We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Inn but beware of room location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Save Saved
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mansion House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute Inn but beware of room location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Overall the Inn was clean and cute. The staff is friendly and the location is good. Don't miss the 4th floor desk for a relaxing view of Vineyard Haven. However....We were given room 154 and it's the first room near the spa. The breakfast room shares a wall with it and every morning at 6am we were woken up by banging in the breakfast room. Interestingly enough the Chinese restaurant adjoined to the hotel also seemed to vent into our room. From 7pm to 10pm all you smell is cooking oil. There is a small patio but if we opened the door for fresh air the sound of bustling trucks and traffic drown out the TV that we were trying to watch. Lastly I am very allergic to most animals and apparently we got one of the pet friendly rooms. I asked to switch because my eyes were itching but the front desk said there were no more double rooms:/ Too bad we had bad luck with the room because the rest of the place looked nice. I paid $110 plus tip for a massage at the hotel spa. The massage felt good but the facility was not fancy at all so don't go to the spa if you need a ritzy environment.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    83
    25
    15
    18
See reviews for
77
196
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We love the mansion house. This was our second time staying there, and we had a blast.
Jay and the rest of the desk staff were so helpful & accommodating, and we love that we could wake up in the morning and work out. Their treadmills have huge personal screens and you can watch tv or play games (mahjong, connect 4, solitare) -- awesome, right?
They have beach chairs and towels for guests to sign out, which was lovely since we spent a good amount of time lounging in the sand.
The rooms are quite spacious and the bathrooms have large showers with great water pressure. The bath products they supply you with in the rooms are clean and fresh smelling. Comfy robes to wrap yourself in while lounging in your room. And the place is CLEAN!
We like the VH location; you can drive / cab (or bike if you're ambitious and in shape) to Edgartown or Aquinnah.
We will definitely stay here when we go back to the vineyard!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel was spotless and staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is great as the hotel is within walking distance of the ferry, bus, and multiple restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable but my husband and I both found the pillows to be uncomfortable. Not a big deal, just personal preference. The included breakfast was a continental breakfast with a wide variety of foods to choose from. My husband went down to get our breakfast each day and brought back chobani yoghurt, fruit, granola, muffins, breads, juices, and coffee. The elevator was out of order while we were there and that was tough as we were on the third floor and I am 7 months pregnant. The staff was very apologetic however and left a bottle of champagne in our room for the inconvenience. We appreciated the gesture, just wish I could have had some! These things happen though, not a big deal. Again, the staff were all wonderful and this made our stay even better!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Mansion House is a great destination if you're heading to the Vineyard.

Staff were unbelievably welcoming, courteous and helpful. The hotel was beautiful, clean and in a great location, less than 5 minute walk from the ferry.

Would stay there again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Mansion House is located in Vineyard Haven which tends to be a little quieter than Oak Bluffs or Edgartown which was to our liking. The hotel is located right on Main Street a short walk from the ferry and bus stop (Martha's Vineyard has a good public transit system).

Our room was nicely appointed with a small balcony overlooking Main Street. There are rooms with harbor views too. Our room looked like it had been painted last week and everything about the hotel was spotless and well maintained.

The staff is friendly and efficient. There is an Asian restaurant (Copper Wok) connected to the hotel which had very good food.

Be sure to check out the view of the harbor from the roof deck. The roof deck is large with lots of deck furniture.

All in all it was a delightful weekend in June. We highly recommend it and we are sure to return.

Room Tip: There are harbor view rooms and Main Street view rooms. We had a view of Main Street. It was quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandergrift, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The mansion itself is beautiful and the rooms are nice. I, however, would most likely not stay here again. You are told you can't have drinks in your room (even water!)..unless of course you buy their water/beverages. The hotel is also busy with all the classes that are there. If you want to use the pool/hot tub, you have to work around the classes. There are constantly people going in and our of the hotel because of the classes as well. Vineyard Haven is not a good shopping or walking around spot. Oaks Bluff is where we spent 90% of our awake time at the Vineyard. It's beautiful right by the ocean, the houses are breath taking and there are so many shops/places to eat. The people in Oaks Bluff are so much nicer. When I arrived at the mansion, I hated Martha's Vineyard at first. People outside are rude and no one in the hotel will take an effort to hold a door for you when they see you have a lot of luggage. IF you do decide to stay at the Mansion House, do not buy in to the hype about Mocha Motts. Their coffee is gross. Walk down the street a little ways to Black Dog. Their coffee is awesome and I still get a craving for their blueberry muffins!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Guests often bring the beverage of their choice from home or local package stores. Many guest rooms have water view balconies with tables & chairs. Guests frequently enjoy a drink while watching the harbor. The wrap around Cupola deck with views of the harbor, tables, chairs, lemonade, ice and glasses is also there for relaxation. We are sorry that the guests above heard differently. The Front Desk staff usually does a better job.
The magic of Martha’s Vineyard is that each town is so different. Some say Edgartown is “preppy”, Oak Bluffs is “funky”, Vineyard Haven “Harbor & New Englandy” while up- Island is “pastoral”. Inn guests can easily enjoy the best of them all. All available from the Inn’s front door!
Guests also often take advantage of the pool, sauna, hot tub, steam and over 20 Health Club classes that are offered free to all Inn guests. For many guests, that is a wonderful addition to their Vineyard vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I are very glad we chose this hotel for our stay on Martha's Vineyard. It is a 5 min from the ferry, easy to find too, close to the best coffee shop on the island.
Our room was great, had a fireplace (which we didn't use, since it was warm), a separate sitting room, fridge with coffee making facilities. Small balcony and views of the ferry terminal. It is not on the water front but close. Continental breakfast is good too.
Nice gym and great pool! We will definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a view, we were on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.