We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hidden Gem in Boston Area! Absolutely worth a stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crescent Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crescent Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   287 Crescent Street, Waltham, MA 02453   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Waltham
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Great Hidden Gem in Boston Area! Absolutely worth a stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Crescent Suites is a great hotel, convenient to both the Mass Pike and I-95. For those traveling all over Boston area, this makes it a nice central location. All rooms have a full kitchen, ample work areas, nice sized bathrooms, and as a whole, are very comfortable. There is also satellite TV. Breakfast every morning, although I never tried it personally. The owner is a very friendly man who is always helpful. Plenty of parking. Only downfall is initially trying to find it... it is tucked in a very residential setting. But, once you know where it is, it is easy to get to. This would be a great setting for families too, as the rooms are so spacious. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
77
36
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We looked for a hotel near Boston for a 2 night stay and settled on this one because of the high ratings. We booked the least expensive suite available at the time. We arrived about 15 minutes early for check-in on a Saturday afternoon, and at first thought we might be looking for the wrong address since it appeared to be a residential area. The girl at the front desk informed us that the room was all ready. Check-in was quick and efficient. We went up to our room on the third floor and discovered it was a small suite (room 32) with separate bedroom (with a king size bed). Looking at the third floor layout posted on the inside of our door, we determined that all the rooms are a little different. Our room was spotlessly clean, and smelled fresh. In fact everything in the room looked almost like new. Amazingly there appeared to be a full set (4) of matching dishes/flatware/glasses, including wine glasses. I have never seen this before in any other suite I have rented. The room had a full, four burner stove with oven, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, full size refrigerator, coffee pot, and toaster. All appliances were immaculately clean. There was also a tea kettle and electric can opener in the kitchen cabinets, along with various pots, pans, a more than adequate supply of cooking utensils, and plastic storage containers. There was also a good size desk and round kitchen table. The bed was comfortable and the area was very quiet at night. I should mention that upon arrival we were a little thirsty. The girl at the front desk supplied us with a bottle of complimentary cold sparkling water. Later on she also supplied us with directions to a pretty good sub shop (Carl’s) for a mid day meal. There is a complimentary breakfast available. The breakfast area is small, but well stocked. I helped myself to pancakes, large sausage links, poached eggs, potatoes, and a bagel on the first day. I had almost the same thing on the second day except the eggs were scrambled. Both meals were very good. There were also apples and bananas available, as well as yogurt, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, oatmeal, etc. The owner asked if we would like a cappuccino, but we stuck with the coffee. Later that morning we went for a quick stroll on the path behind the hotel, along the Charles River (apparently some sort of public walking/biking trail in the area).

The bathroom sink was on the small side, but adequate. The hook on the back of the door for hanging clothes was broken off, making it slightly difficult to find a place for my clean clothes while taking a shower. The tub is very large (deep), if you are thinking of taking a bath. One really nice feature is the shampoo and conditioner dispensers built into the shower so you don’t have to deal with those tiny bottles typically provide at most hotels. The bathroom also contained a cabinet with various items including a shoe polishing kit and first aid kit. There were also two spare rolls of TP. There are two towel holders located conveniently next to the tub and the bath towels seemed a little larger and a little more plush than I am normally accustomed to at a hotel. There was also a full size (filled) hand soap dispenser on the bathroom sink.

Our room had two large boxes of tissues. There were two flat panel HD TV sets - one in the bedroom, the other in the main room. We actually connected our laptop to the TV and watched netflix (we have an account) via the complimentary wireless provided. Coffee packets were provided along with an abundant supply of half & half creamers. We also had a full role of paper towels. There are actually two separate and easy to operate air conditioners/heaters in the suite; one just for the bedroom and one for the main room.

There was a gym on the 4th floor and a 3 washer, 3 dryer laundry room on the second floor which we did not use.

If I wanted to nitpick I could complain about the broken hook in the bathroom or the one burned out bulb in the room (which had no noticeable effect on room lighting, so we didn’t bother to ask them to fix it). Also the stove clock was 2 minutes fast, and the hotel is not located close to public transportation (but you can drive to a parking lot for the T). Even with these so called flaws, this is clearly a five star establishment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Forest, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

This is a small, charming, well-maintained hotel. It's right in town, on the river---not along an expressway!---walking distance from downtown. The owner has paid unusual attention to amenities, such as attractively landscaped outdoor sitting and eating areas, as well as a stone-walled path down to the river walk. A delicious complete breakfast is included. The kitchen in each suite is well-appointed. The generous staff went above and beyond what one would expect to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

big 1BR suite with AC...TVs in BR and LR, with satellite!! clean bathroom, nice kitchenette,
breakfast in the morning...

a fantastic value compared to any hotels in the area!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We spent 17 days at Crescent Suites Hotel, and it felt like our home. Hotel is located just a few minutes from Waltham main street, less than 8 minutes from Bentley University, and 25 minutes from Logan Airport. Many shopping malls are also reached in 15 minutes or less. Accomodations were wonderful. We got a one-bedroom suite. All appliances were new and internet wifi in our room worked perfectly. Hotel offers laundry facilities which very useful for us. A businness center is also available if you need to print or fax anything.
Michael Colomba and his staff are extremely friendly, and will help you with anything you may need.
Crescent Suites is a lot of value for your money. We definitely recommend it for business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

The people who run this independently run hotel are so nice and attentive to their guests. The rooms are huge by hotel standards and everything is impeccably clean. Nothing fancy, but everything you need: comfortable beds, free wifi, free parking, a small business center, satellite TV, a small fitness center, nice breakfast included in the price including cappuccino made by the owner! There is access to a beautiful hiking trail, along the Charles River, in the back. Waltham is a quaint town with good restaurants. The owners are happy to make dinner recommendations and give maps and directions to wherever you are going. The hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood, but very easy to get to. Just minutes off the Mass pike. A great location 20 minutes from Boston.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Crescent Suites 4 nights while on a 3 week driving trip through the NE states. We didn't want to leave! It was by far the nicest place we stayed and well worth the money. Management were awesome....friendly, knowledgeable, eager to please. The location is a bit off the beaten path in a residential area outside Boston, but it was 2 blocks from a wonderful street of ethnic restaurants and located on the river. There's a walking path right behind the hotel and picnic area with barbecues. Free parking is provided around the hotel and in a basement parking garage (the hotel provides automatic openers).
Each floor had a different hallway color scheme with wood trim work. The suite we had was plush, roomy, and well equipped with every convenience a traveler could need. There's a full kitchen, desk with free wifi, flat screen tv in both rooms, dinette, easy chair, and separate large bedroom. The decor was contemporary and very attractive.
We walked into our room and said "Wow, this is great!" The kitchen and bathroom had lots of little extras, and were very clean. The bed was comfortable with quality bedding, the AC worked great, there were tile floors in kitchen and bathroom, granite counter tops, and the shower was wonderful.
The lobby and breakfast room were small but lovely, breakfast had hot fresh cooked egg dishes, potatoes, sausage, hash browns, fruit, bagels, cinnamon rolls and juice each day. The manager and staff personally made us cappuccinos every day, provided newspapers, and hot fresh chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The manager was there most of the time, and talked about the area, giving us restaurant recommendations. There's a large historic building just a short distance away that's being made into a high end complex of offices and loft apartments. The area is definitely going to be trendy in a short period of time.
I can honestly say that I could find nothing negative or needing changing about this hotel, and compared to other hotels near major NE cities, this was a bargain! We would stay there again without question if ever again in the Boston area.
A huge thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crescent Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Suites Hotel

Address: 287 Crescent Street, Waltham, MA 02453
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Suites Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crescent Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Waltham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.