We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
“Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Want to say that the staff was extremely professional, helpful & nice.
Location was great for business
Breakfast was nice to have in the morning & the staff paid good attention to detail. Should I go back to the Boston area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear JPBenner,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments regarding your most recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston Waltham. It is great to hear that we met your needs. We hope to see you again in the future.

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

No luxuries, no frills. Here on business and it was ok.

Room sizeable but cramped bathroom for some reason. Inclusion of fridge and microwave in room is practical but the fridge motor can be disturbing.

Compared to other hotels in Waltham, this is about the average. Not bad, and not excellent.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Crystal H,

Thank you for leaving us a review regarding your most recent stay at our hotel. We love hearing feedback as we are always looking to improve. I do hope that if you are ever back in the area you are willing to give us a second chance.

Thank you

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights. We have a small dog, which limits our options. There is a $50 single fee, regardless of the number of nights. The room was clean and quiet, and the area is quite safe. The hotel was spotless. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, the hotel next door has a small restaurant that stays open until 10 pm, which was convenient because we arrived at 9:30 pm. The breakfast had a variety of healthy options. The hotel is located with easy access to Boston or the western suburbs. We were quite pleased with the overall experience.

Room Tip: I would suggest the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

I arrived in morning (11 am)and was lost with no GPS, when I walked in Roy or Ray, not sure of his name was reading a newspaper, they were under renovations (which I understand) and said, I need to check in .... he was very dismissive and told me to come back after 3 pm .... I had a reservation for a king room) I left and found my way to where I needed to go for my business purpose. When I arrive after 3 pm that same day -Cory Simmons, PM Customer service rep - went way beyond customer service! He made sure I had a great room, I had to pick up other employees from the airport, he helped me, he gave me suggestions on places to eat, directions, etc. Hotel is going through a few renovations to be even better - I commend them on their decisions and would recommend it - hope you get Cory to help you!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Debra,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston Waltham. I would like to apologize for the poor customer service experience that you had while trying to check in early. We have addressed these issues in hopes that they do not occur again. We do hope that if your travels bring you back to the Waltham area that you are willing to give us another opportunity.

Thank you

Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

I stay at this hotel at least once a year and have never been disappointed. At the moment the building is being renovated and the staff go out of their way to minimize the impact on the traveler. As usual I found my room to be clean and quiet and the staff friendly and professional. I especially appreciate that this hotel offers early breakfast on weekends as well as during the week. Would never stay anywhere else while in the area.

Room Tip: I've never had a problem with any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear Anthony,

Thank you for the great Feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham. Our main goal is to provide our guests with excellent service while staying at our property and it seems as if we have accomplished this during your stays. I would also like to inform you that our renovation is now completed and we have our spacious lobby and fitness room in addition to our expanded breakfast room ready for our guests to enjoy. We hope to see you again soon so that you can enjoy these new amenities.

Thank you
Wendy Peña
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Address: 385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where business and history meet - the 'Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham'. Our Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham hotel is located along Route 128, America's technology highway. We offer 156 renovated guest rooms with our famous complimentary Stay Smart Cinnamon Roll and coffee to help start your morning right. Just minutes to Historic Lexington/Concord and only 20 minutes from Downtown Boston, Waltham is ideally located. We are surrounded by prestigious area Universities, we are 3 miles from Bentley College and Brandeis University and only 8 miles to Boston College and Tufts University. We offer business travelers complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius to area companies: AstraZeneca, Fresenius Medical, Raytheon, Novell, SAP, Striderite, Thermo, Athenahealth, Unica and many more. High Speed Wireless Internet is available for those busy nights at work. Our business center will help you stay productive while you stay smart! Waltham's history, attractions, and convenient location make us an excellent place to visit. Experience the best value in Waltham and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waltham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Holiday Inn Express Waltham
Holiday Inn Waltham
Waltham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.