We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could, I would clone Crescent Suites and take it wherever I travel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crescent Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Crescent Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   287 Crescent Street, Waltham, MA 02453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST RATE & HOT BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Fairfax, VA
1 review
“If I could, I would clone Crescent Suites and take it wherever I travel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

This can be your home away from home because all the comforts are here and then some. Owner Michael Columba, who is on site most of the time, has to be the most hospital hotel owner on earth. He met our every need including a lift to a funeral site, advice on restaurants, and stories about how he came to develop Crescent Suites (you'll have to ask him, but suffice that his personal experience led to his design of this excellent hotel). Check it out: Waltham is only 10 miles from Boston.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
83
40
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

After visiting family in Waltham for the last 15 years, and staying at another Waltham hotel for most of those 15 years, I recently stayed at Crescent Suites Hotel mainly because of all of the glowing reviews I read online. The reviews did not exaggerate. The CS Hotel is an extremely comfortable place to stay, and Michael and his staff are gracious hosts.

Extended stay guest will find the fully appointed, spotless (and brand new!) kitchens a big help. But even if you plan to spend only a night or two, you will find the rooms at the Crescents Suites delightful: the bathroom is large and beautifully designed, the bedroom is also large and extraordinarily comfortable. One big surprise: the breakfast! Michael offers a different hot breakfast daily, and it's delicious.

For those who appreciate being able to walk to shops, restaurants, etc., you will find the hotel's location excellent. Also, a path from the back yard of the hotel leads directly to the River Walk along the Charles River. Quite lovely!

Since I have plans to visit Waltham frequently in the next few months, I have already booked my next stay at the Crescent Suites. Kudos to Michael and his staff for offering such a wonderful value and for going the extra mile to make our stay so very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We recently had our wedding in the Boston area. Michael, who owns the hotel, was a joy to work with -- he was warmly welcoming, and incredibly helpful to us, as well as to all of our family and friends who stayed there too. He stayed in touch with us regarding which wedding guests had booked in and made certain each one of our guests had just the right room. His attention to detail, warmth and charm are what make the Crescent Suites a truly special place. When you are in the Boston area and need accommodations -- for a weekend getaway, vacation, family or business event -- this is the place to stay. The hotel itself has the charm of a B&B combined with the privacy of a small hotel. The rooms are spacious and clean with tasteful decoration; the beds are very comfortable; the staff pleasant and helpful; and each room has a kitchen area with everything you need to prepare your own snack or meal when you tire of daily restaurant fare. The hotel has a fitness room and is located near a number of walking trails by the Charles River. Last, but not least, Michael makes a mean cappuccino! When we are next in Boston, we will definitely be staying at the Crescent Suites again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stumbled upon Crescent Suites Hotel here on Trip Advisor and decided to book a room based on the first reviewer's recommendation. We usually stay at one of the hotel chains along Rte. 128 in Waltham but this trip the prices that chain was asking was outrageous. So, we took a chance and I'm so glad we did.

As others have noted, Michael has created a very special hotel. The rooms are beautifully decorated. (The photos on the hotel's website are dead accurate.) With a full kitchen in each room, it's like having your own apartment. Michael's also building a lovely park, with stone walls and paths, behind the hotel that is perfect for people and pets.

We come to the Waltham area regularly and often bring our pug. The first hotel I'll check with for availability will be the Crescent Suites Hotel. This place won't be a secret for long.... fingers crossed Michael will have a room for us next year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

This intimate lovely hotel ranks way up on the list of the hotels i have stayed in anywhere in the world. Charming, immaculate, and comfortable. The owner/ manager was exceptionally helpful and quintessentially captures the best of customer service.. Breafast was delicious and homemade. I cannot say enough good about the Crescent Suites. The laundry facilites offered complimentary detergent and dryer sheet, where else does this happen. There was no nickel and diming here at all. We had a beautiful room with restful tasteful colors very executive style and a full kitchen. Free parking, another thing unheard of in Boston and a walking path along the river that is nothing short of a park. Perfect stay! Thanks to Michael the owner. We will absolutly stay on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I stayed at Crescent Suites on the recommendation of friends who had stayed the week before. My room was spacious and clean and the attention to details impressive. The staff and the owner are just about the friendliest and most helpful people I've eve met while traveling. Crescent Suites felt like a home away from home! I might even travel to Waltham again just for the opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apalachin, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Ours was a last minute find as the hotel had just opened. We were going to be in town for a wedding and a relative told us about the Crescent Suites Hotel. We called to check availablity, and lucky for us they had a fabulous suite that exceeded our expectations. Everything was terrific, and the owner Michael could not have been more accomodating. It is a perfect location, on the river close to a wonderful breakfast cafe, and walking distance to the main streets of Waltham (ice cream, movies, etc.) The rooms are very spacious, and would be quite comfortable for an extended stay with a great the kitchen space if that's what you need. Can't go wrong with this one.

  • Liked — price, location, availablity
  • Disliked — no early moring coffee
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Suites Hotel

Address: 287 Crescent Street, Waltham, MA 02453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Crescent Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Waltham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.