We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- definite repeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Doubletree Guest Suites Boston/Waltham)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book 2X Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel- definite repeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I actually stayed 2 separate times at this hotel this month and last month. Great lobby and bar. Nice restaurant and the clam chowder is superb served with hot rolls[yummy]-- rooms here are very spacious as they are all suites hence the name Embassy Suites- seems as though the rooms can use some updating but I can't complain and the TVs are all flat screen. Nice pool and gym and I can't forget to mention the FREE hot breakfast made to order and buffet! Yes FREE as in included with your stay :) I have stayed here on 2 separate occasions and will defiantly return!! Great for families and single business types alike.... Over Great hotel!! Oh and the manager is gorgeous whew!! Gorgeous as in handsome-- male)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    206
    56
    25
    9
See reviews for
264
65
17
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall liked our one bedroom corner suite and service very much. Other issues brought rating from 5 down to 4. Suite was spacious and well laid out with good ac/heat, larger bath, good tvs. Beds a little too firm but ok. Pillows soft but ok. Excellent breakfast. Spent 5 nights and did not experience the breakfast crowding others mentioned, although was busy.

Atrium design is the largest drawback. All rooms except corner rooms like ours open onto an 8 story atrium, so if something is going on there you'll hear it, and its like an echo chamber. Avoid rooms over the atrium bar.

Don't like the $13 daily charge for wifi at a $230 room rate. Wifi was free at the nearby Holiday Inn Express at a $90 room rate and that place is ok for a short stay.

Managers reception is worthless. Delete it and cut room rate.

Beautiful pool and spa closed for renovation but no room discount offered. You could use the nearby Westin pool but too inconvenient for me. A few pieces of exercise equipment were available in a small room.

Dinner in hotel restaurant not very good. Once was enough!

In spite of these concerns would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was looking forward to spending time at the pool but it was closed for renovations. I didn't make my reservation via the website so I was very surprised and truly disappointed. I asked for consideration on my bill but nothing was done; another disappointment.
Room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good. Afternoon snacks were truly disappointing; pineapple was the best and not refilled.
I'd stay again without the expectations I had.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The only negative I have to say is that the road to get to the parking lot after getting off HWY 95 is a bit tricky. You turn left but don't get in the far left lane. The hotel is right by HWY 95 and easy to find. Fortunately it's situated so you don't see or hear the freeway from the hotel. Otherwise everything else is great. Friendly staff including the restaurant workers (which I've observed isn't always the case in nice hotels). Room was quiet and comfortable. Bathroom worked fine and had not issues. Check in and check out was quick. Internet connection was good. I'm gold so had it free, it does cost if your not gold or diamond. And a pleasant surprise was that parking is free!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Location was particularly convenient for all the activities that that we had had over the period, using the hotel as a base for extensive travel around the state. The facilities and services were appropriate for our needs

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice structure with large lobby bar and rich breakfast, the restaurant also offers good choice at a reasonable price. The food in the bar is handy and decent.
The price is quite high but the rooms are large, comfortable and well accessorized, like a small 2 rooms apartment.
The air conditioning was far too strong with great energy waste : this place is NOT eco-friendly.
Very good car parking and access but no public transportation.

Green Features: The air conditioning was far too strong with great energy waste : this place is NOT eco-friendly. The towel were changed even if I didn't want to
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Staff had an attitude when checking us in. On our last day, housekeeping started knocking at our door at 8:30am and repeatedly did so till we checked out. We did not feel welcomed; worst experience at a Hilton Hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmbassySuitesWAGM, General Manager at Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you felt in any way unwelcome or rushed by our team. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel or staff, as every guest is very important to us. The next time you are in the area we would love to have you come back and experience the award-winning hospitality we are known for.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham

Address: 550 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Doubletree Guest Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Waltham
#3 Green Hotel in Waltham
#3 Family Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Embassy Suites Boston/Waltham located in Boston’s High-Technology, Pharmaceutical, and Life Sciences Belt and corporate corridor along Route 128 and Highway 95. Our upscale hotel is just 20 minutes to downtown Boston and 25 minutes to Logan International Airport, convenient to Brandeis and Bentley Universities, Wellesley and Regis Colleges. If you’re traveling to Boston on business or vacation, enjoy spacious two-room suites, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a complimentary nightly Manager’s Reception. Plan your business conference, reunion, Bar Mitztvah, or wedding in one of our nine meeting and banquet rooms which can accommodate up to 300 guests. Enlist our experienced catering and meeting staff to plan a memorable event. Our all-suite hotel provides you with more. Enjoy signature omelets at our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary parking, a 24-hour BusinessLink Business Center, indoor heated pool, and 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Doubletree Hotel Boston Waltham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.