We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT House Boston/Waltham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HYATT House Boston/Waltham to your Saves list
HYATT House Boston/Waltham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
Great River, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check in by pleasant front desk personnel. This was the two-bedroom suite and didn't disappoint. The larger room was handicapped-accessable and the smaller was more than adequate. Both rooms stocked with amenities, large-screen TV's in both bedrooms and common area and a fully equipped kitchen.
Next morning, a full and complete hot complimentary breakfast at 0630. check-out uneventful. Free parking.
Located just off I-95/128. DD close by (if you must). Also Costco, Home Depot (likewise, if you must). Stones throw from Lexington (just up I-95). Going back this week and probably again thereafter. A Very good value for the money.

Room Tip: Hotel does not have its own restaurant but nearby hotels do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are always striving to be the best that we can be. If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach to me. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    90
    39
    17
    5
See reviews for
98
24
11
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Hyatt House before (when it was called Summerfield Suites). The staff is excellent and the maintenance has corrected a few items that were lacking previously. It's a very comfortable hotel and the complimentary breakfast is very good. Fresh scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, etc. The only thing that I'm not crazy about is having the sink outside the bathroom. This is a problem for my husband and me when one goes to bed late and the other gets up early.

Clean, comfortable, nice flatscreen TVs, well-equipped kitchen. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie B, General Manager at HYATT House Boston/Waltham, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look foward in seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything in the suite was clean and seemed to be working properly except for the heat. There is a sign above the heater that explans the heat is motion activated and to please allow 15 minutes or it to get comfortable. Maybe the sensor wasn't working because the room stayed cold all night, not frigid just enough to be uncomfortable even with blankets on. Because of this the bed probably seemed more uncomfortable than it actually is, but it is in fact extremely firm. The linens on the bed were not soft and inviting but felt almost like paper to the touch. Plenty of room for more than two and overall worth another stay but probably would not make it an extended stay, despite all of the ammenities provided in the kitchen.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

this is our 3rd time staying at this hotel, beautiful suite, very clean comfortable bed, with kitchenette. Staff are very helpful, not far from Burlington mall., In the summer you can even barbque outside., A bit far from downtown boston about 25 minutes by car.

Room Tip: All rooms, were good, we stayed this time on the secong floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The good; The layout of the two bedroom each with its own bathroom, the kitchen. Front desk staff were wonderful.
The bad; I booked a handicapped accessible room with roll in shower. That is not what we got but the tub was low enough for my handicapped son to sit on and swing his legs over with my help! My sons room had a strange sound coming from outside, I kept thinking it was a vehicle going by but when I had to lay with him for him to settle I realize it was not vehicles? I was puzzled. The next day I noticed the sound was coming from the where city gas enters the building! kind of scary and annoying glad we were only there one night. The tile in the bathroom had some icky grout and the stove had fingerprints all over the control. I was also taken back when I went to the very small store and was ready to pay with my items on the counter and a cleaning staff person held up her items to show the person who was checking going to check me out as if she was going to cut in front of me which the hotel employee did not go for. It was all rather surprising given the price and we needed rest because we were there for a hospital evaluation.

Room Tip: Don't get the room where the gas enters the building its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Hyatt House Waltham MA from 20 th to 26th Oct 12. It was a fantastic stay with good Bfast and dinners. The front office staff was extremely helpful with my fax and scanning needs.
The room was big and very comfortable.
I would recommend this property for business / leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at almost midnight for our stay with 3 little kids. We had reserved the two bedroom suite. The only one left. Upon arrival, one bedroom absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke and the bathroom almost made us gag. The hotel was supposed to be smoke free. The person(s) who cleaned the room prior to our arrival either must not have inhaled the entire time they were "cleaning", or just not cared. We were offered $50 off for the night and someone would rid the room of odor in the morning. The second time I called the front desk I was told we would get another room in the am. When asked how the odor could not be detected, he said " I don't know what other people smell". He himself was a smoker and smelled of it upon check in.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HYATT House Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Boston/Waltham

Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Waltham
#5 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Boston/Waltham 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Summerfield Suites is an all-suite hotel that caters to all travelers, and is perfect for large families and the extended stay traveler. We offer spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites featuring the Hyatt Grand Bed, along with LCD HDTVs, DVD player, and a full kitchen. Enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast and our complimentary WiFi. A complimentary evening social featuring hot appetizers and beverages is available Monday through Thursday. Earn Hyatt Gold Passport Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HYATT House Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT House Boston/Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.