We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Melbourne
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very Happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for four nights on business.
I really like the Express format with included wifi and breakfast.
The laundry room is small and only has two machines. The machines cost $2 for one load (so $4 for wash and dry) and powder is given free.
The gym is small and only has 2 running machines and an elliptical.
The hotel itself is old but very well renovated.
TV was nice and big and room and bed were comfortable.

For exercise, you can go jogging in the national park nearby, ask for directions, its close.
Or go to Cross Fit City Line, they are about 12 minute drive away and very drop-in friendly.

The breakfast range was good with four different kinds of good quality cereal, chobani yogurt and boiled eggs as well as bread, scrambled eggs, turkey burgers and bacon.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel many times While my son attended law school. While I have experienced great service each time, my last stay was exceptional. Staff provided detailed directions to the various locations when requested. They were extremely accommodating to my in-laws as one used a walker. When we returned late, staff ensured they had what they needed to ensure they would have a restful night. I love the redone front check in area and the enlarged airy breakfast room.

The hotel is convenient to shopping,museums and Boston's suburbs. I am only disappointed that I probably won't be returning as my son graduated !!!

Room Tip: The wheelchair accessible room was great for my in-laws. They were very pleased and staff gave me an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nicely renovated hotel as I know just by the style, it's was another older hotel that they took over and put their name on. There's a center section tower with 6 floors, and then two adjacent wings with 2 floors. My room in the tower only had a shower which was fine for me, but I'm not sure if that's for every room in the hotel, so if you're looking for a tub, you should ask for a room with one if they're available. The lobby is super modern and the rooms are beautifully done as well. Yes, I know it's convenient to a lot of businesses and work meetings, but at $300 a night, well I think it's a little much, especially since it's not a downtown hotel. But supply and demand, i know. Leigh at the desk had already put in a full day of work, but still had a nice smile and conversation for me when I checked in.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Bernardo,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston Waltham, it is great to hear the Leigh was able to provide you great customer service.

Sincerely,

Wendy Peña
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Want to say that the staff was extremely professional, helpful & nice.
Location was great for business
Breakfast was nice to have in the morning & the staff paid good attention to detail. Should I go back to the Boston area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, April 22, 2015
Dear JPBenner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments regarding your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston Waltham. It is great to hear that we met your needs. We hope to see you again in the future.

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

No luxuries, no frills. Here on business and it was ok.

Room sizeable but cramped bathroom for some reason. Inclusion of fridge and microwave in room is practical but the fridge motor can be disturbing.

Compared to other hotels in Waltham, this is about the average. Not bad, and not excellent.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, April 22, 2015
Dear Crystal H,

Thank you for leaving us a review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We love hearing feedback as we are always looking to improve. I do hope that if you are ever back in the area you are willing to give us a second chance.

Thank you

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights. We have a small dog, which limits our options. There is a $50 single fee, regardless of the number of nights. The room was clean and quiet, and the area is quite safe. The hotel was spotless. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, the hotel next door has a small restaurant that stays open until 10 pm, which was convenient because we arrived at 9:30 pm. The breakfast had a variety of healthy options. The hotel is located with easy access to Boston or the western suburbs. We were quite pleased with the overall experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, April 22, 2015
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I arrived in morning (11 am)and was lost with no GPS, when I walked in Roy or Ray, not sure of his name was reading a newspaper, they were under renovations (which I understand) and said, I need to check in .... he was very dismissive and told me to come back after 3 pm .... I had a reservation for a king room) I left and found my way to where I needed to go for my business purpose. When I arrive after 3 pm that same day -Cory Simmons, PM Customer service rep - went way beyond customer service! He made sure I had a great room, I had to pick up other employees from the airport, he helped me, he gave me suggestions on places to eat, directions, etc. Hotel is going through a few renovations to be even better - I commend them on their decisions and would recommend it - hope you get Cory to help you!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, April 5, 2015
Dear Debra,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston Waltham. I would like to apologize for the poor customer service experience that you had while trying to check in early. We have addressed these issues in hopes that they do not occur again. We do hope that if your travels bring you back to the Waltham area that you are willing to give us another opportunity.

Thank you

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Address: 385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where business and history meet - the 'Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham'. Our Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham hotel is located along Route 128, America's technology highway. We offer 156 renovated guest rooms with our famous complimentary Stay Smart Cinnamon Roll and coffee to help start your morning right. Just minutes to Historic Lexington/Concord and only 20 minutes from Downtown Boston, Waltham is ideally located. We are surrounded by prestigious area Universities, we are 3 miles from Bentley College and Brandeis University and only 8 miles to Boston College and Tufts University. We offer business travelers complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius to area companies: AstraZeneca, Fresenius Medical, Raytheon, Novell, SAP, Striderite, Thermo, Athenahealth, Unica and many more. High Speed Wireless Internet is available for those busy nights at work. Our business center will help you stay productive while you stay smart! Waltham's history, attractions, and convenient location make us an excellent place to visit. Experience the best value in Waltham and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waltham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Holiday Inn Express Waltham
Holiday Inn Waltham
Waltham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.