We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proved all the terrible reviews so very wrong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 N Beacon Street, Irving St/North Beacon St I-90 Exit 17, Watertown, MA 02472   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watertown
Glasgow
1 review
“Proved all the terrible reviews so very wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

My girlfriend and I just stayed at this place for 4 nights during a trip to the Boston area. We had booked it while on sale, and did not check out the reviews until after the purchase. Being unrefundable, we had expected the worse due to the opinions left on websites such as this.

Much to our pleasant surprise:
Everything negative was just plain wrong. The hotel was absolutely great. The staff were friendly, and the room itself was immaculate. The cleaning staff would rigourously maintain this everyday, and we did not encounter one single problem. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is not willing to pay the laughable fees of inner-city hotels in the area. I would definitely stay here again and for a longer time if need be.

There were no:
Bugs
Lice
Pubes (as mentioned in a previous review)

Everything was in clean and working order, and the complementary internet worked fantastically as well!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    35
    73
    50
    34
See reviews for
75
45
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
quebec
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

the only good thing i can say is that it is "close" to the city. Good thing we had our sleeping bags and pillows with us because the sheets were filthy. After seeing the room, we opened the sheets and saw 5 pubic hairs. The toilette bowl was dirty and the bath was verry black. If you are that desperate, you should sleep on a bench in the public park, but don`t go there. Even if it is cheep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We reserved this place on the internet and this is the last time I make a reservation on the internet at any Super 8, we won't EVER stay at ANY Super 8 Motel again. The place is disgusting.
We try to get a room change but , no way . I was told everything was booked. Unfortunately for us, since we reserved over the net (with a discount) we could not canceled for the second night. There were some itinerant people staying a this place and begging other client for money to buy cigarettes this while we were having a cup of coffee in the lobby. The smell in the room was awful, the rug was dirty and the bathroom floor was filthy with stain and on the wall in the bathroom. The bed was terrible. The bed sheets were too small for the bed and of poor quality . Every time I move in the bed, the sheet slid and I ended up with my face on the plastic envelop of the mattress . Air conditioning did not worked and the smell in this room was unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed here because everywhere else was booked out. It was not cheap at 120 a night, the facilities were basic, the toilet ran, the air conditioner did not work, and there were some itinerant people picking through the rubbish in the car park. on the upside, there was free internet, which enabled me to book alternative accommodation for the rest of our time in boston.

  • Liked — wireless internet
  • Disliked — lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

My wife & I visited Salem and Boston around Halloween ('05) & found that this Super 8 was the least expensive & closest for our travel plans. The room in short was disgusting for an outrageous $100 a night. It was little more than a cramped hole in the wall with a bed, tv set & a bathroom. The carpet was sticky throughout the entire room, the bathroom was filthy, the tub did not look like it had been scrubbed as it was slimy and splattered with colored droplets, the bathroom sink was clogged with hair and god knows what else and as a result easily overflowed, no complimentary towels, no soap, no cups, no amenities, poor lighting in the room, the phone didn't work properly and to top it all off the bed was infested with BEDBUGS & SCABIES!

We ended up not getting any sleep that night, with bugs literally crawling all over us. We tried calling the front desk for assistance. No one, not management or housekeeping responded to our complaints, so we packed up & went to the front desk to make a formal complaint early the following morning before our scheduled check out. The manager on duty was unhelpful, indifferent & unsurprised about the condition(s) we described & offered us no compensation. We not only requested but demanded compensation & at the very least another room to clean up in. The manager, after several attempts on our part to negotiate, offered us a rather ludicrous & insulting 10% discount! (That's $10) Then they rented out the very room we had been in to another unsuspecting guest while we were checking out less than an hour later. We were not happy with this experience but reluctantly accepted it.

Days later we found we both had a strange rash & bite marks, so we went to our family doctor who said we also had scabies. Where there's bedbugs, apparently scabies usually follow. So after doctor's fees, topical cream prescriptions, days of rewashing our clothing, bedding, fumigating our luggage to not spread the infestation, not to mention the headaches this nonrestful, unfulfilling trip actually ended up costing us 3 times what it would have if we had paid the extra $100 to stay at a nice hotel!

Don't stay at this Super 8, the service was HORRIBLE & the room was DISGUSTING if not also a health hazard. The "continental" breakfast did not exist either, all that was provided was coffee and it was cold and was nothing short of sludge. We've reported our experience to the state of Massachusetts & the BBB stating it to be the worst experience we have ever had as travelers. It was so horrible an experience we won't EVER stay at ANY Super 8 Motel again. Super 8 won't even stand behind their franchise, stating that the franchise owners were the only liable party to resolve our complaints. In a word LAME.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything. The price, the service, the fact it was not clean and infested with bugs.
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

we came from western mass and stayed here cause it was close to friends. the night manager told us we had to pay a 150 dollar deposit for the room and having friends over. the next day we only got the 100 dollars back and the morning people claim there was no 50 dollars in the envolope where the deposit money was at. also the room was disquisting. none of the lights worked but one barely. the bathroom was disqusting also

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

My wife and I chose this motel as it was late at night, we were tired out with driving and as we needed to fly back to the UK the next day it was conveniently situated. What a dump! The cleaner never took the vacuum anywhere near the skirting the curtains were stuck up with gum where punters had stuck them together as they would not close properly and the breakfast offered was yak! We found the other Super 8 Motels we stayed in not a lot better!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty & Smelly
  • Tips/Secrets — Keep away!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area

Address: 100 N Beacon Street, Irving St/North Beacon St I-90 Exit 17, Watertown, MA 02472
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Watertown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area Hotel Watertown
Watertown Super 8
Watertown Super Eight
Super Eight Watertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Watertown/Cambridge/Boston Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.