We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL Capriccio

IL Capriccio
888 Main St, Waltham, MA 02451-7401
(781) 894-2234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
IL Capriccio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 161 restaurants in Waltham
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Prospect St.
Description: Il Capriccio serves a constantly changing Northern Italian menu featuring local products with an award winning Italian wine and Grappa list. Though long considered a local secret, Il Capriccio has been the number one Northern Italian restaurant in Zagat's for the past seven years. The wine list has been featured in Decanter, Sante, Wine & Spirits and Stuff. The same menu is served in the Bar. We like to serve great food and great wine in a comfortable setting.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best meal I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I went here for an anniversary celebration. The wait staff was knowledgeable and made great suggestions on the wine and meal choices. This is a great high end restaurant - a great place to enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    64
    19
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Il Capriccio is a delicious high end Italian restaurant. The staff is always super friendly, and the food is amazing. Their appetizers are very good, and for the main course they serve all kinds of different things, such as fresh fish, steak, and pasta. The desserts are very good, and our favorite is the warm chocolate budino. The atmosphere is nice, sometimes loud, probably not a good idea to bring younger children, but for my teenage kids, and for adults, it is a great restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Truly outstanding Italian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We are frequent diners at Il Cappricio. We love the menu. The fish is very fresh and appetizers are creative. There is an excessively rich wine cellar, with the best Barolo and chianti wines around. A treasured restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Northern Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Il Capriccio has served consistently excellent northern Italian cuisine for many years. The diverse Italian wine list is an excellent match for their dishes and has been featured in various wine magazines. Prices are not cheap making it a good special occasion restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tables too close, noise level too high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was disappointed in this dinner at Il Capriccio. The tables on either side of us were so close that we could hear everything said and could barely talk to one another. The food was okay but nothing more - lacking salt and pepper and too much butter for our taste. All in all, not what I expect when spending $150 (including wine, which was not memorable) for dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to IL Capriccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Capriccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.