We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
nyc
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Super Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Just returned from a weekend overnight at the Holiday Inn Express Waltham. Wow ... a really. really nice hotel, Looks brand new. Big modern, clean room with a great bed, modern bath. Super friendly front desk, cleaning and restaurant staff. Nice reception area ... ALL GOOD! Will be back on our next trip to Boston!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor - executive level
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Susie056,

Thank you very much for your compliments about our hotel and staff; we are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Boston!

Sincerely,
Melissa Gagnon- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    102
    53
    10
    2
See reviews for
81
42
21
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed here because of its convienece to Bently University. The hotel had a special rate for prospective students, so be sure to ask for it. The only problem with the hotel, is that the doors are loud when pulled shut - so when I went to bed early, I did hear people going into their rooms in the hallway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, MA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The room was spotless. The air is clean. You can adjust the heat. The mattress was fabulously comfortable. It was very quiet.
The breakfast had a wide variety, but is not gormet. The however, is not my prime concern.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I am a business traveler spending 100+ nights in hotels per year. Mostly in PriorityClub hotels.
My visit with this facility was both pleasant and well cared for. I forgot my phone charger and prevailed upon the desk to help me. I was accomodated at every turn and wish I could remember the evening desk clerk's name to give her credit for a job well done. The breakfast facility was well cared for and any needs were quickly taken care of by Maria. The fitness facility actually has a universal weight machine as well as the usual eliptical/stair stepper(some of us are still trying to maintain muscle mass...).
My only grousing point was housekeeping failing to replinish my shampoo. Please, please, please just put a new bottle in the bathroom. Saving a 25 cent bottle of shampoo by taking inventory of what is still in my shower is false economy. It just irritates the guest when they have to get dressed and go down to the desk to get another bottle of shampoo. Just put another bottle in there. At $150 a night you can afford to lose an extra bottle of shampoo every now and then.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel proves how much easier it is to build a decent, clean budget hotel than it is to staff one.

The rooms are fine. They're spacious, the amenities and decor are fine. It's basically clean.

But the chair is kind of busted. The bathroom door doesn't quite shut. It smells like smoke. And there's clearly nobody at the property whose job it is to walk around, and find and fix these things.

Every fault at this property is what I'd call a "software" issue, meaning people instead of bricks and mortar. We were promised adjoining rooms, but they were unavailable at check-in and the desk was surprised we'd been offered such a thing. Of the two rooms to which we were assigned, one reeked of smoke as if the butt was still warm (a non-smoking room, by the way). We were moved to two adjacent rooms, which were fine.

It's a decent budget hotel. You get what you pay for, which is fine. I'd suggest it's better for the business traveler than the family trip. Don't expect amenities, but expect a decent, clean, spacious room for a fair price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear “ajeske”

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed the room, but am sorry to hear about the “software” issues you encountered during your stay with us. We do have a Rooms Mechanic program in place, where one person is specifically in charge of inspecting each guest room to find things such as the bathroom door not shutting and fixing them prior to a guest finding them, but unfortunately this issue appears to have been missed before your arrival. Again, thank you for taking the time to write this review as your feedback helps us improve. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Waltham!

Safe travels,

Melissa Gagnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Clean, fresh, modern decor, very professional friendly staff, decent complimentary breakfast, easy to find from Rt.90 w. Quiet area, suburban and just 10 miles from Boston! Very affordable. Our saturday rate was $125.complete. I requested a quiet room and was given a great corner room.
Its a steal if your visiting boston and don't want to pay $250 and up for a chain hotel in the city... we will probably go back to boston this morning to return to the north end for coffee and pastries! (its that close!)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We have a daughter at Brandeis University and visit her at least once or twice a semester. We've never had a bad stay. Contrary to some other comments, we've found the front desk people very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and breakfast is fine, plenty of choices and ample amounts. Breakfast room is spacious enough to accommodate the guests easily. Even the women who keeps the breakfast room cleaned and stocked was pleasant and helpful. We've booked here through Cheaprooms.com and have gotten EXCELLENT value. Recommend wholeheartedly and we will continue to return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear PennYanTraveler,

I am happy to hear how much you enjoy staying with us! Thank you for taking the time to share your compliments. We look forward to having you back again for your next visit to Brandeis!

Sincerely,

Melissa Gagnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Address: 385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Waltham
#4 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where business and history meet - the 'Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham'. Our Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham hotel is located along Route 128, America's technology highway. We offer 156 renovated guest rooms with our famous complimentary Stay Smart Cinnamon Roll and coffee to help start your morning right. Just minutes to Historic Lexington/Concord and only 20 minutes from Downtown Boston, Waltham is ideally located. We are surrounded by prestigious area Universities, we are 3 miles from Bentley College and Brandeis University and only 8 miles to Boston College and Tufts University. We offer business travelers complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius to area companies: AstraZeneca, Fresenius Medical, Raytheon, Novell, SAP, Striderite, Thermo, Athenahealth, Unica and many more. High Speed Wireless Internet is available for those busy nights at work. Our business center will help you stay productive while you stay smart! Waltham's history, attractions, and convenient location make us an excellent place to visit. Experience the best value in Waltham and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waltham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Holiday Inn Express Waltham
Holiday Inn Waltham
Waltham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.