We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artcliff Diner

Artcliff Diner
39 Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-2600
508-693-1224
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Flemington, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Creative menu & quality food at this always fun spot! Tends to be a little noisy and we have always had to wait for breakfast between 9:30 and 10:30am...but it is worth it! Seasonal menu and the daily blackboard offerings never dissappoint...this is a yearly stop for us for breakfast at least twice when we visit MV.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    48
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast but not "amazing"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Artcliff Diner deserves its reputation as a place with excellent breakfast dishes. We visited in the off-season and had no wait. However, I don't know if its amazing enough to wait an hour for a table during the high season. The corned beef hash and eggs were quite good and the portion was more than generous. The dried cherry scone was delicious as well. I found the prices to be fair given the portion size. On the negative side, our server was courteous at best - not necessarily warm or welcoming. I think she was more interested in her smartphone than waiting tables that morning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“We never get tired of this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We've been vacationing at Martha's Vineyard for years and Art Cliff Diner is always a must. It caters to all kinds and the one thing is common is great breakfast food, excellent service and friendly staff. The blueberry pancakes are scrumptous and the real maple syrup is worth the extra charge. Our favorite place on the Vineyard.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing, to say the least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We moved to the island in February and have been successfully trying 'Island Recommended' restaurants every week since. We heard so many great reviews about Artcliff (as you can see below) and were so excited to try it this morning.

That was until we were greeted at the door. No smiles, just a blank stare and rude shuffling of people in and out of the restaurant. And then there was the food. Living on this island, you pay more. But when I pay $10 for eggs, home fries, and toast - I expect it to be somewhat tasty AND warm when it gets to my table. My fiance and I had extremely cold/bland food. Such a disappointment after such the hype :/

Poor, unfriendly service that didn't fill our water cups, smile, or thank us for visiting after practically throwing the check on our table was just the topper to an awful restaurant experience.

I don't endorse the hype over this restaurant, and the looks on everyone else faces this morning said the same. (we'll be sticking with Mocha Motts - they serve decently flavored food with a smile)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Delicious but hectice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was always my favorite breakfast on the island but my last 2 visits here were just too hectic to fully enjoy. I don't mind waiting for good food but this tiny restaurant is so packed full of chairs, tables and warm bodies that it negates a piece of what makes this place so desirable: it's delicious food! Our service was pretty horrible this summer with an overly grumpy hostess and a server who couldn't seem to get back to our table to refill our coffee (m husband had to ask 3 times for a refill). This year it just felt like they wanted you out of the there as soon as possible. Hopefully they figure out how to balance being busy while also allowing for a dining experience for customers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artcliff Diner also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Artcliff Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artcliff Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.