We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HYATT House Boston/Waltham

Save Saved
You added HYATT House Boston/Waltham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HYATT House Boston/Waltham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Waltham
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice quiet, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

this is our 3rd time staying at this hotel, beautiful suite, very clean comfortable bed, with kitchenette. Staff are very helpful, not far from Burlington mall., In the summer you can even barbque outside., A bit far from downtown boston about 25 minutes by car.

Room Tip: All rooms, were good, we stayed this time on the secong floor, facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    71
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
83
21
9
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The good; The layout of the two bedroom each with its own bathroom, the kitchen. Front desk staff were wonderful.
The bad; I booked a handicapped accessible room with roll in shower. That is not what we got but the tub was low enough for my handicapped son to sit on and swing his legs over with my help! My sons room had a strange sound coming from outside, I kept thinking it was a vehicle going by but when I had to lay with him for him to settle I realize it was not vehicles? I was puzzled. The next day I noticed the sound was coming from the where city gas enters the building! kind of scary and annoying glad we were only there one night. The tile in the bathroom had some icky grout and the stove had fingerprints all over the control. I was also taken back when I went to the very small store and was ready to pay with my items on the counter and a cleaning staff person held up her items to show the person who was checking going to check me out as if she was going to cut in front of me which the hotel employee did not go for. It was all rather surprising given the price and we needed rest because we were there for a hospital evaluation.

Room Tip: Don't get the room where the gas enters the building its noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at Hyatt House Waltham MA from 20 th to 26th Oct 12. It was a fantastic stay with good Bfast and dinners. The front office staff was extremely helpful with my fax and scanning needs.
The room was big and very comfortable.
I would recommend this property for business / leisure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We arrived at almost midnight for our stay with 3 little kids. We had reserved the two bedroom suite. The only one left. Upon arrival, one bedroom absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke and the bathroom almost made us gag. The hotel was supposed to be smoke free. The person(s) who cleaned the room prior to our arrival either must not have inhaled the entire time they were "cleaning", or just not cared. We were offered $50 off for the night and someone would rid the room of odor in the morning. The second time I called the front desk I was told we would get another room in the am. When asked how the odor could not be detected, he said " I don't know what other people smell". He himself was a smoker and smelled of it upon check in.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We booked this hotel during a very busy time in Boston when prices were extremely high to a special event going on in the city. The price was right and it was available at the last minute.
After we reserved our room, we received a very nice e-mail from the staff - not an automated one - a personal one, thanking us for our business and letting us know the names of the managers should we need anything during our stay. I thought that was a very nice touch and we hadn't even arrived yet! When we did arrive, we were much later than we intended (after midnight) due to traffic and a difficult trip. We had called ahead to let the hotel know we would be arriving late and they assured us they would hold the room. Unfortunately, when we went up to our room, there were two double beds not one king as we reserved, but we were honestly too tired to complain and just wanted to go to sleep! But we couldn't! The room was very warm and when we tried to adjust the temperature setting, it was locked. The thermostat appeared to have a plastic lock on it, making it impossible to change the setting. For this, I did call down to the front desk but was only informed where the thermostat was in the room and that there was also a setting for a fan as well. We checked again and it was definitely locked. We decided to just go to bed as we were exhausted! Unfortunately, I did not have a good night sleep at all as the room was just too warm for my comfort (set to 78 on the thermostat.) We dealt with it since we were only staying that one night and checked out in the morning. We barely spent any time at the hotel so it was nice to enjoy the complimentary breakfast they offered with the rate. I did like Hyatt House very much other than the issues we experienced. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room was clean and met our needs .It would be perfect for a family or extended stay. Nice kitchen, spacious room with bedroom in a second room, and a pull-out sofa bed in its own room. The complimentary breakfast, free parking and internet service was appreciated. But I doubt I could ever stay here again unless they allow individual control of the temperature in the rooms. True to the Hyatt name, however, they did try to resolve this problem even after I was already home. I filled out a survey and mentioned the problems we experienced. They contacted me right away and wanted us to know our complete satisfaction was their goal. To make up for it, they gave us extra Hyatt points and said they would be speaking to their "Chief Engineer" about why we were not able to control our heat. They gave us enough points for a free night, so if they resolved this problem, I'd be willing to try them again if we are ever in the Boston area. But only if the problem with the temperature was resolved!

Room Tip: Ask if you can control the room temperature and be sure to have a guarantee for the bed sie you desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is definitely above average for the price. But they need to spend a little money on their maintenance department because the maintenance is very sloppy. i.e missing floor tile in the main elevator, non-functional partition doors and lock in the room, broken toilet seat, torn sheets, etc. Simple and inexpensive stuff to fix and not a huge deal. So it is a pretty nice place, in an excellent location and a reasonable price. But the maintenance is obviously lacking and sloppy. The room was spacious and clean. No real complaints. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For business travel this is the perfect hotel. There is nothing there within walking distance but it has easy access to the I95 and Waltham is a short drive away. These lodgings are more like small apartments than hotel rooms and they are stylish, comfortable and well stocked. The appliances and dishes are clean and new, unlike some suite hotels I've stayed in. There is a good Business Center and guest laundry, the breakfast selection is better than good and the staff are always pleasant and helpful (particularly Janice, who always remembers me). I travel extensively for work and this is one of my favourite places to stay; it kind of feels like coming home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HYATT House Boston/Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Boston/Waltham

Address: 54 Fourth Avenue, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Boston/Waltham 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Summerfield Suites is an all-suite hotel that caters to all travelers, and is perfect for large families and the extended stay traveler. We offer spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites featuring the Hyatt Grand Bed, along with LCD HDTVs, DVD player, and a full kitchen. Enjoy a complimentary full hot breakfast and our complimentary WiFi. A complimentary evening social featuring hot appetizers and beverages is available Monday through Thursday. Earn Hyatt Gold Passport Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your HYATT House Boston/Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Boston/Waltham Hotel Waltham
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Waltham
Summerfield Suites Waltham
Hyatt Waltham
Waltham Hyatt
Waltham Summerfield Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HYATT House Boston/Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.