We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place all around!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   550 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Doubletree Guest Suites Boston/Waltham)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book 2X Points
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Waltham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Albans, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place all around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. We visted MA for my grandsons baptism. I searched on line, and found this place. To my surprise, this is a gem! The room was beautiful and spacious, the bathroom spotless and very modern, and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. There was also a living room, which turned out to be a great feature, as my son and the baby came to visit, as the Mommie was not feeling well. The room had enough space for 5 adults, and one baby with accessories! There was a small refrigerator, microwave, that was laid out very nicely. The rooms overlook the court yard. There was a party going on which we could see over the railing, but they were having a great time, and didn't bother us at all. The room was very reasonably priced, free parking, which was something I was interested in, along with breakfast to order included. There was a complete aray of breakfast foods, both hot and cold. We will definately stay at this hotel the next time we are in the Boston area. Don't overlook this hotel, it is wonderful!!

Room Tip: Open party space, might be an issue for families with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    192
    50
    23
    8
See reviews for
248
57
17
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was in the area dropping my little sister off for school and we stayed here as we often do. This was the last place my mom stayed before she passed and its always a good place and memory for us. My mom absolutely loved this hotel. At the time she couldnt walk and someone got a wheelchair for her and brought her to the room and carried her bags; way above my expectations and i didnt think that people were that caring. They are always friendly and smiling. The breakfast and evening reception are great. i dont have one bad or negtive thing to say. The beds are comfortable and i can always get a good night sleep. The anemities are great and smell so good. I use the lotion at work and people are always complimenting me. This is a really exceptional hotel and i Love it!

Room Tip: I had gotten a 2 room suite and have had a corner room and they were both great very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived on December 27th after traveling through winter storm for 2 days from NC to a welcoming clean 2 room suite. We enjoyed the complimentary drinks in the lobby as well as the snacks.The suite was spacious with nicely furnished sitting area and large desk for computer work. We were able to get a good rate at approx.105$ per night with pay in advance through hotels.com. It was a great deal considering the holiday season and expensive Boston area and with breakfast included! The line for the cooked-to-order omeletes was about 45 mins but it was well worth it. The chefs were friendly despite the demanding crowd and delivered beautiful omelets under crazy conditions; I would recommend a ticket system for the sake of the chefs who endured wild requests from a very hungry crowd.There are plenty of extras for breakfast including potatoes, fresh fruits, and they are constantly bringing in fresh coffee at the coffee station. Overall, the kitchen staff was very attentive given the huge influx of travelers for the holiday. We used the weight room, which was very clean and had TV stations for each machine. It was small, but I think perfect as most people were enjoying the pool, which was impressive. For a family, the breakfast is more of a brunch, and will help with the expense as there really is no need for lunch.There is also a nice small kitchen area with sink, refrigerator, and microwave so I would advise bringing snacks as well as microwavable small meals. The decor of the lobby is nice, and 6 inches of snow, the way these hotels are designed, makes you feel as if you are on vacation somewhere warm. Exceptional value and you can not beat the great chefs!

Room Tip: Choose second floor for easier access to pool, exercise room, and laundry room if you have kids. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great value for a location 15 minutes outside the Boston area. Good Access to highways. 2 room suite King bed was very comfortable. Bartenders were extremely nice! Excellent complimentary breakfast! Saw families there as well. Has a complimentary manager's reception. They had fruit punch out for the crowd, you must ask the bartenders for the other complimentary drinks such as soda and juice if you don't want fruit punch. Massachusetts law does not all hotels to give complimentary alcoholic drinks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecituct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The location is great for a quick drive into Boston, and for the price, the facility is nice. I traveled with children, and there was plenty of space in our suite and around the hotel, so they did not feel trapped. However, on our one-night stay, there did not seem to be enough staff to handle all the guests. The check-in line was very long with only one person at the front desk, the hot tub was filthy and the pool area was always out of towels (despite some angry guests calling the front desk several times), and the breakfast line was over twenty deep because only one person was cooking omelets. I suspect this experience may be unusual because we traveled during the holidays, but it was slightly disappointing nonetheless. I would stay here again if I were traveling during off-peak dates.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear J_Oldstyle,

Thank you very much for posting your review! I am very glad to read you found our facility in a convenient location in addition to having ample space for you and your family in our two-room suites. I do apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced as a result of our staffing at the time of you stay. I will certainly review our staffing coverage to ensure this will not happen again in the future. I will also personally review the cleanliness of our pool area with my Housekeeping and Maintenance team and communicate your valuable input with our entire team so that all of guests have a most pleasant experience. Should I be albe to assist you further, please do not hesitate to contact me via the main hotel phone number.
Best Regards,
Robert Weitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A typical Embassy Suite property located in suburban Boston. Great price using AAA discount. Breakfast is hard to beat. The separation of living and sleeping space is a model to be commended. Clean room, well lite atrium and helpful staff were as expected. Bar, pool, exercise room and business center not used. Reward credit towards internet, restaurant or bar service could be earned by forsaking room servicing. No problem extending our stay because of weather. Excellent accessibility to I-95 and the Mass Pike. For us, our destination was nearby Watertown, able to take back roads to get where we needed to go within minutes. Embassy Suites are hard to beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Convenient location, excellent facilities and services but one problem that the hotel should fix: when the hotel is quite full, the breakfast layout and service just des't work. They need more help and should redesign the buffet line so that there is direct access to the prepared hot food. The current arrangement makes for long lines as people wait in the same line for both cooked-to-order and precooked foods,

This hotels does everything else well and this one problem should be an easy fix

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham

Address: 550 Winter Street, Waltham, MA 02451 (Formerly Doubletree Guest Suites Boston/Waltham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Waltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waltham
#2 Business Hotel in Waltham
#3 Green Hotel in Waltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Embassy Suites Boston/Waltham located in Boston’s High-Technology, Pharmaceutical, and Life Sciences Belt and corporate corridor along Route 128 and Highway 95. Our upscale hotel is just 20 minutes to downtown Boston and 25 minutes to Logan International Airport, convenient to Brandeis and Bentley Universities, Wellesley and Regis Colleges. If you’re traveling to Boston on business or vacation, enjoy spacious two-room suites, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and a complimentary nightly Manager’s Reception. Plan your business conference, reunion, Bar Mitztvah, or wedding in one of our nine meeting and banquet rooms which can accommodate up to 300 guests. Enlist our experienced catering and meeting staff to plan a memorable event. Our all-suite hotel provides you with more. Enjoy signature omelets at our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary parking, a 24-hour BusinessLink Business Center, indoor heated pool, and 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham Hotel Waltham
Doubletree Hotel Boston Waltham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Boston / Waltham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.