We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jalapeno's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jalapeno's
960 Main St, Walpole, MA 02081
(508) 660-8466
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jalapeno's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 58 restaurants in Walpole
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 27
Mansfield, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I were here once. It was good. My husband likes it better than I do. I have a favorite Mexican Restaurant and that is the one I would rather go to, and my husband has to go where I want to go, because I am spoiled.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    7
    12
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston,MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Jalapenos serves authentic Mexican food, delicious chips salsa and guacamole, and excellent margaritas. The service is attentive and the menu offers a great variety of true Mexican dishes. Never have enough room for dessert, but the choices sound delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seriously?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

No, don't try the mole. It's mediocre. The guac needs some kick. There's nothing on the menu that stands out except the prices. For a real kick in the head, try the margaritas and then check your wallet at the door. We had two each, party of four, and they took our first born child as payment. Go to Tu Y Yo in Needham if you want a truly excellent mexican food experience. Even the menus there kick Jalapenos gluteus maximus. Maybe the diners of Walpole are simply used to hinterland fare. What can you expect of a town that has Country Kitchen (and five, count'em, five Dunky's) and it's newest place to open is a coffee shop? Oh the caffeinity of it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Real Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Not a faux Mexican chain or a Tex-Mex recreation in MA. The owner is a Cancun native and a restauranteur in the US for over 20 years. He lives in Walpole and knows everyone. Really good fresh salsas. Try the mole sauce for a treat. Top shelf tequila line and excellent Margaritas.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holy Guacamole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Awesome guacamole! Shrimp are big, juicy, and very tasty. Mole sauce is pretty darn good. The typical mexican dishes are very good but found carne asada and pork carnitas to have a "steamed or baked texture" and the honey mustard shrimp to be much too sweet. Jalepeno poppers were better than expected.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jalapeno's also viewed

 

Been to Jalapeno's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jalapeno's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.