We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find on the Vineyard!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion House to your Saves list
Mansion House
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“A great find on the Vineyard!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We LOVED this hotel! We visited the Vineyard right after July 4th...our first trip there in many years. We had an incredible vacation, and the Mansion House played a huge role in that. The staff was amazing. Never have we stayed anywhere where we felt so truly welcome by every single employee. It almost felt like we were staying with close friends...very hospitable close friends! Our room was beautiful with a great little balcony looking down on the cute downtown. The roof deck was gorgeous with a fantastic view of the harbor. Stunning!! The attached restaurant was good with a nice screen porch. We were even treated to complimentary beach towels and beach chairs to use each day. As if all this wasn't good enough, we also enjoyed a nice complimentary breakfast each day - and not just a continental breakfast! We can't wait to head back :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    90
    26
    15
    18
See reviews for
84
207
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I have been recommending this place to my friends and family since we got back. My boyfriend and I stayed the week before the fourth of July. Everyday the room was clean, the staff was on top of things and the guests were smiling. I can't wait to go back next year! Thank you Mansion House for starting our summer off right!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We recently spent a week at Mansion House. The rooms are roomy, clean and comfortable. You get a complimentary breakfast which is a small buffet. We were a little surprised to have to pay $25.00 per night per crib. We took our twin grandbabies with us on vacation and had an extra $300 charge for cribs for the 6 nights. Most hotels provide this as a convenience for their guests at a hotel that is already in this price range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

First off, it's an inn-Not a B&B or a hotel. This is the mindset u should have while there. Upon being greeted at the reception desk, I found that the room, with tub that they already charged me for half of the bill was not guaranteed. In a hotel when u pay for a type of room, u get it, even though the floor level is not guaranteed. In a B&B u get the specific room that u request, based on availability, but whatever u book, u get, since the price is determined by the room. When I asked about it, the lady at the desk complained that she wishes that travel websites wouldn't b so specific about the rooms. Upon pointing out to her that I booked the room using the Mansion House website, another reception clerk tried to help her out by saying that the only thing they guarantee is the size bed that's requested & that they will have to fix that on their website. The room itself was comfortable, although the mattress in rm 410 needed to b changed. My side sagged a bit, so it felt like I was going to roll off the bed. They needed to patch up the carpet in that room too, since someone burned out the carpet with the iron. Maid service was awesome! I requested extra towel sets & they made sure to deliver daily! The breakfast, which was included, was the same exact breakfast daily-scrambled eggs, sausage & bacon-which I don't eat for religious reasons-potatoes, quiche, scones, fruit, juices, & coffee/tea. No alternatives to pork based meats were offered, like turkey-bacon or turkey-sausage. No hot chocolate, although they did put out Swiss Miss Chocolate packets, after I'd asked about hot chocolate. The hot tub was nice. The Spa was lovely! It is run by a group of Jamaican ladies, who do a fantastic job! I highly recommend a massage here! Overall, I had a lovely, first time, in The Vineyard, but will try staying someplace else next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and I have stayed there in August 2011 and in June 2012. We highly recommend this hotel to others for their stay when visiting Martha's Vineyard. Very clean and quiet hotel. Hotel seemed busy but you would never know. Very nice workout facility and pool as well. The Breakfast was nice and was included with room. The hotel staff was extremely helpful...especially Tom. Hotel is an easy walk from the ferry and easy to get around from town to town from the buses. The restaurants that where good in walking distance for dinner are The Black Dog and The Blue Canoe. Good coffee shop next to hotel as well. We will be definitely staying at the Mansion House for our future stays on Martha's Vineyard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Mansion House last week, a three-night stay, and were enchanted. Our welcome was warm and genuine, our over sized room was spotless, well appointed and comfortable and the hospitality was just about perfect—not cloying—but sincere and endured throughout the four days and three nights. From the strong WiFi connection, incredibly comfortable bed, sumptuous linens and towels, superb amenities and impeccable housekeeping, we were charmed. Since we were up and out before 8am each morning, we had no opportunity to indulge in the complimentary breakfast buffet, but the strategic location on Main Street provided several spots for early morning coffee, a wide selection of dining options, including the wonderful on-site Zephrus restaurant (where breakfast is served). One of the absolute highlights was spending early mornings and evenings on the heavenly rooftop Cupola, overlooking all of Vineyard Haven harbor and the downtown area. This is an ideal spot for photography, plein air painting, sun bathing (as it is well accoutered with lounges, table and seating), reading, socializing or doing just about anything with an eye-popping backdrop of Vineyard Haven in all its glory.

In addition to being located at the head of Vineyard Haven's Main Street, which is chock full of great boutiques, stores and provisioning stops, the Mansion House is ideally located one block from the Steamship ferry dock and theMartha's Vineyard Chamber office, where maps, good advice, brochures and all sorts of great information are readily available.

At Mansion House, guests also have the opportunity to utilize the on-site health club, which is not tremendous, but very adequate and well-equipped. There is also an on-site Spa (leased out to an operator). While we were there, finishing touches on several new first-floor dog-friendly rooms and suites were being completed. In addition to everything foregoing, the Mansion House also provides nearby complimentary, off-street parking, unheard of these days.

The Mansion House is the perfect lodging option, whether for business or pleasure, for all seasons and we read about its quiet season specials, which seemed well priced enough to motivate an "other season" visit to the Vineyard. We felt pampered and well looked after by the front desk and housekeeping staff and also had the opportunity to visit with the owners, who were quite visible and engaged in the operations (but not so much so that they could not take the time to make an already warm welcome even warmer and more personal).

We loved our visit here and highly recommend Mansion House for every kind of Vineyard visit, whether business, wedding, leisure, romantic or otherwise. I cannot think of anything the staff or owners could possibly have done to improve upon our perfect Martha's Vineyard getaway!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Harbor for that "extra special touch!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you plan a visit to Martha's Vinyard you must stay at the Mansion House
Five star service, excellent food, hot breakfast included , very charming the views from the fourth floor suits are breathtaking
We are in heaven.

Room Tip: Any room is great no worries the island is full of excitement do not waste time Indoors go out and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mansion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion House

Address: 9 Main St., Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mansion House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's just a short walk from the ferry to your Inn where the charm of yesterday is artfully blended with the affordable luxury of a modern Martha's Vineyard hotel. Inside Mansion House Inn, guests get a touch of seaside elegance with a taste of Island casual. Each guest is treated to free use of the pool, spa and health club. The harbor viewing cupola and a wrap-around porch, serve as a meeting place for guests and Islanders alike. Mansion House offers 48 rooms and suites. With all 21st century amenities, some deluxe rooms and suites offer soaking tubs, plasma flat-screen TVs, fireplaces and balconies with views of Vineyard Sound. Pet friendly rooms offer easy first floor access, town view balconies and two double beds. From romantic couples, families to small meetings, the Inn staff takes care of your vacation needs. The best of the Vineyard is within easy walking distance. Movies, live theater, art galleries, and public beaches are a short stroll from Mansion House's door. Day sails on vessels great and small, plus kayak and bicycle rentals are only a block away. One of several Vineyard golf courses, Mink Meadows, is a quick five-minute drive. Mansion House's concierge can assist with arranging all these activities. Though off-street parking is available, there's no great need to bring a car. Relax in the Day Spa or enjoy the beach, create a family reunion or event, Mansion House Inn offers great Vineyard value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mansion House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansion House Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.