We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Save Saved
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mansion House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vineyard Haven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Marblehead, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just returned from a 2 night stay at the Mansion House with a vintage Porsche club I am involved with. I plan two trips a year for our group and have done so for the past 12 years. The Mansion House is a home run. The venue itself is in extremely nice condition. The staff was extraordinary. We ate both nights (21 of us) in their resturant Zepherus, and the meals and service was outstanding. In all we booked 12 rooms for our group stay, and everyone in the group was delighted with the venue. Plus they have an incredible roof deck overlooking Vineyard Haven harbor, where we had a sunset cocktail party one night.
The number of really outstanding locations for a medium size touring group in New England are getting harder to find, especially when you look at location, condition of the venue, quality of the food, and helpfulness of the staff. The Mansion House excels in all areas.

Room Tip: Any room facing Vineyard Haven harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    71
    24
    15
    18
See reviews for
64
173
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was our second time staying at the Mansion House in Vineyard Haven. We have stayed at other places on MV and this is our favorite. The rooms very clean, cheerful and very comfortable! The staff could not have been more friendly and eager to please. We stayed for a week and one evening had leftovers from one of our favorite restaurants. Having a small kitchenette in our room and the staff providing us with plates and silverware, my husband and I were able to have a cozy dinner in our room in front of the excellent HD flat screen TV. There was a balcony we could sit on and get fresh air in our room. The full breakfast is included and is in the excellent restaurant, Zephrus that is connected to the hotel. The hotel has everything you need and is right on Main St. with the many shops. It is easy to get to the other towns on MV.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Orange, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Mansion House Inn has a great location, near the Vineyard Haven ferry and within 10 minutes of the Oaks Bluff ferry. It is walking distance to shops and restaurants. The staff was eager to please and very helpful. A full breakfast is included as well as services to the health club. There is a spa on location where I had one of the best massages ever.

The inn has a cupola on top only available to the guests where you can relax and enjoy a 360 degree view. The hotel is clean and well-maintained. Our room was nicely furnished and spacious with a tiny balcony and partial water views. They have a small parking lot for the guests. The inn is not a 5 Star property, but it is one of the best finds in MV.

Vineyard Haven only serves wine or beer so if you have a craving for more, Oaks Bluff is only 3+ miles away. Edgartown is about a 20 minute drive.

Room Tip: Each room is unique so be sure to specify exactly what you are looking for. We were fine with parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Mansion House
Martha's Vineyard

This is a stone's throw from the harbour in Vineyard Haven. 

Good sized bedroom with a full bathroom, small quasi kitchenette area, excellent HD flat screen and fireplace, but the whole place is a bit dated. 

Like many hotels and guesthouses we encountered outside Boston, there was no safe, which was a shame. 

The kitchenette area had a sink, a small coffee maker, a fridge and a microwave but not cutlery or crockery at all (just some paper cups). 

The king sized bed was very comfortable. The general space in the room was really good. We were on the fourth floor which meant easy access to the roof terrace with great harbour views (they call it the cupola). It was, however, a rigmarole to get a glass of wine to enjoy up there due to the rules governing "dry towns". We had to buy a small plate of food from the hotel restaurant, Zephrus, to be allowed to buy wine with it. This is NOT the hotel's fault; it's the law! What was truly annoying was that the restaurant closed for dinner at 8pm catching us and no doubt any other European out! Be warned it's an early dining culture and early to bed, at least out of season. As most other places closed super early, it would have been good if we were told when we checked in. We narrowly escaped having no dinner at all as Vineyard Havenis very quiet compared to Oak Bluffs and Edgartown. 

Back to the room itself, the supplied toiletries were the hotel's own spa brand but were really not that good. The hair dryer was weak. 

The bath took ages to drain so let the person wanting a shower go first! 

The lighting in the bathroom was very harsh. All in all, the bathroom let the room down. 

The hotel does have a full sized swimming pool guests can use, plus a jacuzzi and sauna etc. We enjoyed this and considered it a real plus to this hotel.

Breakfast was a help yourself affair in Zephrus and was pleasant. 

Finally, the staff were very pleasant throughout our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wonderful staff, bright clean and very comfortable room. Best nights sleep in a long time as the bed was VERY comfy. Went to Marthas Vineyard for business, would definitely stay at Mansion House for pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second year my wife and I have stayed at the Mansion House. One word would describe this facility--"OUTSTANDING". Overlooking Vineyard Haven Harbor, the view from our balcony and also from the rooftop are breathtaking. The facility has a full service health club and also provides a buffet breakfast (Zephrus) that are included in the room rate. Spring and fall are excellent times of the year to visit the Vineyard as the crowds have gone and off-season room rates apply.The staff go out of their way to be of assistance and are very friendly and courteous. The manager, Bud, is very warm and welcoming. Overall, a great experience. Check out their website: mvmansionhouse.com.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a great view of the Harbor and very bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My long time friend and I were lucky to have stayed at the Mansion Inn this past week for 3 nights. As soon as we entered the lobby we were greeted by an amazing woman. Easy check in, lots of clear cut info and off we went to our room- Wow! the room was crisp and clean (and I am quite the freaky deak about cleanliness in hotels) the beds were super comfy and the white noise (?, if that's what it was) was quite nice....it sounded kind of like waves and did do a great job in whiting out any trucks or traffic-
Oh and before I forget.....when you stay there you have full access to yoga and all wellness classes! They have a full cardio room, weights room and indoor swimming! We took advantage of that!
It's smack dab in the center of many cool shops and a stone's through away from some great restaurants and public transportation stops. I would highly recommend a stay there-

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.