We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Totten Pond Road, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stay at this location frequently and like it better than the Embassy Suites just down the road. The front desk staff is very helpful and the morning breakfast staff is great. For the money, I think this is a good deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 233StephenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We like our hotel better, too! :-) What could we have done better to get a 5-Star review from you? We love your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rockwood, ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just an average motel for the price range. Our immediate impression was not favorable when we entered our room. It had a musty, covered-up-with-perfumed-cleaning-products smell. Overall, it seemed clean, however. The bathroom was very clean. We found it a bit strange that after returning from a day trip that they had still not cleaned our room by 4:30 PM.

Staff was friendly, and even rang us up to see if our accommodations were OK. Nice dining area, breakfast typically pricy ($13.00). The lounge seating area is nice, but not cozy.

Nothing major to complain about, but nothing memorable. Would recommend if you want an average motel that won't disappoint you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CallMeChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell you encountered and we are now working with our housekeeping team to freshen all of our rooms and common areas. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at this Hilton property in March 2013. The hotel has recently been renovated and the rooms are well appointed. Check-in was speedy and the staff very friendly. Having a rental car I decided not to eat at the hotel (I'm burned out on hotel restaurants) and took a drive to see what else was available in the area. You can drive for miles and miles and not find anything other than the Wicked Fish restaurant across the street. However, the hotel's menu looks varied and the dishes looked plentiful and well prepared, so don't assume you need to head out to find a decent meal. But if you do, ask at the desk, first. There are very few restaurant choices nearby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulmubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments. I'm hoping next time you visit, you do get a chance to try our restaurant menu. For others, our staff can certainly point you in the right direction for finding another excellent option. Waltham does have a great variety of eateries if you know where to go.

Warm Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked with a Hotwire rate that made this hotel very reasonable. Check-in was the fastest ever! I don't think it took more than two minutes. The room was very nice, bed comfortable and the bathroom very clean.

My only complaint is that the room was very small. We had two queen beds. From the foot of the bed to the front of the dresser was just enough room for one person to pass. We used the fold away luggage rack from the closet and in doing so, we created a squeeze point in the room where I had to turn sideways to pass.

No complimentary breakfast, and no complementary coffee in the lobby. Breakfast was a buffet that cost $13.00 per person, and didn't open until 7 am. Prior to 7am I couldn't even buy a cup of coffee. Yes there was a coffee maker in the room, but I don't like powdered creamer products.

The place was nice for one night, if they had complementary coffee in the morning I'd give it four stars. Unfortunately it didn't, so it gets three starts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAD1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We have since added all-day complimentary coffee to our hotel. It's too late for that extra star, but your feedback has helped improve the experience for the next guest.

Thank you,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jr. Ramon Castilla 347 Iquitos-Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at this property for leisure this past Saturday 16th, the first impression was the welcoming greeting of Steve at the front desk, making us feel very important, second was the chef with the best spaghetti ever had, and I have to say he knows how to mix the ingredients, and third was the manager Ray, very professional and polite that offered to take us to one of the Irish restaurant in town in the day when the hotel don't offer the shuttle. The hotel rooms are very clean and the staff are very professional which make this business unique in service than other hotel. We strongly recommend this hotel and if you love spaghetti , don't forget to ask!!! We will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TahuayoReserveLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I'm excited to read your comments about our team providing excellent service. I will make sure that Ray, Steve and our Chef are rewarded for their service. Please come back again!

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The last time I visited this location the hotel was under significant construction. Progress has been made and the experience has improved. A fairly standard Garden Inn. Check-in was smooth. The room was clean and updated. The breakfast was good and included as part of my corporate program. The only downside was the cook did not speak English. People needed to fill out an order card. Parking was still a bit crowded. I'm not sure if the current configuration of parking is still a work in process or not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Michael, thank you for your kind words regarding our upgrades. We will take your comments on the breakfast ordering and parking configurations under consideration as we continue to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff at this hotel is exceptional. They go out of their way to help you. We have stayed in this hotel beginning four years ago when our son started University. It is close to campus. Additionally, our son was hurt very badly in a varsity sport at the University. The manager and staff at this hotel helped me after my son's surgery when I brought him back from the hospital. I was taking care of him in this hotel. I'm from California and he could not fly home due to possible blood clots. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim H, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear of your son's injury, and I hope that he has fully recovered. Our staff takes great pride in assisting guests in difficult situations and it's rewarding to read your comments. Thank you for your review and I hope to see you next time.

Regards,
Tim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waltham
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Boston / Waltham
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Boston Waltham
2.3 mi away
Crescent Suites Hotel
Crescent Suites Hotel
#1 of 11 in Waltham
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westin Waltham-Boston
0.2 mi away
HYATT house Boston/Waltham
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham

Address: 450 Totten Pond Road, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waltham
#1 Family Hotel in Waltham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Waltham
#3 Green Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the Massachusetts Route 128 technology belt and 30 minutes from downtown Boston, the Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham hotel helps you make the most of your time in the area. Great transport links keep you in easy reach of some of the area's top sites and attractions. Stay connected with complimentary WiFi and a 24-hour business center. Head to the fitness center for a workout or take a dip in the pool. Enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast or delicious dinner at the Great American Grill(R). Our Waltham hotel offers a choice of unique function rooms, making it the perfect venue for your next Boston meeting or celebration. Minutes from Brandeis and Bentley Universities, this Boston hotel is perfect if you are in town to visit the kids at college or attend a reunion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hilton Garden Inn Waltham
Hilton Waltham
Waltham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing