We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dog Tavern

Black Dog Tavern
Vineyard Haven Harbor, 21 Beach Street Ext, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5626
508 693 9223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ok place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place used to have good chowder, not any more unfortunately. I had Pancakes and how can you screw up pancakes!!
Prices are reasonable for the lunch menu, overpriced for the dinner menu tho. Their open site kitchen does not entice appetite

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    100
    44
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good place to grab a coffee to go”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

its a really good place to grab and coffee and a snack to go . great outdoor seating near the old railway wagon !.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
“Go for the beachfront views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews saying that this place is always packed, we were really lucky to walk straight in get a seat by the window! We really liked the vibe here - fun and friendly. The best thing about the tavern was the view... You're literally on the beachfront. That said, the food was good and reasonably priced, $40 for a main course each and drinks including the tip. My only complaint was how long we had to wait for our food... It cut into the time we had to explore Vineyard Haven before catching the boat back to the mainland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, FL
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Rich, Thick Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The menu had many great looking choices but we just had a mug of the clam chowder and a beer for a quick lunch. It was delicious. Very chunky with clams and potatoes.

We plan to return for breakfast as they offer many omelettes and benedicts.

It was a quiet mid-week afternoon on a cool April day, but the staff was warm and welcoming. As was the fire.Great views of the harbor, too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast/lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was actually very very surprised with how good the food was at this place. The prices are about average but they give generous portions. I recommend the White Russian pancakes for a breakfast/lunch.:)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Tavern also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dog Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.