We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice little out of the way place with some cool stuff around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A nice little out of the way place with some cool stuff around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel in two years. I guess they had done some remodelling since the last time I was there but I didn't really notice the difference.

The room was a decent size and very clean. I like staying at this Holiday Inn in particular because it's outside of Boston so it's cheap, and it's right down the street from Lexington (Yeah, that's right, where the shot heard round the world occurred.) But if that shot happened when I was there, I wouldn't have noticed, the hotel is quite quiet.

There's also a couple of restaurants near by, my favorite being Naked Fish. And what makes it even better is it's in walking distance.

Overall, this Holiday Inn is pretty standard and I enjoy it, I stay two nights each time and each time its been a joy. Look out for the Fenway Park seats and autographed Jim Rice baseball next to the elevator. (Because the Sox are awesome)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    102
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
81
42
21
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Great place all around but particularly commend them on the service. Very courteous, recommend PC club members and gave me a free room upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Breakfast with Maria was delightful every morning. She was vey helpful and the food seemed to never run out. The room was spacious and clean. The housekeeping staff kept everything in the room and the hotel clean and fresh. The front desk staff was helpful and atentive to our needs. Free internet and the printing station are a great addition to this hotel. The only thing we would recommend is refrigerators and safes in the rooms. Overall wonderful experience!

Room Tip: visit the hotel first and ask to look at room (if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were not impressed with this HI Express compared with others we have stayed at around the country. It does have a good price on weekends and you can easily take the train into Boston.

Some of the problems we had: Only 1 elevator for 6 floors, breakfast room is way too small, you can barely move between tables, maid left our window open and everything had tons of dew on it, no pool, front desk staff we not very inviting (not rude), just did not seem to care too much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear “RLCD”,

We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, but thank you for taking the time to write a comment. It is concerning that your window had been left open and we will be reviewing this procedure with our Housekeeping department to ensure that this doesn’t happen again in the future. The comment that you found the front desk to not be inviting is also concerning as we pride ourselves on always providing the highest level of customer service, and we will be sharing this comment with them as an example of ways to improve. We hope that you will give us another chance to impress you if your travels bring you back to Waltham!

Melissa Gagnon, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stay often at Holiday Inn Express, and this hotel was as nice as others in the chain. It does not have a pool. Tea and coffee are available by the lobby, although the hot water ran out and was not checked or refilled. The room and bathroom were clean and renovated. The breakfast was quite good, especially the pancakes.

But the check in/out experience was not up to the standards I am used to from this chain. The desk clerk Derick didn't seem to realize that he was in the hospitality business. No greeting, no warmth, no thanks for choosing them (when there are a number of other places within walking distance of this hotel), no acknowledgement of Club membership, no courtesy question of "was everything all right?" I do not expect to be befriended by the desk clerk. But every other Holiday Inn Express we have stayed in has given a much more gracious initial and final impression.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear “NPSer”,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a comment about us! I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed our hotel and breakfast.

You are absolutely right- you should feel welcomed and cared for when interacting with the front desk and if nothing else at least thanked for choosing our hotel. It is unfortunate that you had a negative interaction with our front desk, however, I do hope you will give us another try if your travels bring you back to Waltham.

Sincerely,

Melissa Gagnon, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel was a great basic hotel. We were traveling to Maine from Virginia and needed to stop and visit family on the way.

The free breakfast was great.

There is not a pool or bar at this hotel. We walked to the hotel next door to get 2 beers to go. The hotel also allows pets so there were several dogs that we passed outside and in the halls. We requested a room that was not a pet room due to allergies. We were told that we were put in a non-pet room and that all rooms are steam cleaned after pets stay. However, we sneezed a lot and the room had an odor.

It was fine for one night and we got a good rate but will not stay again.

Room Tip: Be very specific about allergies and call ahead to get a non-pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMExpressWaltham, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear “RogersVA”,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate your comments very much, and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. It is unfortunate that your allergies were bothered by the dogs in the hotel, however, being a pet-friendly hotel is an amenity that many of our guests are appreciative of. We hope you had safe travels home and may consider giving us another try in the future!

Melissa Gagnon, Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I was having my floors refinished and needed a place to stay for one night. I booked a room at the Holiday Inn Express at the last minute and got a good price (about $100 including tax). The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet, and it seemed like the furnishings were new. Checking in and out was quick and painless and the continental breakfast was better than I would have expected (those cinnamon rolls *are* good!). And our room even had a view! There was a great view of the Cambridge Reservoir (which is really in Waltham, not Cambridge)--some conveniently placed trees blocked the view of route 128, which is between the hotel and the reservoir. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to visiting friends or family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham

Address: 385 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Waltham
#4 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where business and history meet - the 'Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham'. Our Holiday Inn Express Boston-Waltham hotel is located along Route 128, America's technology highway. We offer 156 renovated guest rooms with our famous complimentary Stay Smart Cinnamon Roll and coffee to help start your morning right. Just minutes to Historic Lexington/Concord and only 20 minutes from Downtown Boston, Waltham is ideally located. We are surrounded by prestigious area Universities, we are 3 miles from Bentley College and Brandeis University and only 8 miles to Boston College and Tufts University. We offer business travelers complimentary shuttle service within a 3 mile radius to area companies: AstraZeneca, Fresenius Medical, Raytheon, Novell, SAP, Striderite, Thermo, Athenahealth, Unica and many more. High Speed Wireless Internet is available for those busy nights at work. Our business center will help you stay productive while you stay smart! Waltham's history, attractions, and convenient location make us an excellent place to visit. Experience the best value in Waltham and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Waltham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Holiday Inn Express Waltham
Holiday Inn Waltham
Waltham Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.