We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Asian food we had on East Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Wok

Copper Wok
9 Main Street, Inside Mansion House, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
+1 508-693-3416
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Island inspired Asian cuisine featuring some of the Island's freshest sushi along with a clean, island take on traditional Chinese dishes.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Asian food we had on East Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love Asian food and found this place. It is excellent! Authentic Asian food with a great atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excited to have Pan Asian On Island!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Walked in on a Saturday night in August at 7:00 and only waited a few minutes to be seated. That in itself is a delight! The newly renovated restaurant is beautiful. In what used to be the old Zephyrus space, the owner of Sharkeys and MV Chowder company, has created a wonderful atmosphere. Many restaurant items are gluten free or can be made gluten free. The fried rice with chinese sausage, the dumplings and the sushi did not disappoint. Our server was great and attentive without being pushy and when asked for recommendations he was honest and helped with our ordering. The bar was packed and there was a great vibe in the whole room. Remember no hard liquor in VH...but the menu had many sake cocktails that looked tasty. We will be back, especially in down season when choices on island are limited.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous on the Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

From the moment we walked in we knew it was a happy place. Hostess and wait staff smiled and were fun. Place was well lit, new decor lovely. Waitress very sweet and gracious. She explained menu well. We had best crab ragoons and double egg rolls, crisp and delicious. We tried the crab, asparagus, cucumber salad and Chinese pork sliders, a modern twist, superb. We ended with cream brûlée with fruit, a perfect ending. The. Waitress replaced the salad because she forgot I asked for something to be left out. Again, as gracious as can be. We were not rushed at all and had a delightful experience. Lots of restaurants could take lessons from the Copper Wok. I hope they are there a long time. Marty C

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Unpretentious (Average) Asian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

It's nice to have a sit-down Asian restaurant in Vineyard Haven, a vacation town where sketchy take-out has been the only Far East option for many years. The Copper Wok replaces a chi-chi joint with overpriced food and terrible service, and on both of those counts this is an improvement. The menu looks expansive, and there are a lot of sushi options, but the entrees are rather bland and predictable. The kitchen makes good use of fresh vegetables and seafood, but the sauces lack distinction. Overall, this is average, unpretentious Asian at Vineyard prices. We had lunch one day—a 30-minute wait is the norm during the season—and ordered take-out a few nights later. We are glad the CW is here and hope that it has more than the usual restaurant half-life in Martha's culinary melt-down pot.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Try the Calamari!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants in Vineyard Haven. The calamari is one of the best I have had, it did not have a huge amount of batter and was not greasy. It also had a bit of a kick. There is a good variety on the menu including sushi. The restaurant is not very big, be prepared to wait to get a table but it is worth it.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Wok also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Copper Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.