We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels on the Vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Save Saved
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mansion House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels on the Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is the second year my wife and I have stayed at the Mansion House. One word would describe this facility--"OUTSTANDING". Overlooking Vineyard Haven Harbor, the view from our balcony and also from the rooftop are breathtaking. The facility has a full service health club and also provides a buffet breakfast (Zephrus) that are included in the room rate. Spring and fall are excellent times of the year to visit the Vineyard as the crowds have gone and off-season room rates apply.The staff go out of their way to be of assistance and are very friendly and courteous. The manager, Bud, is very warm and welcoming. Overall, a great experience. Check out their website: mvmansionhouse.com.

Room Tip: Room 402 has a great view of the Harbor and very bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    84
    25
    15
    18
See reviews for
77
198
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My long time friend and I were lucky to have stayed at the Mansion Inn this past week for 3 nights. As soon as we entered the lobby we were greeted by an amazing woman. Easy check in, lots of clear cut info and off we went to our room- Wow! the room was crisp and clean (and I am quite the freaky deak about cleanliness in hotels) the beds were super comfy and the white noise (?, if that's what it was) was quite nice....it sounded kind of like waves and did do a great job in whiting out any trucks or traffic-
Oh and before I forget.....when you stay there you have full access to yoga and all wellness classes! They have a full cardio room, weights room and indoor swimming! We took advantage of that!
It's smack dab in the center of many cool shops and a stone's through away from some great restaurants and public transportation stops. I would highly recommend a stay there-

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would stay here again. They were so accomodating, friendly, helpful (Especially the night shift hotel attendent) and the food next door to the hotel was great. I loved the cleanliness, the energy, location, relaxing atomosphere. GOSH, I loved it. Thanks all at the Mansion House.

BTW: The home made ice cream shop on the way to/from the ferry port is A MUST GO...

Room Tip: I had a dog friendly room. My little Yoshi loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I agree with "Ruined Honeymoon" regarding the noisy AC unit and I want to warn people that the Mansion Inn is located on a major truck route. You will hear busses and trucks rumble by to all hours of the night.. It is 10pm and I just heard a truck go by. I stayed in a quieter hotel in downtown Chicago last month. Unlike "Ruined Honeymoon", my room was very clean. The room was well appointed. When I complained about the noise I was moved the next day to a more quiet room, but you could still hear the traffic noise. The staff here was very nice and tried their best to help us. I booked the special with the 4th night free a month in advance and had to pay for the entire stay at the time of booking. Since I had already paid, I was unable to check out early. In addition, the breakfast was unremarkable. I have had better included breakfasts at the Springhill Suites. If you are looking for a quiet restful Vineyard vacation don't book Mansion Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure your room in on the Beach St. side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My sister's & I stayed at the Mansion House in mid-september. The location was great, the staff pleasant and helpful, the accomodations were warm and welcoming. Wonderful roof top deck was a great place for a glass of wine, to take your dinner or for an afternoon snooze in the sun. Breakfast was good and the adjoining restaurant good. A word to the wise - Vineyard Haven is a "damp" town (first I'd heard that term!) meaning they only serve wine, etc if you're eating and there's no place in town to buy it. So bring your own or get it in Oak Bluffs or Edgartown while there. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat, we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had such a lovely experience at this hotel. The rooms were new and clean, staff very helpful and the roof deck was spectacular! I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Don't book - RUN!

Had to leave and rebook at another hotel!

Dirty carpets, incredibly NOISY AC units were bad enough. Pulling back the sheets to see blood!? Yikes.

First we were guilted about calling for housekeeping for not-bloody sheets.

Then, we were offered earplugs despite that AC was next to bed, on duty mgmt had to yell over the noise to discuss with us.

No help despite pleading for another, CLEAN and QUIET room - and noting it was our honeymoon. Had to book last minute accommodations elsewhere on the Vineyard.

Zephyrs is overpriced and bland to bad food. Breakfast is poor, our second hotel put this entire business to shame. We had an amazing stay in our emergency booking (CLEAN quiet comfortable - amazing breakfast {5 choices of made-to-order meals included with room, plus free afternoon tea and incredible management!} - there are many great places to stay in MV)

There are many reasons that they have to diversify into yoga, and offer free nights on the rooms. Don't learn the hard way like we did!


Photos show the filthy AC units and carpeting - asthma sufferers BEWARE!

Room Tip: Rooms on the one side are on heavily traveled road - noise all night Rooms over restaurant suffer f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperMV, Owner at Mansion House, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Booking online Saturday for a Monday Honeymoon, sounds storybook perfect.

They took advantage of a September special and the Honeymooners got the
fourth night free. They felt that the room overlooking classic Main Street was too busy and
then they called the front desk at 9 pm, to report that the room they were
moved to had a noisy a/c. But by then, the dye was cast and Mansion House
could not make it right. The Inn was fully booked and we did what we could
at that late hour. Along with our best wishes and our hope that the rest of
their Vineyard vacation was more to their liking, we again offer our
apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.