We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation at Vineyard Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Harbor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vineyard Harbor Motel
Save
You added Vineyard Harbor Motel to your Saves list
60 Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Milford, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation at Vineyard Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I got last minute reservations, never been to Martha's Vineyard before, and what a pleasant surprise. We walked into a besautiful courtyard right off the harbor beach.
The sand was so clean, the upkeep very good. Our room was very clean, plenty of towels and pillows. Fridge and air conditioner. Beds were very comfortable.
The staff was very helpful. We had a great view of the Harbor. Very quiet and peaceful
Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
29
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I don't agree with the nastier reviews here, but the place is a dump. I am currently staying at this motel - we got here on July 31 and the beach hasn't been closed. It's a small beach right on the harbor - so there might occasionally be contamination from the boats. That's not a big issue though - few people swim anyway. The beach is still the best thing about the place. It's an old motel that needs work. They keep it cleaned and painted, but you can't paint over old. We didn't have any problems with noise. In fact, we were impressed that it was as quiet as it was. There was some noise from above - not that bad though. I don't know where the reviewer came up with the renting to construction workers. All the guests I talked to were vacationers. Even though you can walk to the ferry and there is a beach at the motel, Vineyard Haven is the least desirable of the Island towns. Edgertown is the nicest and very beautiful. Oak Bluffs is more lively, although a bit less classy. Vineyard Haven is small, dull, a dry town and generally dumpier. The motel is right on the main drag - across the street from a lumber yard. We don't hear the street, but our room is on the beach side. There's probably a couple good rooms in the place. If you book it - ask for a second floor room with a view of the harbor. We have a kitchenette with something that looks like an easy bake oven jammed up against the wall. The room shows some renovation, although there's an upholstered chair that should have been thrown out in 1986. The bathroom is so small you have to turn sideways to go between the wall and tiny sink to get to the toilet. And this is one of the better rooms with a view of the harbor. The place is a real mom and pop operation. I've only talked to Kevin (pop) and he has a much higher regard for the place than it deserves and he's never around - not much help. But it's cheap and everything else on the Island is $350 a night. It's got free wifi, it's clean, the wall air conditioner works well, and there's plenty of hot water. You can pick up the Island shuttles at the same place you get the ferry (less than 5 minute walk) and the most amazing seafood take-out and restaurant is right across the street. Try the lobster roll. Just don't expect much from the motel - get out and about on the Island and stay in the room as little as possible and it's fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape ann,ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel, should have realized it would be horrible with the inexpensive price. "Furniture moving" or clog dancing going on overhead at 11pm ,2 am, 5am & 7am nightly, through the walls you could hear snoring & coughing they were so flimsy.Apparently they rent to construction workers working on the island that drag their gear across the poorly designed walkway/roof of the first floor units.Beach was closed due to bacterial contamination, and office staff very rude.Parking lot tiny,alternate parking down the street in a back lot & risk being broken into. I've stayed in rustic places before,& have never written any reviews bad or otherwise,but, this place was horrendous!Beware!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Simple clean rooms. Has little private beach. New deck wood. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Thanks to some connections, we stayed at a beautiful house on the Vineyard for a few days, but we needed to find our own place for one night. We picked the Vineyard Harbor Motel mainly for the price, but were happy with our choice--and our kids (5, 3, and 1) thought it was even better than the house. They loved the beach (and the small collection of beach toys). The courtyard was a beautiful place to get together with family. The staff was great; helpful with directions, restaurant suggestions, and general MV info. A few hours after we checked out I got a call saying I left my keys in the room (I hadn't even noticed yet); they put the keys in the mail that day and they arrived at my house two days later.
The room itself was adequate--nothing fancy. It was really nice to have a kitchen. Good shelf space in the bathroom. Although we were in a nonsmoking room, my guess is that it was a smoking one in a former life. And while it wasn't a problem for us, the soundproofing between rooms wasn't great (there was a "quiet hours" policy, so presumably that would help stop things from getting too loud).
At least while we were there, other guests were really friendly and chatty with us and our kids (although our youngest kept trying to get the couple of ashtrays that were around). All in all, it was a comfortable place to stay--a little rough around the edges, but very hospitable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Everything about this place is cool. It's a 2 minute walk from the ferry, has it's own beach, and, you can watch the tugs and the ferry coming in and out of the harbor from your bed. it's really affordable, especially in the off season which is kind of the best time to go. The room was great, not posh, but you certainly felt at home. The folks who run the place were really friendly and nice. Just bring wine with you, it's a dry town, but the restaurants will let you byob. I will be spending a lot more time at this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeville, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

Nancy and Kevin were exceptional hosts; we were a party of 5 (all female)
We had a wonderful stay on the island ... we did not have to worry about personal belongsing left in the room and/or vehicle. Kevin and Nancy worked wtih us at the last minute on changing our reservations .... they really love the business.
The rooms were clean, the kitchen well stocked with dishes, flatware, paper towels, linens, etc.
They were very knowledgeable about the tours, restaurants, stores, and island history.
Great stay .... great rates ... clean beach ... comfortable and relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Harbor Motel

Address: 60 Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vineyard Harbor Motel is conveniently located in Vineyard Haven just a short walk to the Steamship Authority, restaurants and shopping. We offer various room types including standard rooms, rooms with kitchenette and harbor view rooms. Open year round, our amenities include air-conditioned guest rooms, free wireless internet, color cable tv, private baths, refrigerators, free parking and a private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vineyard Harbor Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.