We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience...ruined by noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Waltham-Boston

Save Saved
You added The Westin Waltham-Boston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westin.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Waltham-Boston
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Third Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join SPG to save 5% more
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Waltham
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great ambience...ruined by noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Westin Waltham is convenient, clean and actually a very well designed building. The amenities were adequate, room service spot-on and all of the staff (except for the coffee shop employees) were very nice. We arrived early and they let us check in at 10 am...and for that we are grateful; driving all night from Pittsburgh was killer.

The shower had no pressure behind it whatsoever but maintenance was quick to fix it.

My BIGGEST complaint, and frankly this is what ruined the hotel, was the lack of noise reducing fixtures. We could hear all of the loudmouths on our floor and their children. We had an adjoining room with strangers who apparently liked to talk as loud as they could...oh wait there was a reason for that...THE BLARING TELEVISION THEY HAD ON. And then there was the mystery vent. There was a vent that was over the bed and we could hear every word from what I am assuming was the room above us. While noisy, disrespectful guests aren't the hotel's problem, the fact that there was no attempt for aural privacy in the rooms is inexcusable. I didn't call the front desk because frankly I didn't want to move rooms, I was exhausted from traveling around to see family and driving constantly. I had to turn the fan on to drown out the noise and catch some zzz's.

Other than that, it was a great hotel and I would reccommend it to anyone who wants a good location and a quality hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Bonus Starwood points for not requesting daily service!
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Westin is convenient for businesses on the NW part of the US 95 / Rt. 128 inner loop around Boston. It's blue glass arched exterior is visible from the highway but it is far enough away to be very quiet. Easy on/off freeway access and close to Naked Fish restaurant. This is a small Westin, but has a small indoor pool, exercise room, ballroom, and a Starbucks. Rooms are typical Westin modern decor with comfy bed and tile shower. Windows open and HVAC is excellent. Very clean and no chemical odors. Hotel is both nonsmoking and dog friendly. Scheduled for a redecorating soon - check before booking. Restaurant serves good brunch - we did not go for dinner. Parking garage adjacent, $15/night. We had a pleasant, restful 2 night stay. Nice day trips nearby to Minuteman Trail and DeCordova Sculpture Museum.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to visit some of the nearby attractions that are unique to our area. We hope you’ll return soon to experience our recently completed guest room renovations and our soon to be renovated restaurant and lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was in the area and looking for a hotel. Contacted the Westin regarding the recent negative reviews on Trip Advisor. My concerns were handled very directly and professionally so I decided to give the hotel a chance. I was glad I did. For a room so close to Boston, the rate was much less than we had anticipated. Our room was on the 7th floor (on a Saturday night)...and we did not hear a peep. Room was furnished well and the beds were comfortable. Bathroom was setup well and the shower was very good. The pool area was very nice although the pool itself was on the small side.

We did not eat in the hotel restaurant(s). Each staff person we encountered was friendly. Overall it was a very positive experience for that one night. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: As for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for reaching out to us prior to booking your reservation. We recognize that social media is a valuable tool for consumers and appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hearing from you the next time you’re planning a trip to the Boston-area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in with wife for quick one night getaway. They were hosting a large group so it took a little while to check in, but no big deal. Current renovations of our room was complete and everything was high quality. Very welcoming staff everywhere we went.
Only glitch was lack of food/drink option when we checked in at 4PM. Main restaurant opens at 6, Starbucks on site closed at 3, Lobby Lounge closed for a private function. Not very well planned by management.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian H, Manager at The Westin Waltham-Boston, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We’re glad our recent guest room renovations met your expectations, but I’m sorry you were unable to find service for food and beverage at any time during your stay. We’re proud to be able to provide these services 24 hours per day and I apologize if an event in our lounge made the area inaccessible. I love the idea of the “quick getaway” and on behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing us as your destination. We hope you’ll make a habit of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Waltham-Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Waltham-Boston

Also Known As:
The Westin Waltham-Boston Hotel Waltham
The Westin Waltham-Boston Hotel
Westin Waltham Boston
Westin Waltham
Waltham Westin
Address: 70 Third Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Waltham-Boston 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 15 miles from downtown Boston, The Westin Waltham Boston offers guests the opportunity to explore the city while providing the space to relax that most city hotels do not. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Westin Waltham-Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Waltham-Boston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.