We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast/lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Dog Tavern

Black Dog Tavern
Vineyard Haven Harbor, 21 Beach Street Ext, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568-5626
508 693 9223
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Tampa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast/lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was actually very very surprised with how good the food was at this place. The prices are about average but they give generous portions. I recommend the White Russian pancakes for a breakfast/lunch.:)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    100
    44
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Forest, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Midwesterners taking in the Vineyard - dine at nostalgic Black Dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We felt our first trip to the Vineyard warranted a visit to the famed Black Dog Tavern. A family of four adults traveling in off season over Easter holiday weekend.

We immediately liked the location, the atmosphere, and the fact that there were tables available for our hungry tummies to dine right away! The menu and drink selections were very good! We enjoyed the fresh battered Cod dinner, a Cod sandwich, Eggs Benedict over hash, all of which were very good. The homemade Tartar sauce and Cole Slaw were very pleasing. I particularly liked the fact that you could really taste the freshness and flavor of the fish because it wasn't overpowered with too much breading or that greasy fried taste.

Our service was good, and our food arrived hot, fresh and delicious.

I give the Black Dog a solid 4 out of 5. Worth going to again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaticket, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Black Dog”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A little over rated , limited menu not such great service. I was quite disappointed and so was my husband. We come over in our boat and have tried breakfast and lunch and was not impressed, The do have a good bakery.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Food with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Cute little restaurant with nice view of harbor at Vineyard Haven. Good menu selection. Had the fish sandwich and it was excellent. Service was good, too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast and cookbook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The breakfasts are great.Folks compare it with Art Cliff or Linda Jeans but day in day out Black Dog breakfast is great. Oh and we use their cookbook all the time. One of the best seafood cookbooks going. Never, I repeat never found a bad recipe in it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Dog Tavern also viewed

Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Black Dog Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Dog Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.