We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Mansion House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ashburn, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My 82 year old mother, sister and I spent a few days at the Mansion house. They were incredibly friendly and helpful. We felt at home! Loved our suite and location. We will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Beautiful suite! Great views of the water.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recyle bins but didn't spend much more time focused on this. Just loved the charm of the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    97
    28
    15
    20
See reviews for
88
223
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our first trip to The Vineyard and the Hotel and its Staff made this such a great vacation. As it was off season (late April) we put the car on the Ferry and hoped there would be parking. We were(un) fortunate in that as my wife has accessibility issues we had a badge that enabled us to park. However even so we could not always get close to the hotel. For anyone else I would suggest leaving your car in the facility on the Mainland and then using public transport which was widely available.
We had an accessible room and it was so clean and fresh with lots of space and a decent terrace over the street. There was no noise at all even when ferries were unloading. I used the on site facilities such as the Gym which was well equipped and even though the hotel was busy I had no problem finding equipment to use.
The staff at reception were really helpful in terms of giving advice for trips to make and where to go to eat. It was very difficult to fault this place if you have the chance, Stay.
I did in the Copper Wok which is joined onto the Hotel and it was excellent and I'll review it under its name. My only problem with the area was the impossibility of finding somewhere to drink alcohol other than with a meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We planned a two day island getaway for friends visiting from England. It was just a perfect retreat.
Left our car in Woods Hole at the transient parking lot, then took the ferry to Vineyard Haven. We ate our lunch from "The Pie in the Sky " sandwich shop while on the ferry. Arriving on Martha's vineyard it was a short walk to the Mansion House, which is located in downtown Vineyard Haven with views of the harbor on one side. It was convent to local transportation and some good resturants. The hotel was just lovely, our room was on the downtown side however there was very little noise from the street and our English friends had a harbor view room. The rooms looked as if they had been freely painted, very clean, great towels and bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. In the morning a continental breakfast was available with hard boiled eggs, fresh coffee, fruit and sweets. The staff were friendly and efficient.
Tuesday evening, we had dinner in the Asian restaurant located in the hotel. We stayed for two days and it felt as if it were longer, so relaxing we didn't use the spa, however it was available to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Once per year, i head over to the Vineyard for a couple of days just before "the season" begins. On each visit, I have stayed at The Mansion House. I return to it because it provides excellent services, provided by wonderful staff, is an easy in and out (just a short walk from and to ferry), and now has a very good new restaurant next door as well. Additionally, it's location is accessible to multiple forms of transportation. As for pricing - I think it is reasonable given when i go - but that is a very personal decision so you can make your own decision on price:-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergennes, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Who would have thought that a weekend with 3 sets of parents and 3 sets of kids could be blissful? Mansion House exceeded my expectations in every way.
The rooms were charming and so well thought out. The decor, the amenities..in all the room types were wonderful. Clean, fresh, and comfortable. My kids were so taken with the trundle bed. Great use of space. The continental breakfast was perfect. The staff were all so friendly and professional. Obviously committed to their craft and providing an exceptional experience for their guests. Wouldn't want to be there in the summertime but off season will bring me back again and again.

Room Tip: they are all great. bottom floor has sweet little terraces, great for people watching and enjoying t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Mansion House for two days in April during school vacation. It could not have been more perfect! We had arrived early and were graciously allowed to check in early. The front desk staff were very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Our room was gorgeous, felt like a beach cottage. The restaurant, the Copper Wok, was very good! We would definitely recommend the Mansion House and will visit again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We came here for a few days in April 2014. It was a great experience. The hotel room was exceptional. We loved the hardwood floors and the decor. The little alcove in our room was a great addition. Since we have kids, it allowed us to be able to stay up while we put the kids to bed.

The grab and go breakfast was really nice. They had a nice selection of cakes, fruit, cheese and crackers, coffee, tea and juices.

The hotel has a really nice balance of the old feel with a modern twist. The gym is really nice and they have a beautiful indoor pool that we enjoyed very much. I wished the lighting in the pool was a bit nicer but it was clean.

There is a beautiful roof deck on top of this hotel called a cupola. It was a little chilly while we were there but in the summer, I bet it's amazing.

The location is really nice. It is on the main street in Vineyard Haven with lots of cute shops. We were able to take a quick walk to the bus stop to go to Oak Bluffs and Edgartown. We went back and forth with ease. If you have a car, the do have parking too.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.