We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, easy access to Rt 128 & Mass Pike” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT House Boston/Waltham

Save Saved
You added HYATT House Boston/Waltham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HYATT House Boston/Waltham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Waltham
University Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel, easy access to Rt 128 & Mass Pike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

While I was hoping to stay in Boston, the Hyatt House was a great find. Important to my stay was the kitchenette, which is why I selected this hotel. Staff were very friendly and willing to help at all times, including changing my room at check-in because of a loud air conditioner. The rooms were were well designed, with a living room, kitchenette, bedroom, and bathroom. Te bedroom TV did not offer digital cable, but the high def living room tv with DVD player helped make this room feel like a temporary home away from home. They offered a morning breakfast and nightly social hour with light dinner option (e.g. Pizza bar, taco night). The free Internet was awesome. It bothers me that more expensive hotels upcharge for Internet access - but I understand that many business travelers can expense the Internet add-on. Having to absorb the cost of the stay myself, the free wireless Internet was a bonus.

The only thing that is disappointing about the Waltham hotels in general is that they are advertised as Boston hotlels, but the are far from downtown Boston. It's not easy to get into the city from this hotel on public transportation. This, a car is really needed. That said,they do for a shuttle service. However, given the distance from the city and horrible Boston traffic conditions, if you need to be in the city and don't want an hour long commute in morning traffic, then you should palm to stay in the city. If you don't mind the drive or if you can tolerate the drive in exchange for the reduced expense, then this property should definitely be on your list.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We appreciate the feedback for your stay. We look foward in seeing you back when you come to the area again. I apologies if the Boston in our title did confuse you, but I'm glad you still enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    70
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
82
21
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at this property since it was built, and the Hyatt family has done a wonderful job upgrading the décor, rooms and amenities. We always stay at the Hyatt House, it is so very convenient, but more importantly clean and neat. The staff is very gracious and willing to help you out with "anything". A great little gem, thank you.

Room Tip: We have stayed in many different rooms, they are all suites, with ample room. We have not had a noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for stay with us again. We truely try to make everyone feel like they are at home when you are not at home. We look foward in seeing you again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here so we could have a big room for our family, got a great rate on a 2 bed/2bath room and as was our experience at another HH the service was super friendly, the room very clean and spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel and chain to families. The location is great if you are visiting Boston as its a quick drive on the Pike into the city or do as we did, drive the few exits down 95 to the Riverside Green line T station, grab the trolley/train there and its about a 25 minute ride, much cheaper and easier than having to drive park, especially when going to a Sox game at Fenway as the Green line runs right to Kenmore station which is next to Fenway Park.

Had the breakfast and it was very good, their fresh muffins are delicious!
Again a great bang for the buck!

Room Tip: Get a room away from the exit doors, we heard some people coming in and out at early hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear NYMIAMIGUY,

I cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful review. It is always wonderful to hear that the staff is doing everything they can to make a guest's experience the best it can be. Guests like yourself are the reason we are in the business to begin with and making you happy is our primary goal! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroadagn7
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have a family member in a local hospital with limited visiting hours. We were looking for an extended stay format with kitchen in case we wanted to cook a few meals, etc... We also anticipated a fair amount of "down time" when we would just need to be back in the room.

Hyatt House was rebranded from Summerfield Suites. The room and sitting area is straight out of the Hyatt Place format (sectional sofa plus flat screen.) We like that very much. We brought some food in for a few snacks and meals. We attended one manager's reception and had enough to eat that we didn't feel the need for dinner. Note: I believe Mass. state law prohibits free drinks at these types of receptions so byob if you want alcohol. No beer and wine sold at the hotel's convenience store either. They gave us directions to a liquor store about ten mins away.

Nice hot breakfast with plenty of variety each morning. All items replentished promptly and cheerfully even when there were many of people there.

One of the washing machines acted up (these things happen) and between the front desk staff and the maintenance man we put all my laundry into a working machine with no hassle (they even paid for the wash and another box of detergent.)

I enjoy reading the Wall Street Journal and it is available free each day along with USA Today.

