We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, pretentious menu” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stellina Restaurant

Stellina Restaurant
47 Main St, Watertown, MA 02472-4404
617-924-9475
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 101 Restaurants in Watertown
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: For over 25 years Stellina has been serving regional Italian food in an informal setting in Watertown Center. Our menu offers a complete range of seasonal specials, in addition to an extensive selection of specialty drinks and wines.Stellina also offers outdoor dining in the warmer months. Every Tuesday in our bar The Noteworthy Jazz Quartet plays jazz standards and originals, along with selections from The Great American Songbook. There is no cover charge.Private dining for parties from 15 to 70 are available, with full and cocktail food and drink menus offered in a variety of price ranges.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Overpriced, pretentious menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We shared the pork with figs, trout, sword fish and proscuitto pizza. The pork with figs was by far the best selection. The trout was very good but not worth the price, nor was the sword fish. The chef's favorite ingredient seems to be proscuitto. It covers many of the entrees. The waitstaff was very nice. We would not rush back.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    30
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Hot tomatoe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

They have a nice special : hot tomatoe.
Seems simple but with good ingredients they use, it's really good.
Bread and ricotta given as appetisers are also great.
Tiramisu was a deception

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our cafe in Paris aka Watertown MA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

What makes a great place where you go, meet interesting people and talk into the night, see other interesting people at tables near by who come over to talk, and the staff knows you and brings your favorites as soon as you nod? Stellinas. Watertown on Charles. Back Patio in summer, bar in winter. Best ever.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, but not as special/romantic as expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have been to Stellina twice now, once when we first moved to the Boston area and again recently for a special occasion. We noticed on the 2nd visit that the ambiance isn't nearly as romantic if is still light outside (summertime, so longer days). Of course, we didn't expect top level of ambiance, as it's obvious the busy traffic of downtown Watertown Sq is right outside the window, but we had just remembered our first impression was much better as everything is more romantic in the dark with candles :)The food is the star of this restaurant as compared to any other aspect of the dining experience (service, price, atmosphere, etc). Try a dish with figs or whatever seems to be unique, and you won't be disappointed. The food was consistently top notch both times we went to Stellina. The wait staff was nothing special; not rude, but seemingly not working for tips either. The service we got almost seemed like diner service in terms of just providing the menus and taking orders (not going to any effort to be friendly, tell us about specials, or check on us periodically). We'd go again for sure, but I think we'd head to the North End for a special occasion before trying this restaurant for that sort of thing again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'd heard such wonderful things about Stellina from friends and colleagues for years, but just never got around to going. Finally did and while it's a decent enough place to grab a glass of wine after work (they have a jazz trio there some weeknights), the dining experience left a little to be desired. The food was okay (had the pumpkin ravioli) but didn't think it was worth the price. Much better food down the street at The Talk. Bar area is cramped too...they have small two-seater tables right next to the bar and if you're sitting at the bar, a waitress or customer will no doubt knock into you as they're walking by. The staff is nice and professional, but for me, this is a drinks only place.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stellina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stellina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stellina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.