We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can be said? Iconic and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dog Bakery Cafe

Black Dog Bakery Cafe
509 State Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5532
508-696-8190
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bakeries
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What can be said? Iconic and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

No trip to the Vineyard can be complete without a trip to the Black Dog, or to your favorite location of same. Many enjoy the downtown original, with its campus and several stores. Others love the Edgartown location. For me, it's the Vineyard Haven location, as you travel toward Maconikey Beach. No store, just coffee and pastries (and great sandwiches). But I digress. This review is not about the shopping, but the bakery. Perfection.

Flaky pie crusts, tender doughs, light as air breads, cookies from heaven, and chocolate. There is nothing you could want not in these cases.

Yes, the other Black Dogs have the experience, the clothes, the shopping. But this Black Dog is all about the pastries. Definitely stop by on you way somewhere for iced coffee and a cookie. Yum!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington , Pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Yummy baked goods and good breakfast for on the go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband really enjoyed his breakfast burrito and my smoked salmon bagel was delicious. The coffee was very good, too. Wish we could have sampled the baked goods because they all looked fabulous. Good service as well.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast sandwiches before hitting the ferry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Perfectly located right next to the ferry terminal, the Black Dog made a great Woofer sandwich (bacon, egg & cheese) that really hit the spot before our ferry ride.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick and Easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great selection. Tasty food. Quick and simple breakfast or lunch stop or for a snack while shopping for all that Black Dog gear.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sandwiches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful but the sandwiches were average. We found they used too much dressing which overwhelmed the chicken in the sandwiches.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Bakery Cafe also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Dog Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dog Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.