We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and very good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Waltham
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Friendly atmosphere and very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I truly recommend this inn! Staff are friendly, helpful and very nice. They provided us with great information related to Boston, parking, subway etc. Room accommodations were very good, very clean and tidy; parking was easy, and the price much better than in other Inns I had previously stayed in other states. Although breakfast ended at 9:30 am, free coffee was available to all customers anytime we wanted - which is a nice touch during cold weather at Christmas time. Maria, our waitress for breakfast made all the difference with her attention and care. Thank you! The only point I disliked, it was the styrofoam disposable plates which it have been questioned as affecting our health due to hamful manufacturing substances.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    95
    45
    10
    2
See reviews for
75
39
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
clinton, ct
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I were very pleased with our room accommodation and especially the staff when we stayed for Christmas Eve so that we could visit with family.
Deirdre, the front desk manager, was most pleasant...wonderful attitude. She was so helpful with directions when our GPS was not helpful in directing us to your hotel.
Maria, the dining room manager, had a sweet affect and was very efficient in replenishing food on the breakfast buffet and keeping the dining area clean.
Thank you for a most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express Dec 24th, 2012. It met all my expectations and more. Deirdre, the front desk manager, was very cordial and welcoming to a traveler on Christmas Eve.
The room was clean, well equipped and cozy and the parking was easy.
The breakfast was great with everything one could possibly want spread out conveniently and Maria, the breakfast manager, was very cordial and helpful.
It was a very pleasant place to spend this time rather than lying on a blowup bed on the floor with crying children close by. In fact my daughter says that next year they will stay here rather than sleeping on hard couches and waking up with headaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I have been coming to he Holiday Inn Express in Waltham, MA for the last seven yeas, around 4 times a year to visit family. The service and the friendliness have always been exemplary. The lady who tends to the breakfast room, Her name is, I believe, Maria, has been exceptionally kind and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetoeat3
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

When we first came to stay here 5 years ago, they had just finished renovation and the room was most pleasant. We have been coming here almost every year since, and the conditions of the rooms have clearly deteriorated, some worse than others. The rooms are still good size, although the bathrooms uncomfortably small. Lack of a soap dish meant soap all over the countertop. The ramp/exit to/from I95 nearby were under construction and constantly being changed around the last few years. The work now seems to have been completed. From the hotel, you can no longer get on I95 south turning right off the parking lot (you could only get on the I95 north this way), you must turn left and go all the way round Totten Pond Road to get on the I95 south. Even our GPS direction fails to reflect this latest change. The wireless internet was dependably SLOW. We stay here to avoid the expensive downtown hotels, and take the T to Boston/Cambridge each day. The T's Woodland Station is just a few miles south, off the I95. It now features a 3 storey parking garage, with 24/7 attendant, at a 24 hr fee of $7. This parking garage on Washington Street, Newton Lower Falls is set well back from the road, and poorly marked. Just turn into what looks like the access road of the Arborpoint apartments at 1940 Washington Street and you will get to the station parking garage at the end. It normally took us 45 minutes to get to downtown Boston, including the wait. Woodland Station is above ground, but has heated and covered waiting areas. You can only embark/disembark the subway trains at the driver-monitored front doors at all above-ground stations. Alternatively you could drive to Alwife station and park in its multistorey garage for the day. This is a bit further away from Waltham, but is totally under cover, and the train reaches Boston via Cambridge in a much shorter time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Maria goes above and beyond to welcome guests in the breakfast room. The front desk workers are also friendly and pleasant. Clean, convenient, free parking, breakfast and wi-fi at an beatable rate. Room is comfortable but bathroom a bit tight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here on election night, when Boston was totally booked with press and others in town. I got lost on the way. It was a long day.

The staff at the front desk were great. Sooooo nice. They recommended a restaurant I could walk to, and the experience really turned my frown around.

It is not the fanciest hotel, but offers good value.

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MMasarech,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us on election night. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Waltham!

Sincerely,
Melissa Gagnon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Address: 385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Waltham
#5 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where business and history meet - the 'Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham'. Our Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham hotel is located along Route 128, America's technology highway. We offer 156 renovated guest rooms with our famous complimentary Stay Smart Cinnamon Roll and coffee to help start your morning right. Just minutes to Historic Lexington/Concord and only 20 minutes from Downtown Boston, Waltham is ideally located. We are surrounded by prestigious area Universities, we are 3 miles from Bentley College and Brandeis University and only 8 miles to Boston College and Tufts University. We offer business travelers complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius to area companies: AstraZeneca, Fresenius Medical, Raytheon, Novell, SAP, Striderite, Thermo, Athenahealth, Unica and many more. High Speed Wireless Internet is available for those busy nights at work. Our business center will help you stay productive while you stay smart! Waltham's history, attractions, and convenient location make us an excellent place to visit. Experience the best value in Waltham and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waltham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Holiday Inn Express Waltham
Holiday Inn Waltham
Waltham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.