We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best anywhere!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Ginger

Blue Ginger
583 Washington St, Wellesley, MA 02482-6411
781-283-5790
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Ginger is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in Wellesley
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church St.
Transit: Commuter Rail to Wellesley Square
Description: Blue Ginger, located in Wellesley, brings urban dining and sophistication to the suburbs. In celebration of its 10-year anniversary, Blue Ginger expanded with a Rockwell Group-designed renovation, creating a chic, feng-shui inspired space with three distinct dining options. Enhancements include an updated main dining room in which to savor Ming's signature East-West cuisine, three private dining rooms, and the new Lounge at Blue Ginger, complete with cozy banquettes and a 10-stool granite bar. An Asian Tapas menu is served in the Lounge, featuring casual, shareable dishes like "Ming's Bings," Ming's East-West take on the burger. "Blue Ginger is unusual, not only because of the food or the room, but because it's a neighborhood restaurant of a type not found too often in the Boston area...those of us who live farther away will just have to travel now that the secret is out." --The Boston Globe *NOTE* Reservations are not accepted for The Lounge at Blue Ginger
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best anywhere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This restaurant is in our backyard so we eat there frequently. The taste and quality of the food and service ranks as high as our other favorites anywhere in the country. If you love great food and visit the Boston area, do not miss Blue Ginger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    81
    47
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where's Ming?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When this was Ming Tsai's only restaurant it was better. Now that Ming has opened Blue Dragon he seems to have entrusted his flagship restaurant to his underlings. The restaurant is still lovely, but the food has slipped a notch in the preparation and the new dishes are not as creative as in the past. The prices are also very high for the suburbs. Still worth a visit once in a while, but Ming needs to pay more attention to this place for it to regain its former luster and to justify its prices.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“It was fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I went to Blue Ginger with two friends. It was a busy Saturday night. Staff was knowledgeable & friendly. The food was good. I had a hibiscus martini that I very much enjoyed because it was light, fresh & not sticky sweet. I ordered the hanger steak, my friends ordered the chicken with pasta & scallops, we all were happy with our choices. The atmosphere was lacking, crowded seating that seemed awkward and it was very noisy. Seems a little overpriced. Although we had a good experience, would still likely try someplace else next time. There was just this odd vibe like they were trying too hard to be the coolest place in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“You can count on Blue Ginger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Blue Ginger is a place you can count on for a reliable high quality dining experience. I like this place and go back there routinely. It is a special occasion place for me.
The only thing I keep in mind when I go there is that it is somewhat noisy there, which would be a problem for quiet meetings or anyone with hearing loss.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overrated and definetely not worth the money paid.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I had a dinner on a busy Saturday night. Restaurant was packed with patrons and people were sitting literally "one on top of the other". The food was just very average and definitely not worthy the $$$. Atmosphere or lack of it... just below average.... Each of us had wine, appetizer, entree and desert to share. Desert was graded as C-. Overall experience was just OK. Probably would not come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

 
Wellesley, MA
 

Been to Blue Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.