We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean hotel but no FREE Wi-Fi in the room?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Waltham-Boston

Save Saved
You added The Westin Waltham-Boston to your Saves list
The Westin Waltham-Boston
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Waltham-Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Third Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Waltham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very clean hotel but no FREE Wi-Fi in the room?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here overnight with my wife and loved the fact that the rooms and hallways were very clean. The problem is that for a 4-star hotel, one has to go down from the room to the main lobby to get a free Wi-Fi. Other wise, if someone wants it in the room, he/she has to pay.

Room Tip: Make sure that you do not get a room far away from the elevator. The walk can be loonngggg!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
6
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was stunned to learn that this hotel which is not in a city or even by an airport has the actual audacity to charge $15 a night for self parking which I did not know about until I checked into the hotel! Second, I was shocked not that they charge $9.95 a night for internet access, but that they only allow you to have 2 hours worth of free internet access a DAY in their lobby! As a frequent business traveler, I have never heard of any hotel limiting how much you can use their wi-fi in the lobby of their hotel before being charged a fee!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I was staying in this hotel for one night. I can't say anything bad about this. It was clean and nice hotel. Food was tasty and if you wanted something vegetarian they didn't make any problems to get you this. I recommend that hotel to everybody

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night in mid-August while attending a conference in the area.

First, travelers should note that the hotel is the middle of a renovation, with no real lobby to speak of and awkward travel paths.

The room, which I was told was one of the recently renovated King "deluxe" rooms. Small by suburban standards at less than 300 sq. ft. The rate I book promised free wifi (why some hotel chains continue to charge for internet access -- as if it is an added luxury -- is beyond me.) When checking-out, i reviewed my folio and of course discovered that I had been charged for internet.

The room itself was small, as noted above. If this was the recent renovation, then their interior design team is stuck in the 1990s. The interiors feel dated -- and VERY brown. One thing I would also note is that the guest room renovations did not updated the in-room HVAC system, it is still that 1980s-90s wall unit that is noisy when it kicks-on and always produced a draft when running no matter where you are in the room.

Can't say much about the common facilities, no permanent restaurant -- and no lobby (you enter through a windowless set of industrial-grade steel doors that dump you right into what they call their "Starbucks" area.) The "doormen" were totally inattentive to guests arriving and departing. The rest of the facility was mobbed by a very large and very loud "Salsa Dancing" competition -- no way to check-out any of the promised amenities. Note that food options outside of the hotel require automobile travel...and no obvious assistance from the hotel (concierge anywhere?) to identify dinning options.

In another mystery for a suburban hotel, parking is for a fee (even self-park.)

I suppose this place is fine for business travel in the immediate area for conferences and the like, and it is certainly convenient for families shuttling their kids back-and-forth between the several schools in the area ... but it is a stretch to call it a 4-star hotel these days.

All in all, I wish I had lower expectations coming in, perhaps I wouldn't have been so disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Overall nothing to complain, except they charged me $15 a night for parking and $15 for an upgrade to a "deluxe" room. Nice staff. Clean and comfy rooms. Swimming pool was closed most of the times. Gym was closed too. Main entrance is under construction so it was blocked.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first time staying at this Westin. The amenities and furnishings were okay, but not exceptional warranting the 4-star rating. To me, the quality was no better than a 2.5-star to 3-star hotel chain like Hampton Inn, Comfort Suites, Courtyard Marriott or Holiday Inn.

The room was comfortably furnished, but we found a long hair (when we arrived) on the clean hand towel on the bathroom towel rack.

The bed was adequately comfortable, but not extraordinary.

My friend and I were disappointed that this suburban hotel charges for parking ($15 per night) and internet access.

The hotel was under renovation and there were not adequate signs to guide guests through the construction zone so one can travel from one end of the hotel to the other or one floor to the other without having to go outdoors.

Personnel were not very customer friendly. There was an indoor pool, but no whirlpool.

There are other choices in the same vicinity, including Marriott Courtyard, Holiday Inn Express, Hilton Garden Inn, Best Western and Extended Stay America. I would try one of those next time for less money. Some of have free breakfast, parking and internet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
You certainly did not receive a true Westin experience and for that I am sorry. We strive to provide a wonderful hotel experience but occasionally we do drop the ball. And in your case we really dropped the ball! I’m not going to make excuses - I wish I could go back and fix your poor experience, but at this point, how can I make it up to you? You deserve better. If you would like to reach out to us, please do so at GMWestinWaltham@westin.com

As well, we do charge a minimal fee for some of our amenities as we are the only 4 Diamond hotel in the area. Our minimal parking fee allows us to maintain our parking facility, including security gates, lighting, elevator and overnight security to keep your car and belongings safe and sound.

Keep an eye out for many of our packages that include parking, internet and breakfast! I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My 4 stays at this hotel for a total of 6 nights within the last two years, were for business purposes. The environment is cold, not referring to the temperature, but the culture of the organization. For business type visits the food is on the pricey level. A decent breakfast is about $22 plus tips; the other option is the Starbucks coffee shop at the lobby of the hotel. They also charge for the internet. I made the mistake of “clicking” the wrong key and they charged me $4.50 per each 30 minutes, thus I paid $18 for 2 hours regardless my company’s long term contract with the hotel.

I have the feeling that the hotel targets big meetings like corporate conferences and family events. One night guests are not their major business goal.

The bottom line is that I stay there due to my company’s contractual engagement.

Room Tip: Avoid the second floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is no information about their practices (that I know of) They do have recycling containers in the room and suggest the guests to keep the bed sheets for more than one day.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
You certainly did not receive a true Westin experience and for that I am sorry. We strive to provide a wonderful hotel experience but occasionally we do drop the ball. And in your case we really dropped the ball! I’m not going to make excuses - I wish I could go back and fix your poor experience, but at this point, how can I make it up to you? You deserve better. If you would like to reach out to us, please do so at GMWestinWaltham@westin.com

We do have a very green footprint as a hotel and as a company. Our ‘Make a Green Choice’ Program offers guests the chance to earn 500 SPG points each day in exchange for forgoing housekeeping services. By not having towels, linen or amenities changed on a daily basis the hotel saves on water, power and reduces the number of chemicals used to clean each room.

As well, we do charge a minimal fee for some of our amenities as we are the only 4 Diamond hotel in the area. Keep an eye out for many of our packages that include parking, internet and breakfast! I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Waltham-Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Waltham-Boston

Address: 70 Third Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Waltham
#5 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Waltham-Boston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 15 miles from downtown Boston, The Westin Waltham Boston offers guests the opportunity to explore the city while providing the space to relax that most city hotels do not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Westin Waltham-Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Waltham-Boston Hotel Waltham
Westin Waltham Boston
Waltham Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Waltham-Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.