We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will only eat here when visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Springs Dairy Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Crystal Springs Dairy Bar
166 West St, Ware, MA 01082-1448
413-967-6190
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Ware
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Will only eat here when visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Love this place and the fact that it hasnt changed since my dad and his friends grew up eating here. I didn't grow up in the area but we always eat here when we come to town. It's a small diner with lots of locals eating here. You can't beat the price of a breakfast, friendly employees and quality of food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Why not better?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

There is no waitstaff; you stand in line, give your order, get a quite small and, thus, overpriced portion. Not a hotbed of health; salty, high fat, country style "junk food." Interestingly enough, the milk/ice cream are via their own cows, but not organic.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great ice Cream - A Summer Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We've been going here for nearly 30 years and still enjoy the visit. Great ice cream, solid food off the grill and fryer. With the drive on a nice summer evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
472 reviews 472 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“I remember this place from my childhood!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

And it hasn't been renovated in 50 years! But don't let that be a deterrent! This is a great coffee shop with traditional fare at cheap prices and a sweet group of ladies to serve you! Three eggs, ham, toast and coffee with tax for under $5.50 is a bargain! I don't eat at Crystal Springs more than twice a month but I am warmly welcomed and recognized as the guy reading the Wall Street Journal on his iPad.

The pancakes are also fantastic and huge omelets await you. Two suggestions, pegs on the wall to hang coats and a updating/painting of the interior. It still seems like 1962 to me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
“This Place Hits The Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Was Working in W. Brookfield for a few weeks and ventured out to Ware on my Lunch Break, a rainy summer day, hurtin from the night before, and i drive past this place. It looked old fashioned, but i said it must be good. Went In, Classic Ice Cream/breakfast bar, and some booths. Very friendly, efficiant, and smiling staff. Lunch Menu was very simple, but on this rainy day after a night of drinking i wanted something light. Went back to elementary school and got the tomato soup. Tomatos themselves i dislike, however, ketchup, marinara gravy, salsa, tomato soup..diff story. This was not a can of campbells. it was dark, not too sweet, and had the perfect amount of cream and milk...also had a little afterbite too..great flavor....came with all the oyster crackers u wanted....especially went great with my chicken salad sandwich on white toast.....oh man perfect combo...a great homemade lunch, soup and sandwich..both perfect..with an iced coffee..was 7 bucks, plus they have newspapers to read while u eat..great spot..went there 3 more times for lunch after that rainy summer day and the results were consistant..menu is simple, but for a relaxing, back in time spot, if your ever in ware mass, stop here for a quick bite...never had the breakfast but i can only imagine....

  • Visited July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Springs Dairy Bar also viewed

Ware, Hampshire County
Ware, Hampshire County
 
Ware, Hampshire County
Ware, Hampshire County
 

Been to Crystal Springs Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Springs Dairy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.