I am nursing a knee back to health so they gave us a room near the fitness center which worked well. Very cheerful staff, especially Melissa at the front desk.

We anticipate a few more trips to the area and will definitely stay there again. As for restaurants, if you want a full meal try the newly re-opened Club House Tavern down the hill attached to the Best Western. They made some nice upgrades (reopened two weeks ago) and we had good food and good service there.

Room Tip: Lots of choices. Call or tell the front desk and they will accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Ontheroadagn7,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our property. We look forward to your return and if there is anything we can do to make your next stay as good as the last, let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed in the 1bd king suite & it was very nice the kitchen was clean & the king sized bed was the best bed I ever slept on....the hotel was very clean...the breakfast was very good enough of a choice for anyone to find what they like a big assortment of food & the coffee was great.....the kitchen staff was very nice I needed some kitchen supplies for company & they were very accommodating.... my only big complaint was the billing it seems to me that they charge very high rates & if you are not aware they get away with it so that's my only suggestion make sure you get charged correctly & get any discounts your entitled to I will stay there again & recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: any room other than the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Nene10465,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and our staff. We truly appreciate you taking the time out of your day to review the property. We always try to keep our rates competitive with all of the other hotels in the area as we are entering our peak season. Let us know if you need anything else.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

There is a real difference between "long term stay" properties and "full service hotels". People live here. I don't mean "live", I mean LIVE. There is a Mom who brings her kids to breakfast every day before taking them to school. I feel like I'm in their kitchen with them each morning.

The rooms are like mini-apartments. Full size oven, cooktops, microwave ovens and residential fridges and freezer combinations. Every (one bedroom) room has a living room, a tiny eating space, a work table, a closeable bedroom door and two TVs. The living room TVs have adapters to make using HDMI, S-Video and composite (red/white/yellow) accessories but when I use HDMI, the screen turns a washed out pink. They also include DVD players which are HDMI capable but connected via composite. Hmm. The bedroom TVs do not have the adapters for using your own accessories, nor have I been able to pull the TVs off the wall far enough to locate any HDMI ports.

Something that is odd is that every bathroom door I've had so far rubs on the floor. Most of the time it's tolerable but in one room, the entire door vibrates and the bottom is all torn up and frayed. They just need to trim half an inch off the bottom and clear it right up, but I can't believe they haven't fixed it yet.

Breakfast is so-so. The pool and grills on the patio look very inviting. Can't wait for it to open soon.

The commute on 95 can be a real bear. At any time from 7 to 7, chances are you're going to get stuck in traffic. There are not too many restaurant options available in the immediate vicinity. You have to go to Moody St for variety and options. The are around the hotel is virtually all hotels and corporate office buildings, Naked Fish being about the only exception.

Room Tip: Room 275 had a horrible rub at the bottom of the bathroom door. I raised the issue to management, le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear EasternPA2:

Thank you so much for all of your feedback regarding our hotel. Regarding the bathroom doors we are investigating shaving off a little in order to make the doors swing easier, however with certain weather changes in New England it is hard to gauge just how much!

Looking forward to your return...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just off of Rt 128, this hotel is in a great location, convenient to towns around Boston (Burlington, Newton, Watertown, Dedham) and it's also very close to the Mass Pike, making it easy to get into Boston or points west. It is right off of the highway, but tucked far enough away, so that noise is not an issue.

The rooms are nicely appointed with a separate living area/work space and kitchen. The bedroom featured a king-size bed and tv and bureau, while the living area had a big L-shaped sofa bed, a tv, and desk. WiFi, parking and breakfast are free!

For the price, you really can't beat this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding our property. We are always striving to be the best we can be and we hope that this committment comes across to all of our guests. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT House Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Boston/Waltham

Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Boston/Waltham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Summerfield Suites is an all-suite hotel that caters to all travelers, and is perfect for large families and the extended stay traveler. We offer spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites featuring the Hyatt Grand Bed, along with LCD HDTVs, DVD player, and a full kitchen. Enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast and our complimentary WiFi. A complimentary evening social featuring hot appetizers and beverages is available Monday through Thursday. Earn Hyatt Gold Passport Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your HYATT House Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT House Boston/Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.