We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special retreat in the heart of the Vineyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vineyard Harbor Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vineyard Haven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vineyard Harbor Motel
Save Saved
You added Vineyard Harbor Motel to your Saves list
60 Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Yarmouth, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A special retreat in the heart of the Vineyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent the night at this hotel on Sunday after reading about their generous offer of a free night's stay for all veterans in honor of Veteran's Day. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly, shown to a room that was very nice, and also received a bouquet of fresh flowers from a local florist and handmade chocolates from a local business. What a nice surprise and a wonderful first trip to the Vineyard! The hotel is right on the beach, an easy walk from the ferry, and in the heart of town.
Granted, it seems to be an older motel, but it was clean, had a comfy bed, great views, and helpful staff.
Many thanks to all those involved with this offer for the holiday. We are impressed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    12
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
29
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Vineyard Harbor Motel for a 4-day weekend. We had a blast... The motel was affordable and we liked the fact that everything you need was right there. You had a little private beach area and outside deck overlooked the water which was nice. The place is family friendly. I would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: I would ask for the rooms next to the outside deck. You can hear the ocean too.... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The room was wonderful...2 queen size beds, full kitchen, comfy couch and 2 wingback chairs, new bathroom with glass shower enclosure.....right on the beach looking out where the Steamship Authority docks. Convenient to many stores, restaurants and the bus stops right across the street and so reasonable. The famous Black Dog restaurant was one block away and we had lunch and another night dinner there and both meals were delicious, though a little pricey, but it seemed everything on the Vineyard was higher than the mainland. All in all, wonderful mother daughter girls birthday weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vhmmv, General Manager at Vineyard Harbor Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your return. You are the reason we enjoy what we do. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have to say, that I have never written a review with such venom. This motel is a total rip off. We paid up front. The weather was mid fall rainy and cold --- When the motel takes your money ahead of time, they have a legal obligation to provide the basics. Heat and Hot water are part of the basics on a New England rainy fall day. If they hadn't taken the money up front, I would not be writing this scathing review. For $213 we got: lovely view, nice enough room. We did not get heat --- they had to scurry around and find a heater (Temp was in the mid 50's and rainy) and the hot water at night was barely there and by the next morning, there was no hot water.

When I called the hotel to complain, I got...well, things happen - maintenance issues happen. And the front desk woman started to suggest that my husband was maybe not reporting accurately. WOW! Of course there was no offer to take money off of the bill. I have called the credit card company to complain and will be requesting a reverse on charges. I believe a motel room with no heat and no hot water is worth about $80.00.

This is totaly unacceptable.

Room Tip: Be aware of this business of paying in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcia M, General Manager at Vineyard Harbor Motel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
You are 100% correct and please accept my sincere apology for not rectifying this situation in a expedient manner. There is no excuse for this treatment or lack of knowledge on our part. I am ordering signs as we speak for the hot water issue, it is there but it takes a very long time to get to that end of the building with the colder weather and lower occupancy in the off season.
We do in fact use ceramic, oscilating space heaters for the chilly nights to make the rooms more comfortable prior to the furnaces being fired up.
Being a destination motel, just about all establishments on the Island do in fact receive payment at the time of the reservation.
Again, my apologies and this is not our normal operating practice. We are in fact quite flexible in all policies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good location. Back side opens up in the bay / ocean area where boats are docked and gives nice view. Very clean. Greeted warmly by the staff. In walking distance of shopping and food.

Only complain is it is very pricey for a basic no frills including no coffee motel but that is how things are in Martha's Vineyard. And another complaint, promised queen size bad but the size of the bed was about 80% of the queen.

Will not mind staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

My significant other and I enjoye d a peaceful getaway, with NO phones that rang every 10 minutes, and we could hop on the bus or walk to places of entertainment and great food. The staff was amazing and were very informative with all kinds of places to visit and restaurants that were a must go to. The rooms were comfortably cozy, clean and very quiet. You would have thought we had the place to ourselves. We had a private beach which I myself enjoyed a nice drink and view of the different boats and the harbor. We are already making plans with our extended family to return and have another great time with the family.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked our room at this place as we needed a place to stay for 3 nights for a wedding....all paid up front of course...now I can see why.

I read the "reviews" herein and elsewhere...they were glowing but now I realize clearly "paid for"!

Some of the staff were sullen, with nobody on duty after 9PM...good luck in an emergency! No phone in the room and questionable wireless coverage. One towel rack and an old Toshiba curved screen 21-inch television with cable-box perched on top!

As stated by many, the place is "old" (but old can be clean...but alas not this place!). Our room had a stained 4-foot tub (not the standard 5-feet), with a naked "lever" toilet, tilted blinds, and wobbly floor lamp. If this is a good deal...tell me why please! Normally elsewhere a $59 room...here in MV it is $189 + tax.

Room Tip: Save your money and camp on MV...you'll have more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vineyard Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vineyard Harbor Motel

Address: 60 Beach Rd, Vineyard Haven, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Vineyard Haven
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Vineyard Haven
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vineyard Harbor Motel is conveniently located in Vineyard Haven just a short walk to the Steamship Authority, restaurants and shopping. We offer various room types including standard rooms, rooms with kitchenette and harbor view rooms. Open year round, our amenities include air-conditioned guest rooms, free wireless internet, color cable tv, private baths, refrigerators, free parking and a private beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vineyard Harbor Hotel Vineyard Haven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vineyard Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.