We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcini's

Porcini's
68 School St, Watertown, MA 02472
(617) 924-2221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Watertown
Price range: $31 - $40
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the atmosphere and the food was amazing, this restaurant is the perfect for any occasion. I loved the fireplace.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“They need more service staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I live in Watertown, and I have reviewed Porcini's before, positively. I love the calamari, the eggplant appetizer, the Fra Diavlo and related dishes.

I went last night, and ate at the bar. And I realize, after eating there four or five times in the past six months, that they are getting MORE and more frantic on the service side. Waitresses and bar tenders racing around. And the polite, calm, verging-on-romantic atmosphere has morphed into a harried, busy, bustling, loud one.

The bar tender, to be specific, raised her voice to communicate with some customers waiting behind us: "White or red wine!" It was unpleasant. She is a perfectly nice woman, I can tell, but she was just TOO busy and overwhelmed.

She didn't have time to confer with me on drinks. She just asked bluntly, "What do you want?" and couldn't discuss any options or give any advice. Again, she was far too distracted to provide that kind of service.

It took fifteen minutes to pay our bill, it took a long time to get in our dinner order. So dinner was a strange combination of very busy and hectic, but spread out over a long two hour stretch.

Porcini's would be wise to be less penny saving and pound foolish by hiring a second bar tender and one or two more wait staff. The place would immediately become much more relaxed and comfortable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Porcini's - a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

off on a side street near the Arsenal Mall in Watertown, this restaurant is a hidden gem. You can smell the garlic as you approach. We have eaten there several times and never had a bad meal.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never got to eat at Porcini's”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We waited for two hours and our hostess mistakenly gave our table to another group. She gave us a "sorry" and smile, and nothing else. We went down the street to awesome sushi at New Ginza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a summer's evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We first tried Porcini's, like so many others, with a Groupon, but we enjoyed our meal so much that we have been coming back. The wait staff is uniformly friendly and helpful and give every appearance of being glad to have you. We started with the mussels which were delicious and plentiful,and every entree we have tried has been not only tasty, but very inventive in the combination of flavors. Even the bread is good (not as easy to come by as you would think). And, on a summer's evening, it is hard to think of a better place to be than out on their back deck, drinking wine and enjoying a fine meal. Don't be put off by the outward appearance which is rather homely - this is both an excellent neighborhood restaurant and a fine restaurant by any standard.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porcini's also viewed

 

Been to Porcini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.