We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Waltham-Boston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Waltham-Boston to your Saves list
The Westin Waltham-Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Third Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Milford, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I appreciated the attention to detail: I requested to be not too near the elevators and that was accomplished, along with not being too near the ice machine, etc. I feel that a suburban hotel, as compared to a city hotel, should include the parking. If you arrive by car, you don't have a choice: the overnight parking is $15. When you're paying over $250 for one night, I feel that the parking should have been included. Location is good for getting back and forth to Boston but you really need a car to get to the restaurants in Waltham. I would prefer to stay right in Boston in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. The charge for parking is due to the costs of maintaining our multi-level parking garage. If you are visiting our area again in the future we hope you will consider a room rate package we offer that includes parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
12
3
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Westin Waltham is convenient, clean and actually a very well designed building. The amenities were adequate, room service spot-on and all of the staff (except for the coffee shop employees) were very nice. We arrived early and they let us check in at 10 am...and for that we are grateful; driving all night from Pittsburgh was killer.

The shower had no pressure behind it whatsoever but maintenance was quick to fix it.

My BIGGEST complaint, and frankly this is what ruined the hotel, was the lack of noise reducing fixtures. We could hear all of the loudmouths on our floor and their children. We had an adjoining room with strangers who apparently liked to talk as loud as they could...oh wait there was a reason for that...THE BLARING TELEVISION THEY HAD ON. And then there was the mystery vent. There was a vent that was over the bed and we could hear every word from what I am assuming was the room above us. While noisy, disrespectful guests aren't the hotel's problem, the fact that there was no attempt for aural privacy in the rooms is inexcusable. I didn't call the front desk because frankly I didn't want to move rooms, I was exhausted from traveling around to see family and driving constantly. I had to turn the fan on to drown out the noise and catch some zzz's.

Other than that, it was a great hotel and I would reccommend it to anyone who wants a good location and a quality hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Bonus Starwood points for not requesting daily service!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our hotel. While we’re glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the service you received, we’re very sorry for the noise issues you experienced. We recently completed a renovation of our guest rooms and efforts were made to insulate each room from sounds from outside areas. Unfortunately, there are still instances of noise traveling into a guest room from another room or hallway. If we have the opportunity to welcome you back, please let us know of any issues created by other guests during your stay. We make every effort to ensure a rejuvenating experience for all of our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This Westin is convenient for businesses on the NW part of the US 95 / Rt. 128 inner loop around Boston. It's blue glass arched exterior is visible from the highway but it is far enough away to be very quiet. Easy on/off freeway access and close to Naked Fish restaurant. This is a small Westin, but has a small indoor pool, exercise room, ballroom, and a Starbucks. Rooms are typical Westin modern decor with comfy bed and tile shower. Windows open and HVAC is excellent. Very clean and no chemical odors. Hotel is both nonsmoking and dog friendly. Scheduled for a redecorating soon - check before booking. Restaurant serves good brunch - we did not go for dinner. Parking garage adjacent, $15/night. We had a pleasant, restful 2 night stay. Nice day trips nearby to Minuteman Trail and DeCordova Sculpture Museum.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to visit some of the nearby attractions that are unique to our area. We hope you’ll return soon to experience our recently completed guest room renovations and our soon to be renovated restaurant and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Was in the area and looking for a hotel. Contacted the Westin regarding the recent negative reviews on Trip Advisor. My concerns were handled very directly and professionally so I decided to give the hotel a chance. I was glad I did. For a room so close to Boston, the rate was much less than we had anticipated. Our room was on the 7th floor (on a Saturday night)...and we did not hear a peep. Room was furnished well and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was setup well and the shower was very good. The pool area was very nice although the pool itself was on the small side.

We did not eat in the hotel restaurant(s). Each staff person we encountered was friendly. Overall it was a very positive experience for that one night. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: As for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for reaching out to us prior to booking your reservation. We recognize that social media is a valuable tool for consumers and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hearing from you the next time you’re planning a trip to the Boston-area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Checked in with wife for quick one night getaway. They were hosting a large group so it took a little while to check in, but no big deal. Current renovations of our room was complete and everything was high quality. Very welcoming staff everywhere we went.
Only glitch was lack of food/drink option when we checked in at 4PM. Main restaurant opens at 6, Starbucks on site closed at 3, Lobby Lounge closed for a private function. Not very well planned by management.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We’re glad our recent guest room renovations met your expectations, but I’m sorry you were unable to find service for food and beverage at any time during your stay. We’re proud to be able to provide these services 24 hours per day and I apologize if an event in our lounge made the area inaccessible. I love the idea of the “quick getaway” and on behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing us as your destination. We hope you’ll make a habit of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Waltham-Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Waltham-Boston

Address: 70 Third Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Waltham-Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 15 miles from downtown Boston, The Westin Waltham Boston offers guests the opportunity to explore the city while providing the space to relax that most city hotels do not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Waltham-Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Waltham-Boston Hotel Waltham
Westin Waltham Boston
Waltham Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Waltham-Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.