We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Birthplace of Steam Punk?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation

Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation
154 Moody Street, Waltham, MA 02154
617-893-5410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Waltham
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Houses early machinery for the local automobile, textile and watch- and clock-making industries.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Birthplace of Steam Punk?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The museum was housed in an old factory, so it felt antique. The show piece was an old steam fire engine which was unique. The gift shop had Steam Punk style clothing items and books. My favorite item was a 1940's bicycle, just like the one I received for my 10th birthday!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waltham's Great Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

What a fun place to discover! Our eleven year old was horrified to learn that at age 12 he would have been working in the mills six days a week for three cents an hour.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Cloud, Fl
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Don't Skip This Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The history behind this museum makes us proud to be Americans. This was the first factory in the US, started around 1814. They made so many things here and ended up being famous for their watches. The most interesting machine was the brown paper bag machine. This is a great place to take your children.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookline
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coolest small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This place is amazing, not like any other museum I have been to. They encourage you to touch, but also caution you to be careful. Filled with machines galore from the 19th and 20th century that work, we hung out for hours. They also have rotating exhibits, when we went yesterday they were hosting an exhibit on Military & Mainstream fashion and an art exhibit designed by one of the members of the band Phish. I have a teen daughter and wasn't sure if this was the right for museum for us, but friend encouraged us to go. So glad we did, you can bet we'll be back!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation also viewed

 

Been to Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation to your Saves list