We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't give off the commuter rail for this one.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Jag's

Cafe Jag's
33 Tuttle St, Wakefield, MA 01880-2732
781-246-5247
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 71 Restaurants in Wakefield
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Albion Street
Transit: Take the commuter rail (Purple Line) to the Wakefield Stop. Cafe Jag"s is located right at the Train Depot at 33 Tuttle Street.
hebron maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Don't give off the commuter rail for this one.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Just steps from wakefield stop on the commuter rail. Just keep on going to Reading. Not worth the price. They just never got it right. It is a shame Wakefield is a great town. Service was not good food was average price was Boston prices.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gone!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Restaurant struggled from the beginning. Good food to a point. Could not generate the clientel. Suffered as a result. Population density not an issue, just marketing and slow ramp up. Restaurant closed and a new Oyster and Steak place has taken over... Jury out on it...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big prices for small servings!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This was our first time and we were not impressed. We went there on a recommendation and also with a dinner Groupon. It's somewhat small and very dark inside. We were seated on the right, near the kitchen entrance. Though our groupon was for appetizer(up to $13)/entree(up to $25)/dessert(up to $8), we had to pay an 'upcharge' for the specials.-(though, nowhere on the coupon did it say that) No problem, because we really wanted to try the pan seared scallops. So for a $10 fee, (the special was $24) we expected something wonderful. (at least worth the $34 charge) What was served were 5-yes, that's all-just 5 scallops, along with a handful of burnt potatoes (somewhat unedible). The scallops were hardly 'pan-seared', and they were rubbery. Our crabcake appetizers were also burnt, they literally were black on both sides. The chicken parm was basically a plate of pasta with a small piece of dry chicken. Sauce was bland, somewhat starchy. Service was just okay. The prices were high compared to the quality and quantity received. We've been to MUCH better restaurants. I would not recommend Cafe Jag's, even if there was a coupon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Refreshing change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Jag's has a lovely menu for both dinner and brunch. The wines are a nice selection, and the menu is creative. They offer foods you'd be familiar with as well as twists on old favorites and some original ideas. The staff seems to be a little out of touch with the menu, but very nice. It's definitely family-friendly and could definitely be date night, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masachusett
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cafe Jags”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Dinners were good, early birds had wonderful choices and change with the season.
Friendly staff.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Jag's also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Jag's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Jag's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.