We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Save Saved
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
Mansion House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cozy room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The standard room is cozy but small. Very clean and nicely appointed. Excellent front desk staff. There is a very nice roof patio with great views. An excellent full breakfast is included just off the lobby. Their dining room is also quite good for dinner but they do not have a full bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    61
    23
    14
    16
See reviews for
52
149
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood NJ
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Mansion House was a great experience. Helpful staff, clean, beautiful rooms. Health club was excellent. Room ideal. Would have preferred a room overlooking Harbor. Location was great.
I will stay there again on next visit to NV. Parking was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff and accommodations were excellent, the staff went above and beyond their expected duties. The spa was all it was advertised to be and more, everything was top notch and working. The rooftop was a gem that should not be missed. We are already planning another off season getaway here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Mansion House. I would highly recommended it! I give it a 10 out of 10 rating. The front desk staff is awesome. The Mansion House is immaculate. Rooms are lovely. We travel with our 10 year old Weimaraner. We were so glad that the Mansion House is Pet-Friendly. Nice breakfast every morning in the library. Beautiful indoor pool and hot tub.
We have a handicapped 26 year old son. Although he is able to walk slowly, parking is not too close to the hotel. If I could make a suggestion , if at all possible, maybe get a designated handicapped parking space or two specifically for Mansion House guests. We had to work it so that one of us got dropped off in front of the hotel with our son while the other went to park the car. The lots are not close if you have difficulty walking.Otherwise....we had an absolutely wonderful time in the Vineyard!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our first trip to the Vineyard and this hotel was recommended by a friend. The town of Vineyard Haven was great and a little less crowded than oak bluffs and edgartown. The mansion House was very nice. We had a room on the 4th floor with a small view of the water and a tiny but cute balcony. The room was clean, nice and comfortable. The hotel also has a very nice workout facility and does not charge extra for its use. There is also a cupola on the top floor with great views. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were some really good restaurants within walking distance. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Guest reviews are really
important to us. Everyone who works at Mansion House appreciates that every
moment of a Vineyard vacation counts and that our job is to make sure our
guests are more than comfortable. When something is wrong, we use all our
resources to make it right. During the last two weeks, the weather has been
unusually hot, and reading great TripAdvisor reviews, is our equivalent to
a day at the beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is our 4th year staying at the Mansion House and something we look forward to each summer. The hotel is lovely, we requested a room we had in the past and were delighted that our request was honored. A little disappointed the restaurant that served breakfast was no longer open but the Mansion House has done a nice job in supplying a continental type breakfast in a first floor sitting room. We have always found the staff very friendly, capable and more than happy to help in any way. Already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have been back to the Mansion House on many occasions, and it retains a high level of service, quality, and convenience.
The desk staff and very friendly, and helpful.
The location and parking facility excellent.
The Gym is first class

The only requests we would have would be that the showers be given a re-vamp to improve their effectiveness, and perhaps the location of a burner chimney be re-thought. It was a problem at certain times, and prevented comfortable access to the balcony.

Room Tip: Go as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven
Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mansion House 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.