hard boiled eggs, homemade muffins on a buffet in a sunny dining room in view of the lake. This also serves as a delightful dinner restaurant with outdoor seating under the trees of Wellesley. Also, washer and dryer without coins are available for guest use. The front desk is staffed at all hours with wonderfully helpful people. I highly recommend staying at the College Club.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room, I was in 227 for my second stay and it was much larger. Also, if you can mana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at The Wellesley College Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, as your comments and others' helped us in the upgrade of our property in the last year and a half! With new management and renovations, we hope that you could come back to see our improvements. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your time here with us last year!

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome to back to our wonderful Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Wellesley College Club while visiting a daughter at Wellesley. We wanted to be close by, and on that score, the College Club is perfect. The campus is beautiful, too. Also on the good side, the place was very clean, ,and we had plenty of closet space. I also liked the old photos from Wellesley's past that decorate all the hallways. And the free breakfast was just fine.

Now the bad--it didn't seem like anyone on the staff was a full-time front desk person. We waited quite a while before anyone showed up at the desk, which leads me to believe someone just "covers" it. Also, the whole place closes down at 9:30 pm--you need a separate key to get in after that time. Our room was small (though perfectly adequate and clean) but it just left me with a nursing home feel. The walls were painted what could only be described as pepto pink, and the whole place was quiet. I don't mean nice quiet. I mean dead quiet. Even at breakfast, with half a dozen people in the breakfast room, no one spoke above a whisper, as if we were in a library. If that's what you're looking for, this is your place. But it felt a little old for us.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a lake view, but you want to be sure to ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at The Wellesley College Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, as your comments and others' helped us in the upgrade of our property in the last year and a half! With new management and renovations, we hope that you could come back to see our improvements - no more of those "pepto pink" walls!

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome to back to our wonderful Club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wellesley College has one of the most beautiful campuses in the country but like many things in the northeast, the hotel (and dorms) has not taken advantage of modern conveniences and updated. It's as if they are content to rest on the laurels of the Wellesley name. The rooms are dark, dated and drab. Food and welcome are even more of an afterthought. Given the location, they should embrace modernity and excel in free market opportunities. The hotel doesn't need to be a loss leader, it would be making money. The excuse that the focus is education-hah! One wonders if this staid attitude toward the hotel reflects the school.
My recommendation is to stay at Babson's Conference Center.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Manager at The Wellesley College Club, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, as your comments and others' helped us in the upgrade of our property in the last year and a half! With new management and renovations, we hope that you could come back to see our improvements. We are confident that you would have a much more pleasant experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

This hotel will make you feel like you are a student at Wellesley College, but are staying at a private home. Not your typical hotel, and certainly not a bed and breakfast, although breakfast was included, and it was very good. Quiet, nice subdued, classy room with plenty of closet space and a keurig coffee maker and free bottled water. Comfy bed. I would definitely stay there again. Access to college pool and golf course available.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Had a great stay here, it is at the tip of Wellesley College's gorgeous campus. Great for nice strolls and also within walking distance to the town center with lots of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellesley College Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellesley College Club

Address: 727 Washington Street, Wellesley, MA 02481
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Wellesley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wellesley
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best kept secret! Located on over 500 wooded lakefront acres, our quaint setting is perfect for your special event. A superb setting, elegant facility, pristine grounds, excellent food, attentive service and a professional staff accompanied by cozy overnight accommodations. The Wellesley College Club combines a private, peaceful setting with renowned service and attention to detail. Our main dining area has three sections to accommodate the size of your group and a beautiful terrace which can be tented for your event. Enjoy hors d'oeuvres and refreshments while overlooking the waterfront. Continue your celebration in the exquisite fire placed dining room that comfortably seats up to 140 guests. Offering private overnight accommodations and unparalleled cuisine, The Wellesley College Club is the ideal location for any social event. Popular special events include: Bar & Bat Mitzvahs, High School and College Reunions, and Family Reunions - just to name a few. The Wellesley College Club also offers the latest in meeting room technology combined with an ideal setting for meetings and training sessions. We feature all the necessary technology and luxuries required of today's meetings, combined with a distraction free environment and all the conveniences of home, in an ideal waterfront setting. Our meeting rooms feature natural light, audio visual, and comfortably designed chairs for maximum comfort. In addition, some of our meeting rooms have working fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wellesley College Club Hotel Wellesley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellesley College Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.