We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Grill

Blue Moon Grill
955 Main Street, Wakefield, MA 01880
781-245-4470
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 68 restaurants in Wakefield
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

From reading other reviews from this site and Yelp we went to grab some breakfast in the morning before heading to Salem for a day of fun. The place is really small, like only 6-8 tables. When we got there we had to give our name and we waited outside because they is no room inside. I'm cool with that. What I'm not cool with is waiting 45 minutes to sit while other people were being seated before us that arrived after us. We had 4 people in our party and they didn't have a lot of spots for 4 people. Parties of 2 and 3 were coming in well after us and eating, then leaving while we were still outside. They refused to move a table to let us sit. It was like we were being punished for having 4 people. I would've went somewhere else but there wasn't really anywhere else close by. Once we got in the food was pretty good, nothing great but it was good and prices were ok. My big problem with this place is that it is pretty poorly run. You can almost feel that they wanted you to eat and get the hell out so they can feed the people outsde waiting. It is a very small place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    22
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to have breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This small but cozy breakfast place in Wakefield provides great food for relatively little money. Both the banana nutella rosted walnut crepe and the hearty mediterranean crepes were simply delicious. Moreover, the portions were large. The service was quick, attentive and friendly. The apparently large number of regular customers that were welcomed by one of the owners suggest that they consistently deliver good quality. One of the best breakfast places I have come across.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Only open for breakfast and lunch, the Blue Moon is deservedly very popular with a line out the door very often. No wonder! The welcome is so warm and friendly, the food so well prepared and tasty, the restaurant itself sparkling clean and bright. It's just a delightful way to start the day or enjoy a well-priced lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Make sure you go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had to catch a flight to the airport and only had 1/2hr (on a weekend day), service was very quick, had the strawberry/banana pancakes and the rest of the family had the fruit granola yogurt bowls. Portions were huge, none of us could finish and then we had to run. Very delicious food and the price was right. Thanks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Well hidden breakfast/brunch location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It's a very small place, and it can get very crowded on Sunday around lunch time; but it's worth visiting. Pancakes (peach ones especially, if you find them) are excellent; french toasts are good, but only if you like them very sweet and with a strong cinnamon flavor; eggs (served in all possible ways) are average. Overall, good quality and good value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Moon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.